Ratings based on 584 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Roaches..and coffee

Posted Sep 23, 2016
There were Roaches in my room, I find it unfair that it didn't tell me that this was a roommate situation bc I wouldn't have paid as much.... when I read breakfast I thought eggs n bacon instead of coffee and a muffin. Best part of the stay was my wonderful wife screaming in my ear. Very pleasant thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are sorry we failed to provide you the clean and comfortable suite you deserve when you selected our hotel for your lodging needs. What you encountered should not have happened as we have regular treatments from a professional service to ward off the type of unwanted visitors you mentioned. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have scheduled additional treatments so our goal of providing clean and comfortable suites can be achieved and to prevent this from happening again. We are sorry you were not happy with the choices. Your comments will be shared with our Brand Leaders to assist them when determining new breakfast offerings for future implementation. We hope you will come back to stay with us another time and hope our breakfast selections are more to your liking. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel, and you get what you pay for

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Cheap.
Cons: Try putting a little shampoo in the room. Or a coffee maker. Or more than one tiny soap.
The front desk staff were lovely, but this is not a great place for a family vacation. My room was both right next to the front desk and window was right next to the wheelchair ramp, with noisy results.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We apologize for the noise issues you experienced. It is never our intent to inconvenience a guest with a certain room location. We are so sorry for the uncomfortable stay. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Good choice for me.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Better than expected
I was in town for business. Most of my time was out of the room. Bed was comfortable and room was fairly quiet. I actually feel the Hotel and personnel were better than expected. I would stay there again if business takes me to Orange County.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Anaheim Hills. We are happy that you liked our courteous associates and your comfortable room which was perfect for your needs. We appreciate you selecting us while on business and look forward to your next stay with us soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from v

Friendly staff. Clean rooms

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Very clean hotel. Nice and friendly management. Check in was smooth for big group
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful compliments! I am glad you had a comfortable stay, and that you enjoyed our spotless property and the hospitality of our associates. Thanks again from all of us at Extended Stay America Orange County - Anaheim Hills. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Dependable Comfort

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Cons: The parking lot needs to be cleaned, there is a great deal of trash where the cars where parked. In the morning it's pretty bad. Both locations.
We often looking for a room at the 11th hour,in the entertainment business we are on the road long hours. So when you have a chance for rooms that are very clean, Fresh, and the kitchenette is just what you need at 2 am and starving... well you get the pitcher.. The Staff is always helpful, respectful and unbelievable understanding... But in truth I believe they are very under staffed at the Reg. desk. We have waited 25 to 35 min. to check in, with a line behind us.. But they are always very kind.. Best of all they have everything for the kitchenette but the food... By the way I love the fact that we could bring our pet with us.. if we wanted too... Great..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Anaheim Hills during your travels. It is great to know that a fully equipped kitchenette in our suites and our hotel being pet-friendly, worked so well for your needs. Thank you for sharing your observation. My staff and I are taking steps to ensure every detail from first impression at check-in to final check-out will focus on exceptional customer service, and impeccable attention to detail in all areas of our property. We enjoyed accommodating you and would love to be of your service again the next time you head our way. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not nice

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: upgrading and cleaning
We stayed one night, cancelled second night, the room smell of urine, the carpet and floor felt sticky. I wasn't able to sleep my allergies and asthma acted up while staying in this room. I reported the problem to the staff at the front desk the following morning, I was told there were no available room, because I booked through Expedia they refused to refund me for the second night, the hotel staff said she would contact Expedia and did not. My husband contacted Expedia in order to cancel the second night an receive our refund. I would never recommend this location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It seems we missed the mark on providing you with the high quality comfort we strive to provide. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will use it to better our hotel for future guests. It is our hope you will consider another stay in the future so we may provide you with the stay you deserve. Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
We had a great stay here the rooms were decent and clean area was perfect close to Disneyland for our family vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting Extended Stay America - Orange County - Anaheim Hills for your vacation stay and for sharing your nice comments about your enjoyable visit. Our team was so pleased to learn you found your suite comfortable and our location to be convenient for your visit. It was our pleasure to host you and your family as our guests, and we would love to see you again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

gross

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Got to the hotel well after check in and the clerk told me he had to go and check to see if my room was clean because housekeeping was short handed. No big deal, but a little off putting. The room looked ok on the surface, but we decided to inspect the beds for bed bugs just in case. One bed had massive pee stains under the sheet. The other didn't even have a fitted sheet, just a flat sheet with the corners tied. We would have left but it was late and we were going to Disneyland in the morning, just flew in to LAX with two small kids, and drove through LA traffic to the hotel. When we got into bed, the pillows smelt like dirty hair (the kind of smell a teenage boys room gets, gross). The wife went to the desk to get clean pillows and the clerk said he would bring some up. He came up with four pillows and said it was all he could find and that they were lumpy because they went through the wash... At least they were clean. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our apology for the shortcomings during your stay. We always want our guests to leave our property having a quality visit, and it's disheartening to learn this was not your experience. Your feedback is appreciated, and we'll share it with our housekeeping leaders to make corrections to their cleaning and inspection processes. We would like the opportunity to host you again if your travels bring you to our area. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Hotel was very nice, close to freeways

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: the employees were helpful and very polite. Place was clean and kept very quite.. would use them again and will tell all my friends.
Cons: For our stay we didn't need anything else.
Location: Disney world, angel Stadium and Honda Center. Only a half hour drive to the beach and Universal Studies.
made our stay very nice. Had no issues and close everything we neeed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind remarks about your stay at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Anaheim Hills. We are so delighted that you loved our well-kept property, helpful associates and our convenient location which matched your needs perfectly. We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

To far from Disneyland & everything else

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Hotel had a funky smell. The beds should be listed as two full size beds not two doubles. This hotel should not be included in the Disneyland package. As I check out I asked for a final bill and the lady told Expedia would email to me. Regardless of that I should have been provided one. Some staff where nice n friendly but you could also hear them bickering
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay. Fresh and clean accommodations are the basics, and we apologize for the unusual smell you experienced. We can absolutely do better and we will! Please stay with us again so you can see our improvements. General Manager