Ratings based on 1,503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport, great great stay for a night

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: checking the outlets in the rooms to see if all of them work. Some did not both times I stayed.
Location: Not sure of things to do as I headed more toward the beach cities the next morning. I think I saw an IKEA not to far away though?
Hotel was clean and overall pleasant, I have stayed hear twice and it is perfect for getting in from the airport. Bathrooms were clean but not so great lighting. Beds were small for two people but doable for a night or two. Pool was pleasant for a night time swim, water was warm and pleasant but the pool closes early. I noticed both times that parking fills up quick so you have to park a little far from your room sometimes. Did not get up early enough to try the complimentary breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

The floor is too dirty.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
In general this hotel is Ok, but the floor is very dirty for the room that I have.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy location for the area were were visiting

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Wifi works and locations
Cons: No it's fine
Location: Nice restaurant next door
Nice hotel with a restaurant next door and good breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Great overnight business stay. Close to many restaurants and mall.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smoking Room

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Accommodate your guest. Change shower curtains, look very outdated. Update at least the bathrooms, can see rust/mildew on ceiling.
I asked for a non-smoking room. When I arrived the only rooms available I was told were smoking. I had to sleep in a smoking room for 2days. Terrible smell. Not sure how a hotel can do this to a guest. Isn't there health hazards with doing that? Due to this I will never stay at La Quinta Inn and will never stay at these hotels. I have asked my company to remove them from the preferred list. This is the first time I have experienced this in all my years of travel both personal and business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing LaQuinta. We truly regret that our accommodations did not meet your expectations but mostly we regret the bad odor you mentioned and that we were unable to resolve the issues to your satisfaction while staying with us. I will share your review with the management staff. Thank you for sharing. LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from JP akita

行動しやすいホテル

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: リクエストに答えてくれる。
Location: 車移動の人には最高の場所。 ハンティントンビーチまで10分 サウスコーストプラザまで5分
とても使いやすいホテルです。 いつもは反対側のホテルを利用するのですが今回は こちらを選びました。 405freeway隣で周りには日系スーパー、レストラン、 色々と使いやすい場所でした。 敷地内にフーターズがあるのが最高でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster,Ca

Close to Oc Fair

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Its ok. Not best experiene,but will do Floors look dirty in bthrm. Sheets were clean. Omg best breakfast waffles ever. Next to hooters so thats a good thing. Pool was warm and nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old smelly hotel, it's the UN w guests

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Staff was great and nice, and helpful. A high majority of visitors here are captaining international international people and hey struggle w English language, staff was very patient. The other thing a large contingent of foreign visitors do, SMOKE. My non smoking room reeked of a cloud of Virginia Slims. No to mention the hotel might as well be situated on the 405 freeway. Fine dining at Hooters is located next door. Great staff, hotel is obsolete. You get what you pay for in Orange County. There are no hidden gems and good discounted places. If it's inexpensive in Orange County it's gonna suck, trust me
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback about our La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa. We’re sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. We’ll share your comments with our staff so that we may improve our operation and prevent similar situations from happening to other travelers. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with our team. We hope you’ll once again choose La Quinta Inn and Suites for your lodging needs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Jul 19, 2016
I read the negative reviews but reality is worst. Should not listing this facility on Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback about our La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa. We’re sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. We’ll share your comments with our staff so that we may improve our operation and prevent similar situations from happening to other travelers. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with our team. We hope you’ll once again choose La Quinta Inn and Suites for your lodging needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

OK for traveling

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Nice staff.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: The In and out restaurant is nearby.
Nice staff. La Quinta is close to I-405 for easy freeway access. Breakfast is OK. If you looking for a decent breakfast then I'd suggest for a near by McDonald. Overall, it's OK for the trip.