Ratings based on 1,005 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Great experience

Posted Apr 26, 2017
This was a great hotel, very clean the rooftop bar was great! The staff were very accommodating we were allowed to check in early and they send us a complimentary champagne got my husband they even made us a reservation for their restaurant downstairs! It was a great experience, we will come back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Not a cookie cutter hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
This was a great little hotel with a funky charm that set it apart. Our room was small but clean. The rooftop deck was a perfect place for a late afternoon or evening drink, popular with the locals. The breakfast was good, and the main floor restaurant had excellent food. Just a half block from a beach access too. We were glad we stayed here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding!!!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
We stayed 2 nights and the hotel is excellent. My 2nd stay and both times perfect. Breakfast in the morning is excellent. The hotel has an excellent feel, a lot of action in the lobby at night but not disturbing, just a nice ambience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, walk to beach

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Adequate, very good breakfas! Building musty smell due to older and near water. Spanish decor makes it distinctive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Close to the beach, but...

Posted Apr 12, 2017
I did not get the Oceanview room that I paid extra for and booked online when I arrived. Instead I got a room next to the staircase that led to the entrance of the rooftop bar, and the view was to the other side of the hotel and the courtyard not the ocean. Since the room was next to the entrance to the bar I was not able to sleep because of all the noise from the bar and people going up and down the stairs. I was woken up early due to all the noise in the courtyard while breakfast was served. The bathtub was full of stains and a black rim inside the tub, and rusty on the top. This was supposed to be a mini vacation to relax and enjoy the view of the ocean and the ocean itself. Yes the hotel is a walking distance to the beach and that was probably the only great thing about staying there, but that's the only good thing besides the nice staff. My last day there they were able to change my room after multiple complaints but not until the late afternoon around 3pm. The room they gave me was better than the first and with the Oceanview I had paid for, but it had a really noisy AC that I was not able to turn on over night because of how loud it was, and the window was broken so you could not open it. Also, the robe they provided in the bathroom was full of stains. If you're a party person and don't mind the noise this is the hotel for you, but not if you want to relax and be noise free especially since it was expensive. For my first time visiting Laguna Beach this was a bad choice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Canada Flintridge, CA

The Casita was awesome!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We stayed in a little house called the Casita separate from the hotel in the back alley. It was fabulous! Three bedrooms, beautiful living room with dining area, fully stocked kitchen, and two bathrooms. A U-shaped Casita built around a lovely outdoor patio – we could not see the beach but we were steps away. The furnishings were lovely .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Bear Lake, Ca.

Nice hotel with great location near the beach

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, free parking and free breakfast. Roof top bar is great.
Cons: Our room really could use a paint job, but it was charming
Location: Just a few steps to the staircase that goes to the beach. Laguna is a great location with trendy shops and restaurants. Tons of natural beauty.
We enjoyed our stay here very much. the location can't be beat. Ocean view room, and just a few steps to the stairs at the end of the cul de sac, that go to a quiet beach. Hotel provides free beach chairs, towels and umbrellas. The hotel has a Bohemian/ Spanish vibe which was great. Lobby is lovely, with fireplace, bar and candles. The roof top bar is AMAZING. 180 degree ocean view, good appetizers available and a busy spot. Free breakfast included was delicious. The room was nice. Beautifully upgraded bathroom. This is an old hotel....1929. Room had a large tv, but portable air conditioner on the floor and older windows etc. Very charming- we liked it a lot, but not modern except for the bathroom. We would definitley go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Stayed one night on business...close to beach, great rooftop bar, hotel is a bit dated...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
You can hear clearly through the walls. I could hear the kitchen and other people talking while we were in our room with the door closed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Cute hotel, noisy room

Posted Mar 13, 2017
This is a small hotel on the main street adjacent to the shore, a bit removed from the center of Laguna Beach, with a roof deck bar. The rooms are small and bathrooms are tiny. Beds are very soft (not in a good way) and there is no sound barrier so everything can be heard from the hallway. Rooms on the first floor, which is one floor down from the lobby, are awful because the service elevator and employee area is there and is incredibly noisy at all hours. We only stayed for one night, otherwise would have demanded a room change. Front desk was not very sympathetic or apologetic, so we left with a negative impression, resulting in this review.