Ratings based on 1,549 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

family trip

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Remove from Expedia Inventory
Location: na
This Hotel was NOT up to the Expedia Standadrs that I have always expected. The staff was rude, the rooms had a terrible odor and were not up to even minimum health standards, I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone and I beleive it should be taken out of the Expedia inventory
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
This hotel is really nice and clean. They have a nice free breakfast with fresh waffle maker.. Loved my stay. Frewway access and close to all good resturants..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nv

Could Be A Little Better

Posted Mar 7, 2017
The hotel was a little out dated. It just didn't feel so clean to be in. A little nervous to take a shower. I guess ok for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Awesome service and great staff I loved that it is only 5 minutes away from knotts berry farm
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible management

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Terrible experience. The manager Richard scared me after gave me back my phone
Cons: Dishonest management UNSAFE hotel
I left my cellphone and called back 15 min, someone said he found it and I told him I be back 30 min to pick up. Within 10 min another gentleman call be back they can't find my phone. I back to hotel to find out why ,the manager said no one found my phone ,this hotel are so greedy and dishonest He not even want to tell me his name because I said I need to complaint and call police to report my lost. Then they give me back the phone. This is how honest .... the manager on duty on 2/7 morning is Richard ,he scare to tell me his last name as well. It make me feel terrible about Howard Johnson .I strongly recommended DONT stay in this hotel anymore. Unless you want to lost all your stuff UNSAFE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Budget hotel, easy access from freeway

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Spacious room, hotel amenities: fridge, microwave, breakfasts are included, free wifi and free parking.
Cons: Hotel is overdue for a major upgrade.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance, grocery store.
Room is basic, clean, and spacious. Sagging mattresses . When we checked in there was no hot water in our room. Front desk staff was helpful in finding another room for us that has hot water. Breakfast offers: coffee, tea, milk toast, waffle, cereals, instant oatmeal. Poor sound isolation, we could hear people talking in the hallway, corridors and moving around in the room above us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Need to update or change the rooms and breakfast. Also the smell in every rooms was so bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Nice clean rooms! Close to shopping freeways and ample parking! We really enjoyed our 2 week stay here. We will b back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
As a first time guest I was completely satisfied with the large spacious room, complete with all of the amenities including refrigerator, microwave, cable TV, ironing board and iron. The beds are large and comfortable with large comfortable pillows. The staff is friendly. I highly recommend this Howard Johnson's motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Howard Johnson - Buena Park. We are so happy to hear your stay went well and it is also very kind of you to detail your stay so others reading our reviews can really get a feel for our hotel. We thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: It is located close to Freeway and it is close to Knott`s Berry Farm and not too far from Disneyland
Cons: need new carpet. Need to take the door out and replace it with a wall
Location: close to Beach(12 miles) close knot's Berry Farm and Disney land
I was assigned Room # 213 which is connected to room#212 by door. Although the door is closed and locked, but you could hear people talking as clearly as they were present in your room. It was very disturbing. I never anticipated this kind of problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your star rating and feedback on your recent stay at Buena Park Hojo. We apologize for your noise issue. We are constantly making changes to make all our guest's stay a positive one and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our maintenance team. Kind Regards,