Ratings based on 1,062 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and great staff

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Everything was perfect, from check-in to the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SL

Nice hotel, very comfy rooms, close to the beach

Posted May 7, 2017
I got a deal with Expedia, so I guess they gave me the cheapest room that had no balcony and no view ( I had a wall on front of me). Staff was nice and room was good. Across the street from the ocean, but you have to pass few different fence that is around the hotel and beach ( because hotel is right close to the hiway and a trane rails).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas NV

Close to beach

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Had to change rooms 4 times within our first day because of dirty rooms and a broken a/c unit. The management responded professionally, took responsibility and upgraded us to a suite, gave us more than $120 in breakfast coupons and a free night in the suite. The management turned my worst vacation hotel experience into the best. I would recommend the hotel to my friends and stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Cons: The restaurant in the lobby was a bit pricey and the food was just okay. Their breakfast buffet wasn't anything special and was $19 per adult.
Location: The location was literally across the street from Doheny Beach and the tide pools were a 5 minute drive away. Not a lot of restaurants near by.
The hotel was very clean and the room was spacious. The staff was very friendly and was very accommodating of my wife and 2 children under 2. They were very flexible with check out time even thought they were completely booked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B.

Always a problem

Posted Apr 23, 2017
I stayed here 6 years ago and had a bad experience so I'm not sure why I went back. It was our last night living in DP before we moved across the country and I want an ocean view room so my wife and I could enjoy one last sunset. Well, I checked into one room and it had not been cleaned and the AC was broken. So after about 3 hours, a staff member brought us a new key. I realize that the AC going out happens, but by the time we moved all of our belongings to the new room (without a cart) we had missed the sunset. I was very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Concerns

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere.
Cons: The bedding and the smell in the halls.
The Hotel was beautiful and the view is awesome also.... my issue was the bedding. I had blood stained sheets on my bed. (feeling violated) after I woke up the following morning. YUK!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Nice Hotel, Great location, walk to the beach

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location to the beach and it was fairly affordable relatively speaking. Other hotels in the area that night were 2-3 times as much
Cons: I would have liked more options in the fitness center
Location: The beach, the harbor, the shops and restaurants
I live fairly close and just wanted a quick getaway...Pool is kind of small but I guess who cares when you can walk to the beach! Staff was great, rooms were well laid out like a studio apartment with 2 nice flat screen tv's in the 2 open areas that blend together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Staff was upbeat and friendly from the front desk to the valet. Wish we could have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by M.Flowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the guest room and hotel's amenities to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree Suites by Hilton Dana Point in the not too distant future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice for location and price

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: location Price
Cons: Not sure given there limited location footprint.
Sufficient but minimal services. Small pool. But pleasant, good location and price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy, quiet, and Relaxing

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Good experience overall except the parking.. That was Ridiculously pricey!! 25 dollars for parking... Who does that?