Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Never stayed at an Extended America before, only negative thing...when I called for towels I was told I had to bring down my old ones to lobby and I would then be given new ones. Maybe the area, people still towels ?? Would have been nice to have them brought to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to know your overall stay was satisfactory, but I am sorry for your disappointment with our hotel policy. It was a pleasure having you here, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Fair hotel, but "continental breakfast" was sub-pa

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, and parking was easy.
Cons: Better, more robust breakfast options!
Location: La Mirada theater is nearby.
If you are booking this hotel with the hopes of having a decent breakfast, please look elsewhere. While they did have coffee, hot water, creamer, hot oatmeal packets, Otis Spunkmeyer muffins and gronala bars, there was no yogurt, fresh fruit of any sort, bagels, cream cheese, cold cereal or milk! No real cable tv either!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Marc, Thank you for your review. It is great to learn that you had so many highlights during your stay with us. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations when it came to our complimentary breakfast. We will make note of your feedback as we plan our breakfast offerings. We were delighted to have you stay with us and hope you will return to our hotel soon. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs, no room keys

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Had a kitchen
Cons: Get rid of the bedbugs
Location: Knotts berry farm
Apparently they had a Power outage so the room keys did not work and had to be escorted like little children up to the rooms, had to wait until an available attended could help you, the bed had bedbugs and we told the attendant and he seem like he didn't care and told me that a manager would call me never happened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the issues you experienced while you were a guest at our hotel. We take the claim of bed bugs very seriously and will have our hotel inspected and treated as needed. We are proactive with our inspections to ensure we do not have such activity. We are sorry for the unforeseen event of the power outage, for our guests safety it was necessary and our pleasure to escort our guests to their suite. We value you as our guest as well as your feedback as it will aid us in improving prior to your next visit with us. Thank you for your rating and comments. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Mirada

Posted Apr 9, 2017
The staff was very helpful and accommodating when it came to personal service. They even made copies of my resume when I had a job interview. And arranged a wheelchair accessible taxi to come and pickup my mother for our trip back home. I would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - La Mirada. We are delighted to know you were comfortable here and that our associates left you with a good impression of our hotel. I will be sure to share your compliments with my entire team for a job well done. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North California

Saturdays night the gentlemen was trying to close

Posted Mar 27, 2017
It was ok. If you have a large truck or car there is really no parking half of the parking is compact and the night security was no help. Insisted I was to fit my duly truck in 1 compact, and only one. VERY UNFRIENDLY.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your candid feedback. Please accept our apologies for the unpleasant experience you had with one of our associates as well as with our parking facilities. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our management team in an effort to improve our facilities and service levels. Thanks again for your business, and we hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to make your next stay perfect in every respect. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la mirada

Lovely clean hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Very nice room very comforatable smells nice very relaxing I will definitely be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am more than pleased to read you had a relaxing, comfortable stay at our hotel and that you would stay with us again. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good stay for the price

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: cleaness
Cons: breakfast (snacks)
Clean hotel. Staff friendly. Did appreciate the free coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed our affordable rates for the clean accommodations you received; however, please accept my apologies that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectation. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This was minimum comfort. For what I paid I expected a nicer environment, a hair dryer in my room and a breakfast that consisted of something more than a Nature Valley granola bar and a cup of coffe. No fruit, no juice, not even cereal or toast. Way over priced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Cathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels