Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palis verdes estates

Convienient location near the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Enjoyed the room with spectacular views of the ocean. The bed was very comfortable, shower was well maintained and very clean. Overall, s very enjoyable and relaxing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Beautiful room close to the beach at a good price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Charming rooms right on the beach!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Direct access to beach, pier, boardwalk & food. Noisy outside at night, but worth it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Mirage

The room that fell apart

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We checked into the hotel only to find out that the TV remote didn't work I'll paper was falling off the wall the room was freezing cold and there were screws retreating from the ceiling pretty much horrible experience would recommend no one stay there !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but the facilities were lacking.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The location is right across the beach.
Cons: It is in serious need of remodeling. Needs a new bed and mattress. Fix items that are broken. Give the rooms that were reserved.
Location: Christmas boat tour was a treat. Also enjoyed the walks on the beach and piers.
Let me first say that I don't normally write reviews, especially negative ones. However, our experience was at the Dorymans Oceanfront Inn was far less than expected. We booked a specific room (Room 8), which was a corner room with a view of the ocean, but when we arrived they already gave it away to someone else. We ended up with a room without a view of the ocean even though we paid the premium cost. The condition of the room was very poor. I'm sure that at one time the room was probably very nice, but is now outdated and in serious need of a remodel. The bed was in poor repair and the mattress is about 10 years overdue to be replaced. Every little move made in the bed caused it to squeak. The fireplace was another feature we were looking forward to, but it didn't work. In addition to the loud squeaking of the bed upon every move, there was a lot of noise outside of the room throughout the night due to patrons at the nearby bar. At approximately 7:00 a.m. we woke up to the loud noise of machinery that was being used to remodel a restaurant just below our room. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep. The staff was friendly although we only saw two people the entire time we were there; upon arrival and then when we left. We went to the desk to ask for the Wifi code and no one was there. Instead, there was a note with a phone number. We called it but there was no answer. Also, Expect to park your car across the street about a 1/2 block away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Very dated and slightly tacky decor.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The bones of this hotel - close to the beach, good beds, nice bathrooms and decent breakfast - are not quite enough to hide the fake victorian decor of the hotel which is slightly tacky and out of place for a beach location. The front desk staff, however, was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful Inn in a wonderful fun area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Newport Beach location

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Loved this inn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night. Location is great. Free parking. Front desk was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Great location!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
My wife and I had a blast. The bed and breakfast hotel is located in a prime spot. The beach is steps away and you're in the center of a lively scene with restaurants, bars and shops. You're a short drive from Balboa Island and Fashion center. It can get loud over a weekend stay but fun nnonetheless.