Ratings based on 997 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch out for oversold rooms

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I would not book this hotel through here since Expedia considered as 3rd party booking and will get as 2nd priority. I got to the hotel on the 11/7 and found out that they do not have a room for me. The excuse was urgent maintenance, so they relocated me to crappy motel in Newport to stay the night. The price difference was huge but I did not get any refund from these guys. Treatment at the counter was not so friendly and transparent. One said the room was under maintenance, the next avail staff said to me oversold direct on the face. It was a nightmare trip for me. Tired and exhausted and yet get kick around because they have sold out my room. This is a biz trip that I never forget
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Kym M., Hotel Management
Hi andie, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback. We are sorry that there was an issue with your reservation and this is something that will be followed up with our team. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Again we are sorry for the issues that you encountered. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest again. Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, friendly staff

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, efficient and friendly, nice rooms, excellent breakfast, great location
Location: Located close to the spectrum, where you can do nice shopping.
It was a perfect stay. Nice rooms, excellent location, very friendly and efficient staff. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Kym M. , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for posting a 5 star review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team to be efficient and friendly, while the rooms and breakfast were great as well. To say you would stay with us again is a true testament to your experience and we cannot thank you enough for saying it. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to when you can return! Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager
5 out of 5
by Tom

Very nice with a friendly helpful staff.

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Loved our short stay here. Close to John Wayne, very nice breakfast and warm cookies on arrival. All wait staff in restaurant were especially nice. City view room was quiet and comfy, would come back again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Kym, Hotel Management
Hello Tom, Thank you for posting a great review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are happy to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting about your short stay and how convenient our location was to John Wayne Airport, along with the amenities and view. To say you will come back again is a true testament to how great your experience was with us. The team will also love to see your comments. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to when you can join us again at the hotel! Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager
5 out of 5
by tammie

Love it here

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
My family of 4 love staying here when we want to have a little get away in Laguna Beach, but don't want to pay the beach front price. This hotel is only approx 4 miles from the beach, so it's easy access. Also, we love going to the Spectrum, and the free shuttle that takes us there is so convenient! My girls also love the free cookies! Haha
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Kym, Hotel Management
Hello tammie, Thank you for posting a great review about our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to know you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for letting us know of your getaway with the family and how we were conveniently located to Laguna Beach and the Irvine Spectrum Center. We are also happy to know you enjoyed the DoubleTree cookies too! Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to when you can join us again at the hotel! Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas texas

Nice hotel, close to everything in the city.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
It was great. Highly recommend for anyone visiting the area even if it's just for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Kym M., Hotel Management
Hello nick brooks, Thank you for the wonderful review and letting us know about your experience. It is great to know you you had a great visit and that you would highly recommend us. That is the highest form of praise you can give us and for that, we thank you. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to when you can return! Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty on the outside

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms. Professional staff.
Cons: Unfortunately, sound proofing is difficult, but that would be the suggestion. Also taking guest complaints more seriously.
I thought Doubletree hotels were comparable to Marriotts, since the price ranges were similar. On the outside, it seemed to be true - nice lobby, attentive and professional staff, gated parking, hi-tech key card system, white bed linens, etc. But after we had been in the room for just minutes, we felt like we were in a cheap motel because the thinness of the walls allowed us to hear every sound of our neighbors, the churning of the ice machine down the hall, and every ding of the elevator. We immediately requested to be moved, which the staff quickly accommodated, but there was no difference in the second room. Unfortunately, we did not get a good nights sleep. The staff was apologetic, but the only compensation was two dollars off of the nightly parking rate, and two free bottles of water. Our complaint was never escalated, and we never spoke to a manager.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Kym M., Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for posting a review about our hotel on Expedia. We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed the professional team and clean rooms. The team will enjoy seeing your comments. I am sorry that the room noise was too much and the walls seemed too thin where you could hear others. Please know I will follow up with the team as they should have escalated your comments to a manager for follow up. Thank you for letting us know. Thank you again for your review and we do hope you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest. Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager
4 out of 5
by Peter

Enjoyed my stay

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Kym, Hotel Management
Hello Peter, Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for letting us know. The team will be happy to see your comments. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to when you can stay with us again! Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager
5 out of 5
by Deonte

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very clean and I appreciate how my room was cleaned when I stepped out. Worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Kym, Hotel Management
Hello Deonte, Thank you for posting a wonderful review about our hotel and the housekeeping department. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are happy to know you enjoyed your overall experience by the 5 star rating you gave us. For you to say that we are worth every penny and that you appreciated how your room was cleaned when you stepped out is great to read. Thank you for saying it to us. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to when you can stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Orange County! Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel peaceful and full of relaxation points

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The pool a plus to it n their delicious cookies a must had a great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Kym M., Hotel Management
Hello Nella, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to read that you found our hotel to be nice and peaceful with relaxation points. Those are very nice comments to say about us and we thank you for sharing them with us. Also, we couldn't agree more about the cookies. They are great, aren't they? Thank you again for your review and we look forward to when you can stay with us again! Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, ca

Car club meeting

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: let you know if big events are scheduled
I would not have booked this hotel if I had known there would be a huge car club meeting scheduled at the same time. The starting of cars began about 6 am, which kept me awake. Parking in the hotel lot was difficult because of the many cars from club members, and yet I get charged for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Kym M., Hotel Management
Hello grant, Thank you for posting a review about our hotel after your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, although we wished it were under better circumstances. We are sorry that the noise of the Chrysler show was so loud that it kept you awake. Thank you for letting us know as that should not have happened. We do appreciate your feedback on your experience so we can work to improve for events like this. Thank you again for your review and we do hope you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest again. Sincerely, Mr. Kym Myers General Manager