Ratings based on 1,486 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Knott's

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Guests party noise till midnight not discouraged by staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

hotel by knots berry farm

Posted Nov 17, 2016
clean room. close to theme parks, restaraunts, and the mall.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Base for week long training

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pleasantly surprised. Large room. Expected a bed and chair. Also got desk and chair. Tv didn't have much choice. While not luxurious, the room was very comfortable. Not a pretty area but there were plenty of restaurants, fast food and grocery stores. I would go there again and recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent for its price.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Stayed for a couple of days. Overall, it was what we expected for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Basic hotel room,clean enough but nothing special, but you get what you pay for. Staff not rude or extremely friendly, can do much worst than this place but it will do when trying to save money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Rich, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I will let our staff know about the issues you mentioned to perfect those areas We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to sharing your review with our team. We hope you will join us again in the near future. Regards, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palmdale, CA

close to the mall

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: nothing to report
The hotel needs a facelift and I can see they started doing that however for the price it was decent. It is not located in the best of neighbors but it was okay for the 1 night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Rich, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, Thank you for choosing The Buena Park Howard Johnson for your travel destination and we are looking forward to welcome you and your family back soon! Sincerely, Richard
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lakewood ca

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I love it toltaly enjoy it i will go back again I was nice to be close to all Chapin centers
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Experience

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Room was clean and Beds were just comfortable.
Cons: Alot of things. Rooms should smell good, Customer Service is the worst there. Keys did not worked.
Location: Knotts Berry Farm, Black Bear Diner, Buena Park Downtown
I have stayed in several other hotel in the in which Howard Johnson is located and they are far more better. I came to check-in into the hotel the front desk person did not clearly tell me where exactly my room is and since there were couple of other people behind me waiting for some information he gave priority to them instead of telling me the complete information about my room which I think was kinda rude and I was lucky enough to find a room by myself. The room was all the way back in the hotel where some construction were going on and there was heavy noise in my room. I tired the key to open the door and it did not open after several attempts for 3-4 minutes I got into room. When I entered the room I smelled heavy ointment smell and it was kinda annoying. I did not asked for a room change because I was already mad at the guy because of what happened earlier. AC took a while to cool the room. The TV was really small and the cable was not clear. A lot of things were missing in Bathroom like Shampoo, Bath Soaps etc. Finally I couldn't take it anymore and I decided to leave so I called the front desk like 5 times to check out and guess what they did not picked up my phone. I went to the front desk to leave and the door was closed I think that was because of security reasons so they finally opened the door the guy who took my keys his eyes were all red I don't know what they were up to. I was so upset and regretted my decision to this hotel. Worst experience ever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nice, quiet and very clean...

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet.
Cons: Maybe little updating
Location: Convent, close to frwy, restaurants within walking distance overall great location.
Would stay again, very convenient, close to stores, frwy and restaurants all within walking distance. Hotel staff was very, very friendly. Overall stay was very pleasant. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakewood

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Like it a lot look forward to go there again yes I will recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by rich, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Buena Park Howard Johnson for your travel destination and the star rating, we are looking forward to welcome you and your family back soon! Sincerely, Richard