Ratings based on 563 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

More than adequate for an overnight stay

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Accessibility
Remodeled Room was n ice. Remaining construction was distracting
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but under construction

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Nice enough hotel but with the renovations it was not great. The location was good for us so it worked out ok. Not a three star in its current condition.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queanbeyan, Australia.

Spacious rooms in decent location

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: The room space was generous, and the staff were very pleasant and friendly.
Cons: A luggage storage space would be a big improvement for those too early for check-in. Air conditioning was noisy, but effective so happy to overlook.
Location: Great dining options immediately around the hotel. Baja Beach Cafe next door doubles as a sports bar. Little Balboa Island was enjoyable to walk to.
Unfortunately we stayed when major renovations were underway. This however was not a major impact to our experience. We got our King room as booked through Expedia, but my sister and parents who booked through another agent did not get the 2 Queen beds as confirmed directly with the hotel 2 weeks prior and were given a Queen with sofa bed which was not suitable at all, and affected by dust from the renovations. It was clear to us the hotel gave their room to a large group booking of students performing at Disneyland, and reorganised my family's accommodation needs. My family left to go to another hotel, but my girlfriend and I stayed. From this poor start however, the staff remained very pleasant, and our experience was good. I was very satisfied with the room, and there were some great choices to eat out immediately around the hotel. Newport Beach in general is somewhere I would like to visit again and this hotel is a cheap cab ride away from the beach and Balboa area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Hotel lobby is under construction. Rooms nice and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

bad experience this time

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach
I didn't aware of hotel is under construction at this time. The room is clean, other than that there are noise, dust and construction workers around. The hotel used to have a computer and a printer for guest, not available at this time. I was unable to check in my flight and print the boarding pass, staff was not to helpful. The pool is dirty because of dust and debris
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Lots of construction

Posted Mar 16, 2016
Construction and weird entrance. Just felt kind of odd.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cerritos, California

Great location

Posted Mar 6, 2016
We stayed here because we were going to a wedding across the street. There are restaurants within walking distance. Easy check in. Construction was going on in the hotel, but I never heard any noise. Room was clean and comfortable. Parking was easy, right outside the hotel. Breakfast is included in the price, nothing fancy, but good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Only downside was lack of parking due to construction, otherwise, staff was friendly, room was clean, continental breakfast was better than expected.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Wouldn't stay here again

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Major construction on building. No direction on where to go. Needed to cancel 1 night of stay, hotel not willing to refund $. Breakfast was barely even ok. Parking terrible. This is more a 1.5 star place, disappointed. Might be ok in the $80 range, but not $125 a night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Nice hotel but it is under construction

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: The construction.
Location: The location is right on the main highway so you are within walking distance to the beach and several great restaurants.
The hotel was nice and the staff were very helpful and always greeted you when you arrived or left. The hotel is under construction which made it difficult to get around the hotel and there was always construction staff moving up and down the halls. They were also working on tearing up the driveway.