Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Everything was wonderful

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Dining spa location
we really like this placefirst it was very pet friendly . Great location near the mall and 10 minutes from Balboa. We had a corner suite at the 2nd floor. It was very quiet and comfortable. The stuff was very friendly everywhere. We enjoy the spa treatment. However the best feature was the dining. We loved the happy hour and the acoustic show at fireside, as well as the dinner menu . The brakfast pancake were wonderful as well. We definitely going to come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northridge, CA

Well taken care of

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Staff was genuinely concerned with our experience. They were cheerful and attentive and took their time making sure we had what we needed. We were in a standard room, and it was clean and spacious with lots of storage, and the bed was very comfortable. We felt pampered. Thank you for a very relaxing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick Getaway

Posted Dec 20, 2016
We just stayed one night at Island Hotel in Fashion Island just before Christmas. I was astounded at the great rate available for this class hotel and location. I've stayed here before at a much higher rate. The hotel decor feels a little dated, but still stylish and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Christmas on the Island!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Right next door to Fashion Island, close to the Ocean and plenty of night life around even if their own club "Aqua" doesn't real you in!
What started out as just a nice spot to lay our heads after a full day of shopping, visiting and Balboa Island Christmas Lights viewing turned into an amazing event all onto itself! The Oaks Restaurant treated us to meals that had everyone at the table eating off of every plate it was so delicious! Thank you Chris the manager and Heather the server for making us feel as family. If they had a better than a "5" for ratings they'd receive it friends!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to good shops.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Staff was super. My airline lost my luggage and hotel staff helped me get replacements. They made a bad situation a little more bearable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los angeles, ca

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 30, 2016
My stay here was wonderful. Great ocean-view suite, spacious and clean, even had a sound system in the suite. The staff was very friendly. Location is central to all your needs. Fun bar/club in the lobby of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesilla Park, United States of America

Newport Newbie

Posted Nov 29, 2016
This is definitely an upscale hotel and the hotel grounds were quite beautiful. The ocean view was calming and enjoyed our overall stay. I was a little disappointed with the attentiveness of the staff but this seemed to be through out the hotel. It just seemed to be a little forced. Of the three front check in staff not a single one greeted my daughter or I. The valet offered us complimentary water but never brought it up. But the thanksgiving brunch was to die for as well as the wait staff and the entertainment was outstanding. So overall we enjoyed it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

near the beach and near shopping

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect The facility was clean. The staff kind and happy
Location: We visit family mand go to the beach.
The atmosphere was friendly and inviting. The staff was helpful and courteous The breakfast was delicious and the service professional. We will return to Island Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Newport Beach

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Short drive to the airport, beaches, restaurants and everything else.
I stayed this past weekend at the Island Hotel. It's close to everything that we wanted to see and is conveniently located across the street from a higher end shopping center. The hotel is clean, most of the hotel staff are very nice and helpful. The only negative (which was huge to me) when checking in, the front desk employee assigned me to a room that he literally said was the room type I had paid for through Expedia. When I arrived to the room, it was much smaller than I expected, missing a couch and was a joining room. Also, I could hear sounds from the TV blasting through from the next room next door. I called the front desk and ultimately went back down and asked the same employee to come up with a different room. I was told there was a room above the Aqua bar, but it would be very loud, a room with a king size bed and he was send up a roll away.... Eventually I was given a different room that was supposedly being "blocked off" for someone else. We entered the room and at that moment I realized that was what I had paid for for all along. I was irritated by the fact the person tried to pass off one room for another... After that issue was resolved, my stay was enjoyable. I would go back, but in the future, I would call ahead to avoid any issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Always an incredible stay! Perfect location. Please don't tell me how much I should right in a review:)
Cons: Wish they would stop the add ons like resort fees. Just ad it to the rate or allow it to be prepaid. I like to give weekend trips to friends and family as gifts and I can never pick a hotel with these fees because I can't have them prepaid. Wish I could do it with the Island Hotel because we love.