Ratings based on 748 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Comfortable rooms.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Great breakfast in the morning.
Cons: During check in they gave me a key to a room that someone was already in. Luckily that person wasn't there at the time(just their clothes)
Expensive for a Holiday Inn...but i guess that's just the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Benicia CA

Nice hotel close to everything you want in Newport

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Hotel was great but disappointed in our showers. I don't know what was going on but water was hot then freezing. I had to take an ice shower. One kid said his went hot then cold and the other had a warm shower. Said they could send someone over but when you're trying to get dressed and check out you don't want maintenance in the room with you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and confortable

Posted Jul 3, 2017
On night stay, but worth it. Nice clean rooms, very close to the beach. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Nice clean hotel with great proximity to Newport Harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Excellent service, breakfast was great and the front desk employees were awesome!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midland Park, NJ

Decent hotel for Newport Beach stay

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Location. Kinda wish we had sprung for a more expensive hotel to ensure my needs were properly met.
Location: 5-10 min drive to nearby beaches and attractions. Sports Cantina next door, restaurants and Starbucks very close.
Not as close to the beach as I had hoped, but that was my fault for not understanding the layout of Newport Beach. This hotel is actually marina-front, not beach or ocean-front. A five minute drive to get to any of the beaches in Newport and surrounding areas. The staff is quite wonderful and accommodating, and the hotel is a notch above what you would expect for a Holiday Inn. The rooms were clean and well-maintained. My husband and I were on our "mini honeymoon" and wanted to stay somewhere where we could easily get to all of the places we wanted to go, while not breaking the bank. We did not expect to spend much time in the actual room, it was just a place to rest our heads at night. While there certainly could be worse rooms in the hotel, I'm convinced we just had bad luck with the room we received. Our room was directly next to the elevator on one side and directly next to a Sports Cantina on the other (during Cinco de Mayo). So, while we were hoping to "get some rest", we definitely had some trouble because of the noise. The Cinco de Mayo party at the Cantina next door went until all hours of the night and was very noisy. In addition, everything constantly smelled like grass. I get it, it's California. And, it's not so much the hotels fault as rude guests, but I could have done without that. As I said, these are minor infractions since we hadn't planned on being there for long periods of time, but comfort is always high on my list for hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Pleasant hotel in a convenient location

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Convenient location - on Pacific Coast Highway and near Newport Boulevard (55). Quiet at night. Comfortable. Has a gym.
I stayed here 2 nights. My room was comfortable, clean and quiet, despite being near the ice machine. The breakfast included scrambled eggs or pre-made omelettes that were tasty and more than I expected when I saw that there was a continental breakfast. I was disappointed that they charge $12 daily for parking. The exterior of the building was being painted, so the pool was closed and a number of parking spaces were blocked off. There were workmen on ladders to contend with at the building's entrance. I appreciated that they have a printer available in the lobby. This Holiday Inn Express met my needs and was perfectly acceptable. I would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2017
The tub did not plug and water pressure was terrible, so it was difficult to wash my hair. The staff were friendly, but they at first assigned me to a room that someone else was already in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel with breakfast

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Location: Rent a boat and tour the harbour or rent a bicycle and enjoy the paved pathway that runs along the beach.
Older, but clean hotel in Newport Beach. Not on the beach, but within walking distance of the beach for active guests. The location was perfect for us as we were attending the Newport Beach Boat Show, and it was nice to have a self-serve breakfast included in the room rate. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool at the hotel is small, but the regional beach is wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Great central hotel right by the bay. Full of amenities! Would definitely stay here again!