Ratings based on 1,443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Basic hotel room,clean enough but nothing special, but you get what you pay for. Staff not rude or extremely friendly, can do much worst than this place but it will do when trying to save money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palmdale, CA

close to the mall

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: nothing to report
The hotel needs a facelift and I can see they started doing that however for the price it was decent. It is not located in the best of neighbors but it was okay for the 1 night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lakewood ca

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I love it toltaly enjoy it i will go back again I was nice to be close to all Chapin centers
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Experience

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Room was clean and Beds were just comfortable.
Cons: Alot of things. Rooms should smell good, Customer Service is the worst there. Keys did not worked.
Location: Knotts Berry Farm, Black Bear Diner, Buena Park Downtown
I have stayed in several other hotel in the in which Howard Johnson is located and they are far more better. I came to check-in into the hotel the front desk person did not clearly tell me where exactly my room is and since there were couple of other people behind me waiting for some information he gave priority to them instead of telling me the complete information about my room which I think was kinda rude and I was lucky enough to find a room by myself. The room was all the way back in the hotel where some construction were going on and there was heavy noise in my room. I tired the key to open the door and it did not open after several attempts for 3-4 minutes I got into room. When I entered the room I smelled heavy ointment smell and it was kinda annoying. I did not asked for a room change because I was already mad at the guy because of what happened earlier. AC took a while to cool the room. The TV was really small and the cable was not clear. A lot of things were missing in Bathroom like Shampoo, Bath Soaps etc. Finally I couldn't take it anymore and I decided to leave so I called the front desk like 5 times to check out and guess what they did not picked up my phone. I went to the front desk to leave and the door was closed I think that was because of security reasons so they finally opened the door the guy who took my keys his eyes were all red I don't know what they were up to. I was so upset and regretted my decision to this hotel. Worst experience ever.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nice, quiet and very clean...

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Clean, quiet.
Cons: Maybe little updating
Location: Convent, close to frwy, restaurants within walking distance overall great location.
Would stay again, very convenient, close to stores, frwy and restaurants all within walking distance. Hotel staff was very, very friendly. Overall stay was very pleasant. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lakewood

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Like it a lot look forward to go there again yes I will recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
It took us almost an hour to check in, because the reservations wasn't in my husband name.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

very nice hotel close to knotts

Posted Aug 22, 2016
clean room very nice staff and the rooms are on the larger size great place to stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just close to Disney land .

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The light was not working I fixed the flash tank in the washroom My wife was enough to see a cockroach and don't scream loudly .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 21, 2016
Cons: it was fine
Location: It was close to my friends house
I was on a 2 week trip and stayed in 8 different Hotel\Motel. This one wasn't the worst and it wasn't the best.. Because I was a older female traveling alone, I needed a room on the bottom. Called the day before and the morning of my reservation trying to pay early because I new I would be late getting back. That would be going way over the call of duty on there part..