Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Mirage

The room that fell apart

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We checked into the hotel only to find out that the TV remote didn't work I'll paper was falling off the wall the room was freezing cold and there were screws retreating from the ceiling pretty much horrible experience would recommend no one stay there !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but the facilities were lacking.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The location is right across the beach.
Cons: It is in serious need of remodeling. Needs a new bed and mattress. Fix items that are broken. Give the rooms that were reserved.
Location: Christmas boat tour was a treat. Also enjoyed the walks on the beach and piers.
Let me first say that I don't normally write reviews, especially negative ones. However, our experience was at the Dorymans Oceanfront Inn was far less than expected. We booked a specific room (Room 8), which was a corner room with a view of the ocean, but when we arrived they already gave it away to someone else. We ended up with a room without a view of the ocean even though we paid the premium cost. The condition of the room was very poor. I'm sure that at one time the room was probably very nice, but is now outdated and in serious need of a remodel. The bed was in poor repair and the mattress is about 10 years overdue to be replaced. Every little move made in the bed caused it to squeak. The fireplace was another feature we were looking forward to, but it didn't work. In addition to the loud squeaking of the bed upon every move, there was a lot of noise outside of the room throughout the night due to patrons at the nearby bar. At approximately 7:00 a.m. we woke up to the loud noise of machinery that was being used to remodel a restaurant just below our room. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep. The staff was friendly although we only saw two people the entire time we were there; upon arrival and then when we left. We went to the desk to ask for the Wifi code and no one was there. Instead, there was a note with a phone number. We called it but there was no answer. Also, Expect to park your car across the street about a 1/2 block away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very dated and slightly tacky decor.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The bones of this hotel - close to the beach, good beds, nice bathrooms and decent breakfast - are not quite enough to hide the fake victorian decor of the hotel which is slightly tacky and out of place for a beach location. The front desk staff, however, was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Great location!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
My wife and I had a blast. The bed and breakfast hotel is located in a prime spot. The beach is steps away and you're in the center of a lively scene with restaurants, bars and shops. You're a short drive from Balboa Island and Fashion center. It can get loud over a weekend stay but fun nnonetheless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Quaint B & B right on the Beach

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location, décor,
Cons: Air conditioning noisy. If you must use it, hard to sleep. Blinds let in too much light. Would definitely stay again, would bring a sleep mask!
Location: Right on Newport Pier! Many restaurants and nearby and of course, the beach!
One can not beat the location and ambience of this lovely old property! It has been kept in great condition and the décor is really lovely. If you want ocean front ask for room 8, but be ware that it could be a little noisy from the 24 hour doughnut shop below! We stayed in the Bellagio suite and found it wonderful with 2 exceptions: The air conditioning was noisy for us at night. When we were there and it was 90 degrees during the day so it was needed. You may not usually~The other issue we found was the window coverings. We are accustomed to sleeping in a very dark room. The windows has roller shades and the light came in on the sides all night and way too early in the morning! I will bring an eye mask for next time. So, if the weather is not too hot, and you can tolerate a room that is not dark at night or you wear a sleep mask, you will love this property!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mead, Wa

Nice hotel at the beach.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast variety
Location: On the beach. Crab cooker for great seafood. Charlies chili for great food. Beach rentals. shops bars
Great location at the beach. Many restaurants within walking distance. Never used our car. Definitely will be staying again in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sweet B&B with ocean views!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location, atmosphere, friendly service
Cons: Noisy neighborhood at night, could clean a little deeper.
Location: Beach, restaurants, bars
The staff were all incredibly sweet and helpful. It's an older building, so the amenities are older too. Still, it's right on the ocean with great food and bars nearby. Fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Very pleasant hotel in the middle of everything happening at Balboa Island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Very nice great staff and romantic

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: The beach is out front with a boardwalk, lots figure it out!!!!
The room was very romantic, we enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast was overly simplistic, I would've enjoyed a little more complexity, without having to go downstairs to the restaurant. But room service was available but we didn't utilize it. The hotel is very old like 200 years, so there were some noises and repairs needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great hostess. Gave us beach chairs and towels. Very accommodating and pleasant. Friendly staff. Good breakfast too!