Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Hotel Renovation Ruins everything

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Cons: Please notify everyone who is staying at the hotel about the renovation during check in and the time it starts...please..
Came here with my girlfriend for a 5 night stay trusting on the quality of Marriott Hotel. Nightmare starts on the 2nd day. Constructions started 7:30 a.m. in the morning. This was totally unacceptable. I am trying to have a vacation here and you are telling me your staff started doing renovation 7 in the morning and starting to drill like crazy? None of the staff mentioned about the hotel renovation or when will it start during check in. Requested for a refrigerator in the room and it turn out that the refrigerator only holds for half hour and return to normal temperature. I am only trying to have a nice getaway with my girlfriend and Irvine Marriott has been the worst part of our trip. Not to mentioned that Expedia has send over the wrong number of stay to the hotel and hotel staff kept on mentioning to us that we will be kick out even though this was Expedia's problem. This stay has made me questioned about the overall quality of the Marriott. Very disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marriott in Irvine CA 11/24/2016

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: clean safe closed by the freeway
Cons: Parking fee per day is too expensive and internet charge is not good on top of regular charges. These thing should be free and you can charge more.
Hotel facilities are nice. Valet parking is a bit messy since there's not enough space to park especially in the rain. Noisy from freeway side
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient to our corporate office.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Close to the office for meeting.
Cons: Bathroom wasn't very clean.
Location: Very close to mall and eateries.
Hotel is the process of being remodeled. It was very inconvenient for getting to the front to check in. No signs posted from pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedona, AZ

Nice hotel--Confining Room

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The hotel lobby itself is very open & modern, with fresh roses! The bar & restaurant areas are comfy with a fireplace inside & fire pits outside.
Cons: The floors above #8 were being remodeled, so maybe the rooms such as what I had are being enlarged.
Location: I didn't venture out because my conference lasted all day & into the night. Left Irvine the next morning.
The room I had (827) felt confining. Upon entering, a narrow hallway leads to the small bedroom area. You have to weasel past the desk & chair to get in the main room. There is room on the other side of the dresser where they could slide the furnishings down to open up the passageway more. Not sure why they haven't done this. The staff in the bar & restaurant were VERY hospitable! We had Brandi at several visits & she made sure our every need was met.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Great place to stay. Our kids really enjoyed it too. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for irvine

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were however smaller than what I'm used to. The bathrooms were really small but overall room was ok. They should have made the rooms and bathrooms a little bigger like the ones you see at courtyard Marriott or holiday inns. Otherwise it's a nice hotel with a good vibe. Oh and I don't like how they charge for parking at $23 a night and $10 for internet. Parking at most should be $5-10. Other hotels don't charge for parking and internet and costs the same to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Gloria Cortez, Executive Assistant to the GM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We value each and every guest who walks through our doors and thank you for taking the time to share your review and feedback with us. We feel terrible that we failed to fully meet your expectations but glad to hear our hosts extended you the level of care and service you have come to expect of the Marriott brand and one that we're very proud of. We understand parking is a premium in and around most airports and Orange County is no exception. We carefully monitor competitor parking rates and still maintain one of the lowest. The fee enables us to manage our parking inventories and most importantly in offering a safe and secure parking experience for our guests. As for internet costs, we do charge for internet in our guest rooms in order to maintain the service and equipment used to provide it. Unlike this Hotel, other properties choose to include the cost in the rate. Complimentary internet in our lobby area is always an option for those who need to quickly check emails, and we also offer online access in our business center 24-hours a day. Again, thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back. Warmest regards, Gloria Cortez
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from corona, ca

Great lobby, a whole different hotel after that

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Lobby was beautiful but it was like a whole different hotel once you got to your floor. Outdated, musty, popcorn ceiling. $24 parking was unnecessary in my mind. Would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

vacation

Posted Aug 1, 2016
hotel lobby and amenities were nice. However the room was just a very basic Marriott type room. It was not worth the $400+ dollars plus the additional fee for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Executive Assistant to the General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Irvine Marriott with us. The hotel is currently going through some exciting changes to meet the changing needs of our guests. I am excited to share that our room renovation is currently underway. We’re very proud of our hotel and have received many accolades on our recent enhancements: our lobby in 2013, our meeting spaces in 2014, and our pool and fitness studio early this year and our elevators are in the middle of a complete modernization. Now, based on guest request we’ve moved onto our guest rooms. We do, however, realize the process of renovating a hotel in phases can make us appear disconnected and thank you for your patience and understanding. We’re certain it will be worth it when we finish implementing our many guest driven (and suggested) enhancements. Please visit us again soon so you can experience the full impact of our renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland, OR

Great pool and patio area

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Remodel of the property is amazing. Great place to relax with family or friends. Close to everything-great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Good hotel and good value for money

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The check-in lady I had to deal with was rude and acting like she would rather be somewhere else. If all my questions would be answered by looking at their guest book in the room or by calling someone else why is she there? The hotel might be better off replacing her with a robot!