Ratings based on 890 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Aging hotel with off site parking

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: good location and it is clean
Expedia fails to mention that parking is off site and along with breakfast is not included in the price "collected by hotel" Everyone pays a resort fee of $14 for these amenities. Breakfast facility was lacking and attendant did not maintain the buffet. While the food was ok the presentation was not. When we arrived at 9:30am there was no coffee left and no forks. The attendant was not in the room. When he was asked about coffee he did replace the urn.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Great location, quiet, ocean views, rooftop dining, breakfast included
Location: Walking distance to restaurants and shops, away from the busier main part of town
We were celebrating our anniversary, and the staff went out of their way, giving us one of the best views, and surprising us with a bottle of champagne, and a delicious slice of cheesecake with fresh berries delivered to our room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Charming old hotel near everything in Laguna Beach

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: We liked the charm of the old hotel and the beach access.
Cons: Improvements could be made in the windows and carpeting in this hotel. Also the elevator is extremely slow, and the ventilation in the rooms is poor.
Location: Great location with shopping and dining nearby. There is a rooftop bar with some of the best views around on top of the hotel.
This is a landmark hotel in Laguna Beach. It has a great location near steps to a popular beach and the staff is very accommodating. However, the rooms are small and dated, and it was hard to get a good nights sleep due to the noise in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Beautiful hotel with a great location.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed the ambience of the hotel. Cozy rooms, delicious food and very friendly staff.
Location: The location quickly became a favorite of ours. Easy strolls along the beach, beautiful sunsets on the rooftop, quick access to the strip.
Great hotel! As soon as we walked inside we could feel the local culture surrounding us. We didn't have to go far to enjoy our stay. Free breakfast in the historic courtyard in the mornings. The dining downstairs at K'ya was unbeatable. The Rooftop upstairs was the "happening" place be. And, we also loved the fact that the hotel seemed to calm down around 9pm so we could relax. We loved the hotel and will plan on staying again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Friendly staff, breathtaking view, great location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exiting hotel next to the beach romantic

Posted Jun 10, 2016
They upgraded us to a better room with the ocean view front of the beach it was my wife and I 24th wedding anniversary👍🏼
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Great rooftop bar, friendly helpful staff. Our room was next to the breakfast area, which was noisy in the morning. Our Spanish themed room was cozy and romantic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by Katie G. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to share your feedback with the team.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victorville

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Very nice hotel ,room was not big but for what u use it for it's ok very nice n clean the staff very friendly close to the beach restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Katie G. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Yanci! We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel sorry our stay was not longer.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent location......
Loved our stay. The staff was very friendly and most willing to help us. I will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2016 by Katie G. General Manager, Hotel Management
So happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smallest room ever

Posted May 29, 2016
The hotel staff, restaurant, and bar are great. But the building is very old without central air. And beware of getting assigned the smallest room known to man. Our room looked normal in the pictures. It was so small that the bed was turned sideways and there was one foot of space to walk thru the room. If I had one word to describe it, I would say bizarre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by Katie G. General Manager, Hotel Management
Yes, our charming age (88 yrs old) does have much influence on the size of our rooms. We do try to explain this with the provided square footages and descriptions. I am very sorry to hear that we disappointed you during your visit and hope that you would give us another opportunity in the future.