Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Del Mar, CA

Quiet, Corporate, Cheerless, but Nice ...

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: No surprises. Money held on credit card for deposit was very low compared to other motels, and I appreciated that.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel fronts the always busy I-5. Ask for a room away from the freeway. But the windows are all pretty sound-proof, so ... Try South of Rick's.
To get to the hotel you drive along a road that fronts a huge parking lot for department store chains. Depressing. You climb a hill and then things immeasurably improve as you approach the 4-story motel that fronts the freeway. The lobby is nice, spacious, flagstone-tiled. The motel is big for a Holiday Inn Express. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Ask for a room away from the I-5 freeway noise, and they'll accommodate you. The rooms are generic Holiday Inn Express, which isn't a bad thing. Nice soft, firm beds with plenty of pillows. The usual bathroom amenities. WiFi is free -- which is nice -- and the connection (trust me, I know this stuff) is an adequate 5Mbps. You're close to everything. Try South of Rick's Mexican restaurant. It's pricey, but outstanding. Quiet room. It darkens with black-out curtains. I give it 5 stars across the board b/c of the rate, not because I had any memorable experience. But, also, b/c there was nothing amiss. Plus, the desk clerk specifically asked me if I wanted a King next to the elevator. I said no. Elevators can be noisy. It was very thoughtful of her to ask. So, all around, a perfectly pleasant, if cheerless, experience. If you're traveling on business, or
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Ernie, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent visit. We value all our guests feedback and will share your review with the team.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient for go to the beach shoping nearby

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Hotel clerk was so nice very polite we will come back and stay again and we will will definitely recommend to friends we did asked to check out one hour and a half late because we have a meeting and they said it ' s ok no extra charge.the bathroom was plenty of bath towels free in room internet and public areas too, good breakfast. It had a balcony mattress is firm the room is smelt cleanliness
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Ernie, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing the survey. We value all our guest comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Secluded

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: the location, view, the room.
Cons: parking spots need to be bigger. The signs need to be more obvious, I couldn't find the hotel at first because it's behind the shopping center.
Location: it's very close to the San Clemente Outlets which is nice.
I'm happy that we ended going here instead of another place. I really enjoyed it here, although my stay was very short!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Ernie, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing the survey. We value all our guest comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phx

Holiday Express has always been one of my favorite

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Great parking
Location: San Clemente is very nice
Excellent As always Holiday Express is great for business travelers and vacation spots
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by Ernie, Hotel Management
Thank you for completing the survey. We value all our guest comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Stayed here for a night before heading out to Long Beach airport in the morning. Everyone was friendly and willing to offer help if needed. The roooms were a bit dated, which explains the 4 ratings. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Very nice, clean hotel. It is close to the beach and shopping. Staff was very friendly room was very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick short stay

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Location: Located in an interesting spot. Have to drive thru shopping center parking lot to get to the hotel. There are signs that make it easier to find
Quick short stay. No complaints. Room was clean and comfy. Staff and desk was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Family of 4 for 1 week

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pro: clean hotel and rooms, spacious rooms, beds comfortable, balcony, great staff (indulged my talkative kids w/o getting frustrated), full breakfast daily (coffee, cinnamon rolls, cereal, eggs, bacon/sausage, gravy, biscuits, bagels, pancakes/waffles, juice), heated pool, close to freeway, Stuft Pizza close and very good. It was great for the week and would definitely stay again. Beach less than 5 min away Con: hard water, had to moisturize IMMEDIATELY after getting out of shower, but it was hot and had good pressure. While easy on/off fwy, it is tricky to find. You have to go into Staples parking lot and go all the away around the back of the parking lot and up the hill behind Tuesday Morning (great finds, btw) to get to the hotel. Easy after initially finding it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great choice while on our travels through California and a very nice breakfast to get us started for the day.