Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near angels stadium

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The hotel staff didn't seem to like their jobs very much, at least the front desk woman
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave. We are glad you liked our convenient location, but we are sorry for not being able to impress you with our service. Please know your feedback will be shared with our staff so we can ensure your next stay is exceptional. Thanks again for being our guest, we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NORCAL

WORST HOTEL

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: IT'S ALREADY BEEN SAID LOUD AND CLEAR.
Location: ?
MY FAMILY AND I STAYED FOR FOUR NIGHTS IN TWO ROOM AND UNFORTUNATELY NO ONE CLEAN OUR ROOMS. NO ONE CHANGE OUR TOWELS. NO SOAPS, NO SHAMPOOS. BEDSHEETS HAS MANY CIGARETTES BURNS. ROOMS AND HALLWAYS SMELL CIGARETTES. NO ONE REMOVE UR GARBAGE/THRASH. VERY DISAPPOINTING ~ THE WORST HOTEL THAT WE'VE STAYED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It seems our staff did not communicate our weekly housekeeping service or our linen exchange program. More frequent housekeeping services is available upon request. I am sorry this was not shared with you and that our error led to your dissatisfaction. Thank you for letting us know so we can continue to improve through additional training and consistent communication with our guests. General Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

disneyland trip

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: other than the dirty bathroom, the place was nice and comfy
Cons: better cleaning, better care of employees
Location: theres a lazy dog, one of my fav places to eat. and when i was sick, i was at lease able to take myself to a movie in my pajamas.
the shower and shower curtain was dirty, the rest of the place was nice. my front counter person who checked me in was nice, quiet, seemed tired. my 3rd day in i felt ill and couldn't go to Disneyland, i stayed in my hotel all day. when i checked out the next morning, the woman who checked me in, and helped me with all my requested items during my stay, was once again working. she was in the back coughing, when she came to the front counter she was sick as a dog. this is how i got sick. i was too sick to enjoy the last day of my vacation and stayed in room, and upon leaving, i ended up missing 8 days of work. dues to the fact this hotel does not care about their staff, they in turn had ruined my vacation and cost me money missing work all due to the fact an employee came to work, every day....sick as a dog. and passed it to me. thanks for ruining my vacation american stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and that our location met your vacation travel plans. I am however, so sorry to hear you fell ill during your stay and that you had to miss out on some of your Disney days. While we can never be sure that our employee was the one to get you sick, I would like to apologize that was the impression you left with. We would never put our employees or our guests in harms way. I am so sorry for your experience and hope you will not hold it against us. We would love to welcome you back again should your travels bring you back to the area. Hope you are feeling better and Happy Holidays. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to Honda Center

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very clean hotel. We walked to the Honda Center for a hockey game with no problems. They advertised free breakfast, but all they had was hot water and oatmeal. (Our only complaint)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Extended Stay America - Orange County - Katella Ave. We appreciate your four-star rating and are glad our location was perfect for your visit. However, we are sorry our selections at our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast didn't live up to your expectations. We will certainly share your feedback with the appropriate team regarding food and beverage selections at our hotel. Thank you for your business, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bad sheets, no cookware in kitchen crappy breakfas

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Crappy oatmeal packs and old muffins for their so called continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry our complimentary breakfast offerings did not meet your satisfaction. When we receive this type of valuable feedback, it is always shared with our Brand Leaders so they have knowledge of our guests' desires regarding breakfast choices and assists them in determining new future offerings. Thank you for your feedback, and please consider staying with us again.   Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura County,CA

The kitchen was nice.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Overall ok hotel. I only picked it for the kitchen. We were staying thru thanksgiving and it was nice. Room could be much cleaner. No daily housekeeping. Smoke alarms went off. Fire dept showed up. Had my clothes taken from the hotel dryer only to be returned with some stuff still missing. Filed an incident report. Ugh. I might stay at the one closer to Disneyland but not this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing your comments. Our goal is to provide a great experience for our guests, and we apologize for falling short and for the issues you experiences during your stay. Your constructive feedback is valuable to us as we continuously improve our hotel and facilities. We hope you will consider giving us another chance, as we would love to make it up to you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Location and accessibility
Cons: Breakfast options
Location: Accessible to Disney land
Good .Add more options for breakfast. Nice staff. Location is near to Disney land theme park and Adventure parks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are glad you liked our courteous associates and that you were impressed with our convenient location which was perfect for your needs. We also appreciate your observations for our breakfast offerings and have taken a note of it. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The room had a old guy smell Like someone was smoking and keep the entire room was closed
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the smoke smell you experienced during your stay. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment and I am sorry the smell compromised your experience. I have alerted our housekeeping department, and we will immediately rectify the problem. I appreciate you alerting me to this issue, and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convinent

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
No receptionist and keys didn't work
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize your stay was not hassle free, and there were areas of dissatisfaction. We can and will do better and hope to have another chance to impress you on a future visit. Thank you for your feedback. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Kind of a waste of money

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Good location, kind of dumpy. Very little amenities including no ice machine......crazy! I'd stay at ayres or somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We value you as our guest, and we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry our hotel and amenities did not meet your expectations. We receive many positive comments regarding our fully equipped kitchens with full-size refrigerator/freezer which includes ice trays for your convenience. Therefore we do not have ice machines on our property, and we apologize for your disappointment. Thank you again for being our guest and for your feedback. Sincerely, General Manager