Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel did not have the correct reservation. There were no towels in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review online. We are sorry for the challenges you experienced during check-in and the inconvenience it caused. Fresh linens and towels along with any toiletries are always available at the front desk and are complimentary. We will share your concerns with the respective teams so that this type of issues are not repeated. Thanks once more, we hope to have a future opportunity to restore your confidence. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Didn't talk or interface with hotel workers. Only

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Quiet and peaceful stay.
Cons: Needed a trash receptacle in the kitchen area.
Location: Stayed there to visit family and friends nearby, the shopping was great.
Slept in the room, left every morning @ 7 AM, and returned at 9 PM each night. Nice clean grounds for my dog. Nice and quiet experience. Booked on-line and had no problems.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Extended Stay America Orange County - Yorba Linda and for the remarks provided. We are delighted to note that your stay was comfortable and you got a restful night’s sleep while here. It’s wonderful to read our location was perfect for your plans. Please come back and see us again. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need some work

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly.
Cons: Need to clean better.
Staff apologized for condition of hotel and did make it right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that there were cleanliness issues experienced with your stay. I am pleased our staff was able to assist and take immediate action to ensure your complete satisfaction prior to your departure. We appreciate your comments and hope to have you back as our guest again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good few night stay place

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Very good place to stop and rest for the night. Low cost, easy to get too. Rooms in good condition
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for visiting us and finding us to be a great value. We are pleased you had an overall great visit and loved your well-appointed room. Our goal is to provide an excellent experience for every guest, we always want to know if there is anything we can do to improve your experience while you are here as we would love to ensure your 100% satisfaction. We hope to see you on your next stay to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Dark debris flakes in water from bathroom sink.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Spartan accommodations at bargain price was our choice. We stayed here before and knew the included breakfast was granola bars, packaged muffins and instant oatmeal so purchased breakfast items to keep in the room kitchen. We would be gone all day and wanted only a clean comfortable place to sleep and shower. However the condition of our first room was unacceptable. When the water in the bathroom sink dried dark brown flakes appeared in the basin. We were concerned the water was contaminated and unsafe to drink. The staff was very apologetic and moved us to another room. Better but we will not stay at this place again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your review. We are pleased to hear our staff was accommodating and helped to locate you to a satisfactory room but we apologize for the maintenance issue you mentioned. Our policy is to investigate any reported concern and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We sincerely hope you will stay with us again should you return to the area. Kind Regards, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Great location, close to the freeway and shopping.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Staff friendly and informative,. My stay was short but pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you being our guest at Extended Stay America Orange County - Yorba Linda and thank you for your feedback. It’s so nice to read that our location was conveniently close to all the places where you wanted to go. I will be sure to share you compliment with my team, and they will be pleased to know they had a role in making your stay with us a memorable one. Please visit with us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, that is about it.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: They need to shampoo or replace the hallway carpeting. The flooring in the room needs to be thoroughly cleaned as well.
The second floor hallway did not smell good like it had not been cleaned well in a long time. In the kitchenette area of our room, the floor was sticky when walked on. Saturday night, there was a fire alarm that forced us from our room for 30 minutes, fortunately a false alarm. Staff at front desk did not appear trained well. The fire department kept telling the clerk to call the alarm company. Monday afternoon until past 8 PM, workers in neighboring room were using power tools that were very loud. Problems in the 1st floor laundry and vending room closed off access to guests. Not a pleasant experience and no where close to the 3.5 star rating you had for this hotel, never again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent visit and for your feedback. We are sorry you had a substandard experience. Our team strives to make sure each guest has a pleasant stay, so I apologize we did not deliver. Thank you for pointing this out, as it will help us improve. We hope you will consider this an isolated incident and come back for another stay. We value you as a guest and would love the opportunity to provide you with the hospitality you anticipated during this trip. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

This is more like a hotel for a working crews.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Close to shops and restaurants
Cons: Service
No maid service .No food. Need to wait 7 days to get room cleaned. More like a apartment then a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Keith, we are happy you found our location convenient for shopping and for going to local restaurants. However, we apologize for your disappointment with your recent stay at our hotel. Since we are an extended stay property, we provide housekeeping services to guests who stay eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. We also offer a complimentary linen exchange service at the front desk. In response to your feedback, we will be coaching our front desk staff to ensure we are clearly communicating our services and amenities during guest arrivals as well as providing each guest with professional customer service. We hope you will visit us again when you are in this area. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Completely Satisfied

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Friendly staff and helpful, very easy to locate hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted your experience at Extended Stay America Orange County - Yorba Linda was everything you hoped it would be. Thanks for appreciating our efforts. We look forward to seeing you soon! Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Staff unavailable. Had to bang on door for 5 min

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: location for my trip was fine
Cons: replace the night staff.
staff was asleep at the desk. Refused to answer the phone. Made me bang on the door for five minutes and then made me stand outside in the rain for another 5 minutes while they made their way to the door.,
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the delay with our staff member upon your arrival. They have a variety of duties which at times takes them away from the desk. It is unfortunate this overshadowed your otherwise great stay with us. Thank you for letting us know. Again, we are sorry for the negative first impression. General Manager