Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palm springs, ca

Will stay here again

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Stayed 1 night for a family gathering in Laguna. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. Check in was super fast. The hotel is old but clean and quaint, with original fixtures in the bathroom, antique furniture in the room. The bed was super comfortable! Yay. Our room was 1 floor above the receiving dock for the restaurant, so, a bit noisy in the morning. We had opted for the "coastline view" which was obscured by a tree, and meant we were closer to the street and is traffic noise. So, probably staying on a higher floor, facing the beach would solve these issues. Absolutely am coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clovis, ca

comfort on the beach

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: OLDness, and location
Cons: they are doing a great job
Location: million of restaurant, and the BEACH is right there
charming OLD hotel, with modern comforts, and I got an upgrade
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena

Anniversary Hangover

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The hotel has the best view of the sunset from both inside and outside dining. The staff are really nice. The inside has a bar for sports.
Cons: the hotel needs a remodeling in the bedrooms and hallways upstairs.
Location: The location is Number One! It is right on the beach and has best views for sunset and surf watching. Across the street is great shopping and eating
Our stay at Hotel Laguna was wonderful in that we paid a reasonable price and got a good value for what we paid. The valet was friendly; check in staff helpful with questions and answers. Restaurant staff accomodating. The room and bed are older and in need of updating but our bathroom and room as a whole were clean. We heard the sounds of the ocean but also heard every other guest walking and enjoying their stays as well. We will stay there again if we can get an upgraded room. The location is perfect!! Across the street we discovered an excellent dance bar with a live band and went the following morning for espresso and brunch. Really lovely views.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you like the beach it's very close to Beach

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Location: Laguna Beach Art community
There are many restaurants and bars nearby and a large art community nearby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Very elegant hotel rift on the beach, friendly staff, great location within walking distance to bars, restaurants etc. Only bad thing was the outlet in my room did not work. Everything else was fantastic!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A little disappointing.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Great location in the heart of darkness downtown next to main beach.
The hotel has been on my bucket list since I was a child. Though you cannot beat the location at the heart of Laguna and a beautiful private beach, the rooms are in dire need of an upgrade. The bathrooms have to be the original fixtures and the furnishings were a hodgepodge of different pieces. The exceptions were the mattress, which was very comfortable, and a nice television was updated with good reception and a nice selection of stations. There are no screens on the windows which opened onto the street which was a little disconcerting because I was traveling with my 3 year old grandchild.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

We LOVE Hotel Laguna

Posted Nov 2, 2016
The first time we stayed at Hotel Laguna set the trend for every other time we go to California! We won't stay anywhere else! We live the atmosphere, the area and the staff! I Look forward to breakfast at the restaurant every time as well!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great location for sun and fun

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Street noise kept us up and woke us early during early morning rush hour.
Location: Ocean views, sound of the surf, great restaurants and boutiques
Excellent location but be sure to request an ocean side room. Rooms on the street side of the hotel leave a lot to be desired. The hotel issues ear plugs due to the intensity of the traffic noise. We also requested a king size bed but did not get one. The hotel is historic which means it hasn't been renovated and could use a face lift. The room and bath room are smaller than more modern hotels but again it is an excellent location to enjoy the beach, local community shops, dinning and entertainment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 29, 2016
No air conditioning. Room was so loud they had ear plugs on the nightstand. Tub wouldn't drain properly. Staff was very friendly and nice. Close to everything and great beach club.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Great Location and Food. It is an historical hotel so don't expect all the modern conveniences of new hotels. The nostalgia is great!