Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, UK

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us beach towels and deck chairs. Good location close to a quiet beach. It had a lot of character.
Cons: I found the rooftop bar a bit too noisy even during the day. I just wanted to read my book on one occasion over a coke but music was loud.
We had a great week here and were very happy with the hotel. We would definitely stay here again. Whilst rooms are a little small they are clean and the entire place has a lot of character. It was handy that we could use a nearby local gym, included in the resort fee, but since I run a lot I often went out and ran along the coast cos it's so pretty and the hills make it a good workout. There is a good 25m (or yard) local swimming pool at the High School open to the public a few minutes' drive away which I have used on a previous stay in Laguna. We didn't dine at the hotel as we ate out every night. Downtown was about a 15 minute walk.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Love this hotel . One of my fav in Laguna Beach.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Old world charm, quaint boutique hotel. Staff very very heloful. Full an wonderful breakfast. Lots of outdoor spaces to sit an relax.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location with lots of nice restaurants close

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Rooftop bar looked great, however it is always busy with outside guests so we had to go over the road to mozambiques which also had a rooftop serving great food and drink. Just slightly disappointing that we couldn't use our own rooftop and think as a paying guest you should have priority.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Steps from the ocean

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Very friendly and accommodating staff. The breakfast is excellent and the hotel is steps away from the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, cute hotel next to the ocean.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Super friendly staff!! All our needs were met quickly and with a smile!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
Thank you!!! We appreciate you taking the time to review us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Location was good right on the strip for easy walks, breakfast was good and the lady running the breakfast was awesome. Not many breakfast tables especially outside on the little patio which was disappointing. The main hotel lobby had a weird smell, like entering a stable. It was awful, the rest of the hotel was ok. The small room was definitely small and rather dark, could barely fit two luggages open in the room so it would've been annoying to spend more than 1 night there. The bathroom had a huge cobweb and spider in the top corner of the shower that we had to take care of. Compared to other locations in southern California this hotel was not good value. The upstairs bar has a great view but be careful of happy hour because the waitresses won't tell you if your order is part of happy hour or not, that would have been nice to know I was paying $$ for my margaritas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us. I am so sorry that we fell short and look forward to making improvements. We hope you will give us another opportunity to take care of you in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Loved it here! Hotel room was not huge, but exactly what we needed. A super short walk to a gorgeous beach. Lovely rooftop bar with an incredible view of the ocean. The hotel restaurant, K'ya Bistro, was delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Katie G. , Hotel Management
We are thrilled about your review and the 5 stars. We are so happy you had an opportunity to eat at K'ya... it is definitely our hidden gem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Nice room but very small. The plumbingwas a bit noisy, we could hear when someone else was running water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solid hotel great location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Great location right by the beach. Solid overall hotel. Little bit pricey but you get what you pay for with the location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Location, Location can't beat where the Hotel is.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Rooms are very modest and quaint. Lighting in our room was very dim. Shower handle was very loose. bathroom window wouldn't lock. The deck top is awesome!