Ratings based on 1,234 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Quinta

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Staff was great starting from the valet when we arrived to staff member that checked me out!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel w/ unexpected expenses

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Our stay would have been nice if it wasn't for the unexpected fees that the hotel imposed upon us. First, overnight parking is valet-only, no exceptions (luckily there's a flat daily rate). Second, there are "resort fees" which you can't avoid. And specifically the resort fees, the staff did a very poor job of communicating it to us; we weren't told about it when we checked in and then we were told it was already included in our bill, but they meant it _will_ be included (we prepaid and so we thought it was already covered). So having to spend an extra $55/day to cover these two costs was rather unfortunate, especially when have of that was a surprise at checkout.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel in great location!

Posted Mar 3, 2017
The staff is great and the food they offer is delicious. They have such an extraordinary VIP club and restaurants to offer. The hotel is located right next to a awesome mall so you won't ever be bored. Love that little market place Store in the lobby!!! The restaurant downstairs is pretty fantastic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

4 stars almost with a beach view

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Not what I expected. It kinda wants to be a 5 star hotel but the decor is dated and the rooms could use some renovating. The room service is pretty bad. The best part of the hotel is the market in the lobby. The bar is pretty decent too. Location is across the street from a nice mall but this place is not as close to the beach as you think it would be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Good hotel near Fashion Island

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cons: Firmer beds
Good overall experience. Hotel well located near Fashion Island and numerous restaurants. Only complaint would be that the beds are quite soft and not supportive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
We had a great experience at Island hotel. Hotel was what we expected food and service was great. We will be going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No longer four seasons hotel

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This property was previously the four seasons hotel. I thought irvine would have kept this place together but I guess not. Walls are thin heard a newlywed couple next door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Dated and a bit overpriced, but a good choice

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The overall stay at the hotel was good and the staff were excellent. Location is quite great too. Unfortunately the rooms are a bit dated and everything, from water to parking to internet is pay-to-use. Better deals can be had nearby, but if you don't mind spending a few extra bucks and don't mind a rusty bathroom fixture or two, this hotel is a solid choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel with Great Location!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Quiet, and yet walking distance from much.
Great Hotel for an amazing price. Large comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff very convenient location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Beautiful hotel, excellent amenities and location!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The hotel itself is beautiful, and Newport really is an unbeatable location. The staff is incredibly professional and courteous and I really have nothing negative at all to say about my time at this hotel.