Ratings based on 2,266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Loved It

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The lobby, the pool, the work out room, the room we stayed in - it was all great.
Cons: The ice machine near our room was not working, but there was another nearby. The valet service took some time, but the employees hustled!
Location: We love Newport Beach and Balboa Island. We road bikes on the walkway. We took the cruise in the bay. We love the ferry. Lots to do.
Beautiful hotel. We felt spoiled. It was our 35th anniversary so we decided to stay somewhere a bit nicer than we usually do. Because it was so busy sometimes we had to wait a bit for the valet to get our car, but it was never too long. We would stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Fairmont Newport Beach, Near John Wayne Airport

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Great location, excellent services, lovely room, great bathroom and a wonderful, comfortable mattress that didn't give me a back ache.
Location: The location near the airport was perfect for me. There were many nearby restaurants, the beach, entertainment, etc. Perfect location for me.
I was attending a reunion and traveling by myself. It was important to me to feel comfortable and safe, as well as to be close to the airport. The Fairmont Newport Beach met all of those requirements. Check-in was smooth and I was allowed to check in early. This was a life saver since I had an afternoon appointment and was hot, sweaty, and exhausted from my traveling that day. Don't know what I would have done if I had to wait several hours to check in. The bellman who helped me with my luggage was so nice. He called the spa to see about adjusting the time for my appointment and suggested room service for something quick to eat. Tania in the salon was incredible. She cut and lightened my hair and made me look amazing. The room service servers were so kind and professional, and housekeeping didn't complain when I accidentally broke a drinking glass.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location, great service

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
As we have come to expect with Fairmont hotels, the service was exceptional. The hotel itself is a bit worn (eg, holes in the draperies in our room, tired furnishings) and could use a refresh. Restaurant/room service quite serviceable. Lose the Hertz in the lobby--a disaster! We had to arrange a car through AmEx in the end.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Fairmont Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Nice room, bath and toiletries.
Cons: See comments.
Location: Convenient location near freeway.
FYI Overnight parking $32. Wi-fi in room $30 for 24 hours. Only one restaurant in hotel with limited menu items. Wasabi Chinese chicken salad ($18) had no wasabi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great hotel; annoying parking

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I loved this hotel. I stayed once before and didn't remember why I never rebooked it. When we visited Newport this summer, I decided to give it another try. The location is great. The price was awesome. The hotel was clean and beautiful and the staff very nice. What I hated was the parking. $32 a day which is a ripoff but I don't care as much as the fact that you have to valet it. There were times we came back to the hotel to change and leave again & what a pain to wait for the car again. The valet guys were running to get the cars and were generally pretty quick, but super annoying. I'd rather pay $32 a day to park and have the option to valet or park on my own.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valencia,CA

Impeccable service!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The staff at this hotel was amazing. The bellman had my conference location and the map of the running trails in my hands within five minutes of asking. Everyone was helpful. The hotel was immaculate and my bed was so comfortable, I didn;t want to leave it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Great hotel for training session.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Complimentary shuttle to the airport, the out-of-the way pool and terrace, and the conference meals.
Cons: Phone reception staff should be aware that guests calling on cellphones using long distance cannot and should not be put on hold for a long time.
Location: Close to the SNA airport (also John Wayne airport), easy access to Bilbao family activities and beach.
The Fairmont Newport Beach was the site for a 3 day training workshop. I appreciated the complimentary airport shuttle that was just a phone call away. After checking in, I treated myself to some time by the pool, in the sun. Although there were a few families, it was peaceful enough (with the exception of one very loud mom) to listen to music and relax. The conference snacks and lunches were outstanding, although I found the menu for dinner somewhat limited for a small appetite. The staff were very responsive and the concierge provided excellent recommendations for dinner, within safe walking distances and to nearby attractions. The restaurant staff in the mornings were excellent, with the receptionist remembering my name and beverage preferences. There was one exception to the breakfast waitstaff who ignored my pleading eyes for a quick breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Fairmont is always great Fairmont is always great

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Fairmont is always great Fairmont is always great Fairmont is always great
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Tired

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Asked for a quiet room, which by its location should have been. However big cracks all along front door let in a perfect outline of bright light into the room with all the noise from the hallway. Every door opening and closing, carts and voices. Walls are so thin that we listened to our neighbor's tv from 9:30pm to half past midnight before we could get to sleep even though in truth the volume was not all that loud. The property is dated, with warped and loose carpeting in the room and old HVAC unit loud enough to interrupt light sleepers. Staff are helpful and pleasant. Efficient valet and front desk, but they can only do so much when rooms fall do short.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Newport rip off

Posted Jul 12, 2016
I have to admit very nice and comfortable. Negatives- farther from the beach and wayyy over priced. No breakfast included. Would not stay again. Can get more for your money.