Ratings based on 1,585 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Enjoy my stay

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Cons: Daily resort fee should be optional as I don't need to use them during my stay.
I attend a conference at a different hotel, but choose this hotel for my stay. And really like it here. My only issue is the hotel charge extra daily fee for resort facilities which I don't need. That fee should be optional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

PROXIMITY TO NEWPORT BEACH APPRECIATED

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: PROXIMITY TO PACIFIC COAST HIGHWAY PROXIMITY TO NEWPORT BEACH, LONG BEACH, HUNTINGTON BEACH. I VISITED ALL THREE BEACH CITIES WITHIN A 4-DAY PERI0D
Cons: CONCERNS SUBMITTED TO THE MANAGER, PROBLEMS SOLVED, VERY PLEASED--NO MORE COMMENT NEEDED HERE
Location: I HAD NO IDEA THAT NEWPORT BEACH WAS SOOOOOO ALIVE AT NIGHT AS I DROVE INTO THE NEWPORT BEACH AREA NEAR THE PIER. . . YOUNG ADULTS SWARM THE PLACE!
THE SACRIFICE OF A FULL NIGHT'S SLEEP TO WITNESS THE EARLY-MORNING SURFERS WAS WORTH SLEEP DEPRIVATION!! AS A CHICAGOAN, I NEVER HAD SEEN SURFERS IN REAL LIFE, ONLY IN THE MOVIES. A MERE 4 MILE DRIVE TO THE NEWPORT PIER AREA AND A PARKING SPOT AT THE WATER'S EDGE WERE A CONVENIENCE. THERE THEY WERE. NEARLY 40 OF THEM:MEN, WOMEN, CHILDREN SURFING THE CHALLENGING WAVES TO THEIR HEART'S DELIGHT. WHAT A POWERFUL LEARNING EXPERIENCE FOR ME! WHAT A PHOTO OP!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indio, United States of America

Old Hotel Shows Its Age

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Personnel were good, good service.
Cons: Weather stripping on the door and fix the roof.
Location: Great location! Near beach, Shopping center.
Roof leaked when it rained. Door did not seal properly and allowed cold air into the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IA

Not the typical Hyatt...

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: *Bar/Lounge *Pool Area *Fast Wi-Fi *Close to Balboa/Newport Pier
Cons: A ton. Needs a super renovation right away. It's not to the standards that many other Hyatt's are across the country.
Location: Balboa Island Newport Pier Huntington Pier Corona Del Mar (GREAT RESTAURANTS!) Laguna Beach OC Fairgrounds Disneyland
After a couple weeks of going back and forth between hotels to stay at in the Newport Beach area, I went back to this as my choice of stay. The pics made the grounds look inviting, the rooms to be updated and comfortable, and a great location. Within minutes of being there I could tell the only greatness was going to be the location. Rooms: Bed's were not comfortable. Stains on the bedskirts (one on each bed the size of a small pizza). Cobwebs in corners. Rooms were not even close to being Blacked-Out in the morning. It was quite sunny in the room at 6:30AM...Bathroom doors were dusty, exhaust fan in bathroom was caked with dust. TV cabinetry was stained etc. Was very disappointing. Pool Area: Nice. Didn't use it, but it looked like a really nice spot for the summer no doubt. Lobby: Nice and clean. Staff were friendly, no doubt there. Bar/Lounge: Nice as well. A good list of libations and great ambiance. Facade: Needs work...like yesterday already. Old...very old. We were actually directed to the poolside rooms vs. the ones on the lobby side of the building. I'm guessing judging from the reviews that this is the remodeled side as it looked very nice. Sure wish we wouldn't have gotten duped into the poolside rooms. We didn't even want one to begin with so it was a little unfortunate. Self-parking and Daily Resort Fee: Nothing major, new it ahead of time and nothing to do with the review. Hopefully they can update soon as the location is great!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, California

Great location, efficient valet service.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Computer system needs to improve. I booked through Expedia, but the hotel front desk was not able to find our booking when we arrived.
Short driving distance to airport, beaches, and shopping.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice accommodations in a great location!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: Balboa Village, Fashion Island, Newport Pier
We were very pleased with our stay. The front desk was very accommodating allowing a late checkout which allowed us to make special memories swimming with our six year old daughter. Balboa Village was very close by allowing us to fit in breakfast and time to get ready. It worked out perfectly because the pool was heated and right outside our room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Older hotel. Being updated. Good restaurant. Limited menu.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very friendly staff and resort feel

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Staff friendliness was great. Grounds were very nice, and well maintained. Not easy to keep a place with so many plants as nice looking as they did.
Cons: Physical plant getting a bit old, but not really a problem.
Location: Great location. Near the beaches, Fashion Island, and yet close enough to 405 and quick to get anywhere.
We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt Newport Beach. I was attending a conference at a very nice business hotel in Irvine, and my wife was visiting with friends, who mostly came to the Hyatt. The staff at the restaurant were extremely welcoming and friendly to her, accommodating her and her guests and making them very welcome. The grounds are very well maintained, and lovely to walk through. Pool and Jacuzzi were relaxing and comfortable. Hotel is older, so it is not really 5-star, but the team members went beyond. many examples of friendliness, doing more than asked. We needed to switch rooms at the start because AC was faulty, so that is a negative, but the team made the change quick, and the second room pleased us more, so we were happy. We would stay here again for sure. Great location near beaches, Fashion Island.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bc

Noisy!!!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Got villa A, private pool which was nice. But you can hear crickets and planes all night long. Need to sound proof rooms!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: The location was great and all the aminaties were great also the free shuttle to multiple place was great
Cons: The front desk staff was a little rude and did not have knowledge of the hotel
Location: You have great restaurants and fashion island mall real close