Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Close to beach, not fancy, nice staff

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The overall experience was OK. Hotel staff were nice, the restaurant guys were great as well. The room is good to be close to the beach. Kinda smells from the carpet. Depending which room you get you can have a great view, with all night ocean sounds. There isn't a fridge so you will need a cooler, not a lot of moving room in the hotel with 2 full size beds, I thought they were queens but they were more full size than anything. I didnt need the A/C since it was early April. Im pretty sure I could hear the neighbors shower, unless it was some kind of hose or something somewhere in the building. I booked it on Expedia which was 154 a night and stayed only 3 nights and paid close to 800.00, they don't tell you about the 20.00 a day parking and the 60.00 in taxes, the closest free parking was 3 blocks away. Also it's valet only, we can't drive our own cars in the tiny lot and park ourselves which was ok I guess... Overall the inside of the rooms need a lot of updating, I know it's supposed to have the "historic" look but this was more ghetto historic. But to experience it one time I would say go ahead, but as for me I wouldn't sleep there again, there are hotels on the same street on the beach that are nicer for 100.00 more per night which includes parking and some have a free breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
This is an older hotel and the rooms are small, but this is part of its charm. Couldn't ask for a better location and the prices are reasonable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved the beach and beach club......

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Unfortunately, this building is still standing without having had major remodeling inside. I slept poorly waking throughout the night thinking how I would certainly be doomed if we experienced even the smallest earthquake. The floors were so un-level I felt sick walking from one side our our room to another. The interiors were decorated to a bare minimum and the beds/seating options were not user friendly. I did love the beach club which allowed us to sit in chairs with umbrellas, order food and drinks and spent a lovely afternoon wave watching. We also ate inside that evening and had wonderful food. Thank you Ryan (cabana boy) for your attention and service while we sat at the beach. Thank you Alfredo for serving us at dinner. The location is perfect. The price was reasonable but I think it is time to close for repairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed the Beach

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Beach access
Cons: Double pane windows to keep out noise.
Location: Shopping across the street.
The good thing is they have a private beach, you are near the downtown shopping and can walk there. Quite noisy if you stay on the Coast Hwy street side with all the people outside. Rooms are very old. No Microwave and no coffee maker. Coffee make may have been available for a fee. Not sure I would stay there again but beach access and enjoying the private beach and having it to myself may encourage me to stay there again. Staff very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location, needs some updates

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, view!
Cons: Facilities + attitude of staff.
Location: Right across from a fantastic restaurant- Nicks- and the private beach/breakfast spot is to die for. Views of the whole beach!
Hotel Lagunas location can't be beat- it's right across from the downtown Laguna area, has a private beach (that you can drink on) and a restaurant with a KILLER view of the water. The hotel staff wasn't terribly accommodating or warm- meaning the valet & Front desk- but the bellman and waitress were wonderful. The room was comfortable- loud being off the PCH highway- but the bed/sheets/pillows were nice. Bathroom was cramped and everything was fairly dated, but beautiful view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suburbs

Great Vacation Beach Hotel w/noise & w/out AC

Posted Mar 12, 2017
This historic Laguna Beach is beautiful with private access to the beach! The restaurant is wonderful with a great view and delicious food. The staff is kind, hospitable, and eager to please. The down side of this fabulous hotel is that there is no AC. This is a huge issue for me because I need AC. This may not be an issue for you. This hotel faces PCH highway which is always busy, so it is very noisy. As the hotel is old, the windows are old and do not keep out noise or heat. The internet rarely worked. However, I was not the correct type of guest. I am a bit of a goldilocks who works. This hotel is beautiful for vacationing and literally unplugging. I love the hotel and would highly recommend this hotelwith the above caveats.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Trashy Experience

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The hotel is on Laguna beach which is very beautiful.
Cons: Better sound proofing of the rooms and if possible, arrange the garbage truck to come later in the morning.
Location: Laguna Beach is an artsy community and the beach is beautiful plus a small cove and reef to explore.
If you choose to stay at Hotel Laguna, make sure not to have a room on the north side of the building, as the garbage truck comes to empty the dumpster around 6:00 am. It is impossible to sleep through that. Also, request a room without an adjoining door to the next room. The walls aren't soundproof and with the addition of having an adjoining door, you will hear every 'in and out' of what's going on next door. We called the front desk and complained before and after the 11:00 sound curfew but the hotel night desk clerk wasn't successful in quieting the group next door and didn't threaten to kick them out or call the police. So basically, the sound curfew is meaningless.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix

Old out dated

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The hotel room is horribly old, outdated is an under statement. I was shocked. No microwave, no fridge, no bathtub no light in the shower, smallest bathroom ever, 2 people cannot fit in it. For the price you pay it's not a good deal. You're only paying for the beach front.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Right on the beach

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Proximity to town center and beach
Cons: Rooms in serious need of update
Location: Beach, Laguna town center, plenty of restaurants withing steps of hotel
Hotel in great location but not in great shape. Rooms could do with makeover and improvements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great Location, Great Price, Below Average Room

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location, Restaurant, Price
Cons: Rooms could use at least minor updates and an occasional deep cleaning. Behind the beds are pretty nasty.
Location: Close to Everything
This hotel is in great location and you can't beat the price. The attached restaurant is extremely convenient for breakfast and you get 25% off as a guest of the hotel. The bathroom is outdated, and not very convenient compared to most other hotels but it is what it is. When you book a room for 4 people, 2 Adults and 2 Kids and get put in a room with 1 king bed instead of 2 queens it's a bit irritating but next time we'll make sure we get 2 queens. If you are like us and only use your room to sleep and shower, I would suggest this place but if you like to spend time in the room I suggest something like the Montage or Surf and Sand which are very nice but a complete waste of money for us.