Ratings based on 1,507 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cons: valet/parking rate
Location: very close to good restaurants and sites
the hotel staff was great. the room was very clean. the property was very nice and had lots of things to do and places to sit, etc. the location was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Nice hotel in nice location. Great services!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Great service, free shuttle and a nice location.
Cons: I was in an older portion of the resort that was showing some wear and aging.
Location: Balboa bay, Fashion Island are close.
I switched to this hotel my last two nights of my stay after not liking the first hotel I booked. This hotel is in a great location but my main reason for my switch was the service I received from the valet staff (Azim) after calling several 4 plus star hotels looking for shuttle and car service. I only needed a few transfers and didn't want to rent a car or deal with cab drivers. I like to have a driver and nice, safe transportation. Azim in the valet connected me with a great, reliable, safe affordable driver and even scheduled all my transportation. Great service! This hotel isn't one of the nicest hotels or resorts I have stayed at but the service was comparable to many resorts I have stayed at and paid twice the price. They offer free airport shuttle as well and shuttle to Fasion Island. Room service was great and they promptly brought me a robe. The grounds are quiet and well kept.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

What you see is not what you get.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We saw the the pictures online and they looked beautiful. When we walked into our room it was old and dingy. Some room do not have elevator access. Hot tub was broken and filthy, too. There is an extra charge for everything so after 6 days we owed an additional fee of over $500 for parking, resort fee, and a roo m charge upgrade to stay in a room that didn't resemble the Bates motel. They even charge for morning coffee
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Centrally located in OC.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
This September was the 4th year that my wife and i have stayed at the Hyatt Regency Newport Beach. While this hotel is not a beach front resort it is centrally located and just a quick trip away from any of the beaches in Orange County. Unfortunately my wife and I both agree that this past stay would be our last. The front desk staff is less then welcoming and 2 years in a row have been downright rude at times.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice facilities, but worn and lots of stairs.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Hotel room was nice and spacious, but a little loud (we were right above the lobby and our window faced lobby carport for check in). We self parked and brought our luggage in--long walk with lots of stairs to maneuver and not a lot of ramps and elevators. Room was worn and not as clean as I would have hoped--found 2 hairs on the toilet seat when we checked in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yucaipa

Exactly what I expect from Hyatt Regency

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Stayed Labor Day weekend, had a blast. Hotel staff did exceptionally well especially being a holiday weekend and multiple events going on (weddings, birthdays). Great job Hyatt! Called room service for blankets and pillows, it seemed as if they were standing by the door ready to serve! Super fast! Walking around the hotel, I noticed staff was always busy cleaning, changing towels out, running food/drinks. Great staff!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great Labor Day Vaca!!

Posted Sep 5, 2016
This was such a fun & comforting experience. So many ammeneties, so little time!! I will def be back here for more future vacations!! ☀️☀️
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Nice property

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Very pleasant stay. The hotel gave us chairs and umbrella that we took to the beach. Close to shopping and restaurants..parking is expensive..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from riyadh,ksa

Close to the beach,, shopping and dinning

Posted Aug 31, 2016
We stay there for 14 nights its very nice location,, hotel,, staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location clean rooms good staff.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Overall my family enjoyed the stay. It's located close to a lot of attractions and easy access to everything in Orange County. My only complaints are the 25$ resort fee and 27$ self parking daily fee. Both are exorbitant and I think should be reduced or eliminated for hotel guests. Our 10 day stay cost us and additional 520$ over the room rate.