Ratings based on 996 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Bear Lake, Ca.

Nice hotel with great location near the beach

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly staff, free parking and free breakfast. Roof top bar is great.
Cons: Our room really could use a paint job, but it was charming
Location: Just a few steps to the staircase that goes to the beach. Laguna is a great location with trendy shops and restaurants. Tons of natural beauty.
We enjoyed our stay here very much. the location can't be beat. Ocean view room, and just a few steps to the stairs at the end of the cul de sac, that go to a quiet beach. Hotel provides free beach chairs, towels and umbrellas. The hotel has a Bohemian/ Spanish vibe which was great. Lobby is lovely, with fireplace, bar and candles. The roof top bar is AMAZING. 180 degree ocean view, good appetizers available and a busy spot. Free breakfast included was delicious. The room was nice. Beautifully upgraded bathroom. This is an old hotel....1929. Room had a large tv, but portable air conditioner on the floor and older windows etc. Very charming- we liked it a lot, but not modern except for the bathroom. We would definitley go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Stayed one night on business...close to beach, great rooftop bar, hotel is a bit dated...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
You can hear clearly through the walls. I could hear the kitchen and other people talking while we were in our room with the door closed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Cute hotel, noisy room

Posted Mar 13, 2017
This is a small hotel on the main street adjacent to the shore, a bit removed from the center of Laguna Beach, with a roof deck bar. The rooms are small and bathrooms are tiny. Beds are very soft (not in a good way) and there is no sound barrier so everything can be heard from the hallway. Rooms on the first floor, which is one floor down from the lobby, are awful because the service elevator and employee area is there and is incredibly noisy at all hours. We only stayed for one night, otherwise would have demanded a room change. Front desk was not very sympathetic or apologetic, so we left with a negative impression, resulting in this review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great view of beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Rooftop was great, bed was very comfortable!
Location: Trendy shops and great walking beach
Spent our last night in LA here..excellent choice to walk around Laguna in the morning then drive slowly down the coast towards the airport..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Very nice hotel bujt disappointing very poor room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A total treat - would definitely stay again!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Everything. Staff were all delightful, on-site restaurants (plus breakfast only for hotel guests) great, rooms very comfortable. Just lovely all round
Cons: Nothing really. Everything was great.
Location: Super convenient to rest of Laguna Beach and close to beach. We went for a long walk to the other end of Laguna along the beach.
I had business in Irvine and then a few days later in San Diego so rather than fly back to Seattle in between, my husband joined me and we looked for somewhere to stay for the in between days. Luckily we found La Casa del Camino, a total delight. The room was great (sound of ocean all night), comfy bed, nice bathroom and then the 2 on-site restaurants which both have creative/interesting menus. Service was fantastic and the food delicious. Then the complete surprise, the included breakfast. Better than some we've paid $30+ for and Elena, the host, just delightful. If you are in the area don't stay anywhere else. Just note they will give you a complimentary appetizer in The Rooftop Lounge or a small plate at K'ya Bistro Bar for checking in on Facebook/Instagram with a photo; wde didn't see this until we checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Durango, CO

Trendy hotel above Laguna Beach.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Great location with views of laguna beach and the pacific ocean. Love the food, drinks and views from the rooftop deck. The staff are great!
Cons: Rooms can be noisy due to all the foot traffic to the rooftop deck & lobby bar. Older windows allow wind, dust and noise into the rooms.
Location: A short walk down to the beach to enjoy all beach activities. Plenty of shopping & dining opportunities abound along the PCH and nearby streets.
The entire staff at La Casa del Camino are extremely attentive to meet your needs. During my several stays I've had several special requests which they have accommodated without hesitating. Each room has its own unique theme and decor. A number of the rooms have spectacular views of the beach & ocean. The rooftop deck & restaurant has one of the best views in Laguna and is always a hopping place; particularly during the amazing sunsets. The lobby is a great place to relax in the evening with a drink by the fireplace while listening to live music. The restaurant on the main level is open every night and also available for take out orders to the beach or room service. I look forward to my next visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The room we were given felt like a closet turned into a bedroom. It was so small that the mattress was placed horizontal to the bed frame since there wasn't enough room to set it up right. The TV did not work. When we asked for a different room we were told they were full and didn't have any other rooms. Keep in mind I made my reservation weeks earlier. We were also told they don't normally like to rent that room. It also was above the band and was so noisy we could not sleep. I was told that since I booked with Expedia is was already paid for and they couldn't reduce the charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Good location with a romantic rooftop bar. I stayed in the art gallery room. The nighttime staff was wonderful and so welcoming. Walk out of the hotel and in a few steps you're on the sand. Completely loved all of the windows in my room!