Ratings based on 1,224 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
We had a great experience at Island hotel. Hotel was what we expected food and service was great. We will be going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No longer four seasons hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This property was previously the four seasons hotel. I thought irvine would have kept this place together but I guess not. Walls are thin heard a newlywed couple next door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Dated and a bit overpriced, but a good choice

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The overall stay at the hotel was good and the staff were excellent. Location is quite great too. Unfortunately the rooms are a bit dated and everything, from water to parking to internet is pay-to-use. Better deals can be had nearby, but if you don't mind spending a few extra bucks and don't mind a rusty bathroom fixture or two, this hotel is a solid choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel with Great Location!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet, and yet walking distance from much.
Great Hotel for an amazing price. Large comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff very convenient location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Beautiful hotel, excellent amenities and location!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The hotel itself is beautiful, and Newport really is an unbeatable location. The staff is incredibly professional and courteous and I really have nothing negative at all to say about my time at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Great Location! The facial with Regina at the spa was fantastic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Awful front desk

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Stopped staying at this hotel a few years ago and started staying at sister property Pelican Hill due what seemed like a steady decline in customer service. Decided to give another shot due to an unbeatable rate and supposed Expedia Gold privileges. None of privileges/upgrade offered at check-in. That's not main issue. Complaint is front desk agent acting in condescending and dismissive fashion and other agent referring to me as "boss" and "bro". I grew up in CA but come on just way to school for me. I'm 43 years old and a paying guest. I'll stick to Pelican which has managed "casual luxury" without the need of calling me "boss" or "bro"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Loved it but nobody ever mentioned the 200 deposit they ran my card for at front desk during check in. They could've at least mentioned they were running my debit card for that much.. would've given my credit card.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada City, CA

Nice hotel- Across the street form amazing shoppin

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Staff & location
Cons: All was really great!
Location: Across the street is the best high-end mall. I walked over & purchased a birthday present.
Love the grab & go snack shop. Great music at night! Room was really good with an awesome view. Amazing & helpful staff. The valet really went above & beyond & got me special address for a great gift for a friend. Over-all, amazing service!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

High quality, hidden costs

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Overall quality, staff and experience positive, but make sure to understand what all you do and don't get, especially if booking through 3rd party source like Expedia. There was an interesting amount of other fees/costs/upcharges that were not fully explained and by the time you check out it could add substantial cost to your bill.