Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J.A Los Angeles

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Very nice hotel, Ocean front, great staff, noise at the out front
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Step Back in Time

Posted Nov 19, 2015
The building dates from 1891, and the décor is pure 1890s (with modern conveniences added, of course). Charming, romantic, evocative. The furniture and fixtures seemed authentic antiques, though the kitschy half-nude paintings were 1970s/80s schlock. If you're looking for a delightfully quirky and atmospheric hideaway right on the beach, this is the place. The breakfast was sumptuous and superb for a so-called "continental" breakfast: there was quiche, hard-boiled eggs, bagels, fruit, delicious coffee, and more. Staff were uniformly friendly and accommodating. The only downside was the noise: off-season construction, street-sweeping, traffic, diners and drinkers right below us -- a constant din (even with closed windows) that kept me awake most of the night. Our room was right on the beach parking lot, so book one in the heart of the building, away from the seaside windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jerry from Palm Desert

Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
We will surely come back again. Loved the room and staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel / Inn

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
One of the best hotel's we have ever stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
not like it was 23 years ago....needs to be detailed out in regards to cleaning, paint, fixtures...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

.

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Schönes Hotel in Strandnähe. Liebevoll eingerichtet. Freundlicher Service. Leider hat es ein Manko: Menschen auf Parkplatz vor Hotel sind nachts sehr laut. Trotz Ohropax und geschlosser Fenster War ich öfter wach.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
The only thing good about this property is the proximity to the beach. The property is outdated and misrepresented online. It is noisy and uncomfortable. There is no value in the price that is charged and to make it worse there was a package offered at the property that was not advertised online and not honored when I arrived. The courteous staff was the best part and only highlight of the stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by william from Hollywood Hills

Doryman's Inn is the Bomb!

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Doryman's breakfast is maybe the best breakfast offered to hotel guests in Orange County. The location is outstanding for some nightlife -- dinner, dancing, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely noisy

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: close to ocean
Cons: windows. Work with the City of Newport on noise ordinances. This is a residential neighborhood and people must also sleep
Location: Newport pier for swimming and surfing. Restaurants
Not possible to sleep with loud bars downstairs....hot room with no air circulation or windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Rückkehr nach fünf Jahren

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Es hat such gelohnt, ein zweites Mal nach Newport zu kommen. Das Hotel direkt am Pier und am Strand mit seiner Einrichtung um die Wende zum 20. Jahrhundert lohnt sich.