Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel on an ocean front beach

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The Dorymans Inn is small B&B. It has only 10-12 rooms. One potential draw back to mobility challenged guests are stairs. Once you take the elevator to the lobby, there are stairs to the hallway to the bedrooms. We stayed in room 6, when you entered the room the closet and bathroom are on that level. To get to the canopy bedroom with a seating area and a gas fireplace there are 4-5 stairs to climb. It looked like some of the rooms were a single level.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Hotel staff was very helpful!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Cons: Our room '2' was quaint and would have gotten a 4 but the seat cushion on the only chair was old and dirty and one of the hand towels had a hair.
Location: Oceanfront restaurant right downstairs was wonderful! The food and staff were awesome! Loved that you didn't have to go outside to get to restaurant!
We had a very good experience at the hotel. The staff was wonderful! The rooms were very nice- wonderful view of the ocean and nice gas fireplace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Cute room. Can definitely hear ocean but also hear the activity of the businesses around at night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Nice hotel, wonderful staff, in the heart of Newport Beach activities. A little noisy if you want to sleep before 2am
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Old world charm

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The antiques, art, and the overall ambience transported us to another Era. We still had WiFi and cable but we faced the ocean and the beach that was too compelling to ignore. It themed with life and we embraced it. Truly lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palis verdes estates

Convienient location near the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Enjoyed the room with spectacular views of the ocean. The bed was very comfortable, shower was well maintained and very clean. Overall, s very enjoyable and relaxing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Beautiful room close to the beach at a good price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Charming rooms right on the beach!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Direct access to beach, pier, boardwalk & food. Noisy outside at night, but worth it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Mirage

The room that fell apart

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We checked into the hotel only to find out that the TV remote didn't work I'll paper was falling off the wall the room was freezing cold and there were screws retreating from the ceiling pretty much horrible experience would recommend no one stay there !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but the facilities were lacking.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The location is right across the beach.
Cons: It is in serious need of remodeling. Needs a new bed and mattress. Fix items that are broken. Give the rooms that were reserved.
Location: Christmas boat tour was a treat. Also enjoyed the walks on the beach and piers.
Let me first say that I don't normally write reviews, especially negative ones. However, our experience was at the Dorymans Oceanfront Inn was far less than expected. We booked a specific room (Room 8), which was a corner room with a view of the ocean, but when we arrived they already gave it away to someone else. We ended up with a room without a view of the ocean even though we paid the premium cost. The condition of the room was very poor. I'm sure that at one time the room was probably very nice, but is now outdated and in serious need of a remodel. The bed was in poor repair and the mattress is about 10 years overdue to be replaced. Every little move made in the bed caused it to squeak. The fireplace was another feature we were looking forward to, but it didn't work. In addition to the loud squeaking of the bed upon every move, there was a lot of noise outside of the room throughout the night due to patrons at the nearby bar. At approximately 7:00 a.m. we woke up to the loud noise of machinery that was being used to remodel a restaurant just below our room. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep. The staff was friendly although we only saw two people the entire time we were there; upon arrival and then when we left. We went to the desk to ask for the Wifi code and no one was there. Instead, there was a note with a phone number. We called it but there was no answer. Also, Expect to park your car across the street about a 1/2 block away.