Ratings based on 2,774 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Old, smelly and dated.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The hotel staff was awesome. The pool was sparkling. The room (120) smelled of old smoke, furniture and carpet were stained. For $135/nt we expected better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't bother!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Uncomfortable room, flickering timer switch for light. Just use energy efficient lights! Breakfast was terrible. Weird smells everywhere. Stains, water damage in halls. 1 elevator was down for all week until last day of stay. Otherwise just swell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close by Disneyland.

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Great stay for a cheap price. Elevators out of order. Doors other than front lobby all out of service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palm springs ca

Hotel needs work

Posted May 31, 2017
The room we first got a/c did not work second room smell very bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philippines

Good location

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Good location, free shuttle bus to Disney, Good hot breakfast.
Cons: the carpet should remove or replace because its dirty, they should shampoo it always. the curtain must replace with same colour with the lobby
Location: close to target, marshalls, sketchers, in and out , burger king, chick fil A and etc
Good location, close to shopping malls and restaurants. Free shuttle bus to Disney. The hotel room is just ok. It's an old hotel, the carpet should be replace or remove. when you enter the room, there's a bad smell. but the room is clean, comfort bed. They replace clean towel everyday as i request. We had a good hot breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Lacking basic things

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good. Lots of options. Cereal, fresh fruit, bacon, eggs, french toast. TINY little bowls and cups tho. Free shuttle to Disney is nice.
Cons: Make sure A/C works in every room and can be controlled by the customer!!!! Fix amenities on every floor!!!
Location: Very close to Disneyland! You can get to downtown Fullerton is you don't mind a walk. Lots of restaurants in walking distance.
Really wish I had read the reviews before booking here. First of all, the wifi here is TERRIBLE. Seriously, the worst. You are lucky if you can check your e-mail on your phone on this wifi. When we checked into our first room, we realized the very old TV did not have an HDMI port. This sucks because we brought our Playstation to play games and watch Netflix in our downtime. We asked for a newer TV, and we got moved to another room. (The staff was very nice about this which I appreciate!) Our new room was much nicer. Newer lamps, more outlets, etc. However, it was sweltering hot! I could not get the A/C to kick on. So I had to go back down to the lobby and have maintenance come up. He got it to kick on, but the rest of the week, the A/C would only kick on when it felt like it. I could never manually turn it on. I woke up in the middle of the night drenched in sweat several times because the A/C just wouldn't turn on for hours and hours and other times it wouldn't shut off for hours. We tried to have maintenance look at it when we got back to our hotel later one night, and they didn't come up to the room for an hour. We had to ask twice. Not acceptable when you are trying to go to sleep and your room is a sauna. All of the walls are dinged up with scratches and missing paint. Carpet seemed clean enough in my room, but the hallway carpets were pretty gross. Many basic hotel amenities were broken during my stay. Vending machine and ice machine were both broken on my floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

aged interior

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good, a lot of options. Shuttle to & from Disneyland is free. Convenient schedule too
Cons: The appearance of the room, carpet did not appear to be clean. Update your rooms. One of the Shuttle drivers gave us a scare. He was going 55 in a 35.
Location: Shuttle was free & good , with the exception of one trip where the driver was NOT polite and did 55 in a 35 zone just outside of Disneyland.
Good if your lookinh for a cheap place to stay to go to Disneyland, just a place to crash.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted May 22, 2017
My family and I cannot afford to take vacations. This was our first family vacation and we needed to find a deal to be able to go to Disneyland and enjoy this family vacation. We found a deal for Howard Johnson it sounded and looked great so we took it. The breakfast buffet that was included food was terrible. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable bathroom is dirty overall just needs upkeep and upgrades. Next time I will just save a little bit more to avoid staying at a place like this again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC, CA

Everything you need is close by...

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: great location, friendly staff, comfort, cleanliness...
Location: Everything you will ever need is close by!
Love the location! its nearby the 5 or 91 freeways... Also, there's just about everything close by you will ever need: stores, fast food places, pharmacies, and the staff is very friendly! and not to forget the free breakfast buffet from 6-9am with a variety of choices to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Great location. By freeways.

Posted May 13, 2017
As usual, we enjoyed our stay. From the friendly check in to the housekeeping staff to the breakfast buffet staff. The employees at Howard Johnson really seem to enjoy where they work. Thank you all again for a great stay!