Ratings based on 1,278 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice, resort feel and beach view.

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: The pool was very nice.
Cons: The room was not very clean, there was sand on the furniture and the carpet needed cleaning.
Amenities are excellent! The food at the Oak Grill was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Destination property in Newport Beach

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Outdoors, I like the effort made to separate into kids areas (pool) and an adult conversation space around the fire pit. Please stop cigar smokers!
Location: Superb location, across street from Fashion Island.
Right in the center of the shopping/commercial hub of Orange County, this non-chain hotel has a relaxing, hospitable atmosphere. Very well maintained, clean, decorated in a sleek contemporary style, beachy colors, this hotel has the big companies beat. Social atmosphere around pool, conversation fire pit, at lobby bar. Excellent service in all departments, every staff member smiles with each guest interaction. They all seem to want an outstanding experience for guests. Not over-the-top luxury, but they do a great job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
Stayed at this hotel several times and always a great place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden Fee's, Crooks

Posted May 19, 2017
We booked our room on expedia and our total was $456.00, at check in they said it was $511.00 because of "room fees" ...fair enough thats fine, then prior to swipping our card they said we are running your card for $911.00....WAIT WHAT? $200 per night for incidentals? never heard of such a high charge. they said no worries we will refund you at check out... Check out comes... $70.00 per day for "valet parking" we had NO IDEA Valet in a hotel you are staying in would charge so much... Then a guest meet us for dinner and they parked their car... Charged us another $70.00!!!!WITH OUT OUR CONSENT AND NOTICE TO OUR GUEST WE WOULD BE CHARGED! so $210.00 just to leave your car there for Friday and Saturday, and to have a guest meet us for dinner AT OAK GRILL IN OUR HOTEL...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Jenna, I am sorry about the confusion on your bill. I have reviewed all the charges on your folio and I would be happy to go over them with you if you'd like. I did see a correction for a valet charge, my sincerest apologies for that. It was refunded directly, and we do not charge guests for parking when they are dining in Oak Grill. The destination fee and incidental "hold" are fairly typical charges for a hotel. Our goal is always to surpass guest expectations and I am grateful for your feedback as it helps us improve. If you would like more details, please feel free to reach out to the hotel and I am happy to oblige. Best Regards, Lyara Neavear Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine

The local paradise trip

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: 2 bedrooms in a marge suite
Location: Fashion Island, beach, lots of activities
Amazing staff and views to go along with it. Upgraded to the suite and it was well worth it. You would think youre in Hawaii...... we didnt want to leave but reality does hit back. Oak restaurant was top notch also! Must go to!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice weekend getaway!

Posted May 6, 2017
We recently spent the weekend-arrived early by air, about 10 am and early check in was easy. Room was nice-bright color and light. We had a Bay View King and our view was ok from the 11th floor. Long walk or cheap Uber ride to the beach. Fashion Island close by with good shopping and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hacienda height, ca

Hosted a bachelorette party

Posted May 2, 2017
I can't express my love for this hotel enough, the staff was amazing, from valet, to bell, to front desk and pool staff. Everyone was amazing and so helpful and accommodating. They even sent up a bottle of champagne to both rooms to celebrate the bride. I couldn't have imagined a better hotel or experience for my best friends bachelorette. I will def stay here again and recommend to everyone. Thanks for such an amazing experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Everything is great, relax, work, shop or playing from this location works well.
Location: Fashion Island if right across the street. We walked to the beach and we do not walk everyday, so has to be an easy walk.
This hotel not only shows well but it lives up to the standards it lists in its write ups. Good food, awesome patio with great service and even a fire pit for the cooler nights. Staff are well trained and truly know how to put pride into every task they do for the guests. Highly recommend for walking to the beach areas or jumping into a UBER to go further a field.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Hotel is clean well situated however if it's a nice day you probably will not get a chair by the pool because they are occupied by walk in people they do not have reserved chairs for hotel guests
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

An OK stay for us

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The room was clean
Cons: Fix the water power, fix the toilets
Location: Great Location
Pros: Location. Clean Room. Cons: Toilet was clogged, Shower hose water was very weak, and missing "Do Not Disturb" tag.