Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Quaint B & B right on the Beach

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: Location, décor,
Cons: Air conditioning noisy. If you must use it, hard to sleep. Blinds let in too much light. Would definitely stay again, would bring a sleep mask!
Location: Right on Newport Pier! Many restaurants and nearby and of course, the beach!
One can not beat the location and ambience of this lovely old property! It has been kept in great condition and the décor is really lovely. If you want ocean front ask for room 8, but be ware that it could be a little noisy from the 24 hour doughnut shop below! We stayed in the Bellagio suite and found it wonderful with 2 exceptions: The air conditioning was noisy for us at night. When we were there and it was 90 degrees during the day so it was needed. You may not usually~The other issue we found was the window coverings. We are accustomed to sleeping in a very dark room. The windows has roller shades and the light came in on the sides all night and way too early in the morning! I will bring an eye mask for next time. So, if the weather is not too hot, and you can tolerate a room that is not dark at night or you wear a sleep mask, you will love this property!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mead, Wa

Nice hotel at the beach.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast variety
Location: On the beach. Crab cooker for great seafood. Charlies chili for great food. Beach rentals. shops bars
Great location at the beach. Many restaurants within walking distance. Never used our car. Definitely will be staying again in the future
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sweet B&B with ocean views!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Location, atmosphere, friendly service
Cons: Noisy neighborhood at night, could clean a little deeper.
Location: Beach, restaurants, bars
The staff were all incredibly sweet and helpful. It's an older building, so the amenities are older too. Still, it's right on the ocean with great food and bars nearby. Fun.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Very pleasant hotel in the middle of everything happening at Balboa Island
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Very nice great staff and romantic

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: The beach is out front with a boardwalk, lots figure it out!!!!
The room was very romantic, we enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast was overly simplistic, I would've enjoyed a little more complexity, without having to go downstairs to the restaurant. But room service was available but we didn't utilize it. The hotel is very old like 200 years, so there were some noises and repairs needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great hostess. Gave us beach chairs and towels. Very accommodating and pleasant. Friendly staff. Good breakfast too!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel closed to the beach

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: nie service and near the beach.
Cons: no
Location: near the beach and nice restaurants around.
arrived the hotel around 5pm and the weather is good. i got a very good experiences from helping me parking and luggage service. it is a small old building but very nice hotel. would be great stay there again next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: The different rooms and the wonderful staff.
Cons: The WiFi could be faster.
Location: The beach is all I need to be happy.
The rooms are wonderful. The beds are very comfortable. I stayed in 2 different rooms and both had different decoration. The staff was great in every way. Kind, caring, and thoughtful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Hotel No Sleep!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Seemed clean
Cons: Security out front moving people along so not hanging out under our windows...
Location: Beach, shopping, restaurants...
We booked our first "Bed & Breakfast" and Ocean Front Hotel hoping for a romantic weekend stay in Newport Beach, instead thought we were at some hotel during spring break in Cancun! Local Buses, Vans, Barhoping tours all dropped off and picked up right in front of our hotel / room which was unit 1 right out front in corner of the hotel. 3 or 4 intersections merged here with constant honking and car alarms going off all day and at all hours of the night, a parking lot zoo. Baja Sharky's bar across the street so loud we couldn't even sleep with ear plugs in! Ubers and Van drop off and pick ups till 3am every night with drunks yelling and blasting music was non stop. Guess we should have had some idea when a framed note next to our bed says "If you need earplugs please see front desk". We were not even asked how we enjoyed our stay upon check out since we probably LOOKED as bad as we felt. I thought a Bed and Breakfast had cooked meals for guest to enjoy, instead had bagels, cold cereal and cut up fruit. Had better breakfast at a Holiday Inn... So very disappointed and this is the most expensive hotel room we have ever stayed in. Sad to be right on the beach and not even be able to open the windows at night to hear the waves... Windows stayed locked shut and still all you could hear are drunks yelling, laughing screaming and cars honking. Would not recommend this to our friends... Came home exhausted from a very disappointing stay....
4 out of 5
by Alex from New Jersey

Great hotel by the beach, view sunset on roof deck

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
The service here was great. They were very accommodating to my needs - early check-in and even provided beach towels. They have a roof deck that is cool to hang out at nigh to watch the sunset. They provide parking but it's across the street. If you want to stay at the beach the location can't be beat. There were some minor maintenance issues that I provided to the front desk. However, overall I would stay here again. This is more of a bed and breakfast and less of a 4 star hotel.