Ratings based on 824 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Nice hotel,excellent location, helpful receptionis

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Location is very nice, close to main attractions.
Helpful concierge made our stay wonderful. Their tips to visit the attraction sites and ,shopping areas were helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice experience

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The staff is very helpful and the accommodations are clean and very nice overall,very good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Have sunbath bed improved. Need air conditioning in bathroom.
Very good hotel, very pretty and well kept. Service and staff is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from University Place Wa

Great location nice view from room

Posted Aug 26, 2015
I will definitely stay there again. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Lots of restaurants close by and valet parking service was great. Totally worth the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Clemente

Warning for brides and grooms!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
I never review hotels but I believe in your wedding night is really special so I wanted to warn brides and grooms about our experience. We got married on Saturday and after an amazing night of dancing and celebrating, we drove to this hotel for our wedding night. We get there to find out that they have given our room away and no longer had any rooms available. Fast forward 40 minutes later, standing in the lobby in a wedding dress at 2am, they told us that they are kicking a family out of their room to give us their room. I didn't even know what to make of this. I had made reservations 2 months in advance and called to let them know we will be checking in late after the wedding. They reassured me they had made a note in their computer and my reservation guaranteed a king size bed. That night the manager told us that the word guaranteed is actually loosely used! That they just say things like that in their reservations but don't abide to it. We couldn't believe our experience. Did we get a free room or a nice bottle of wine for the night as an apology? Nope. Instead they gave us a room in between two families that knew each other with children who were screaming in the hallway at 7am trying to coordinate breakfast plans. Oh and they gave us free valet. Ha. The manager didn't apologize and instead said l should be happy he found me a room. Seriously, this was appalling and shameful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2015 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
SJK, thank you for sharing your experience. We pride ourselves as one of the premier destinations for newlywed couples and sincerely apologize for your less than stellar experience. We take your feedback and comments with the utmost importance and your will be addressed immediately. Our Resort is synonymous with providing an exceptional experience for our guests, we hope you'll reconsider giving Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa another opportunity in the future to restore your faith.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, CA

Spouse's "Getaway" While I Worked

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The bar area on the lobby floor has an outdoor area that gets an abundance of afternoon sun which makes for a nice spot to have a drink.
Cons: It's probably a lost cause, but the Wi-Fi should be free and let people choose to pay for the amenities they want are now included on the resort fees
Location: The hotel is close to the harbor and the ocean. Dining in Dana Point and San Juan Capistrano are but a few minutes away from the hotel.
I had a two day business engagement in the area so we made reservations at the Laguna Cliffs so my wife could enjoy her stay while I worked. For the most part, we were very pleased. I can't recall the type of room I booked but the hotel staff person who checked us in said she was "upgrading" us. The room was on the bottom level right outside the pool. The location did not present a problem (hence, we did not ask to move) but there was music at the pool until 10 or so. The hotel is very plush, has beautiful views of the harbor and the ocean and we enjoyed the outdoor drinking/eating area for a late afternoon drink. The breakfast menu also provided choices (just not the buffet) and the wait staff there was very friendly and provided excellent service. The hotel personnel who retrieved our car were also very pleasant and prompt and asked us routinely if we needed directions, etc. The hotel rates were reasonable for the type of hotel it is but be prepared for a plethora of add on fees--resort fees, overnight parking fees, a "refrigerator" fee, etc. Notwithstanding that, if we were ever in the area, we would certainly consider returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quiet for a large facility

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: location and grounds. clean rooms
Cons: mostly the water pressure - could not wash soap out of my hair
Location: GREAT location for a walk in the morning - bordering the park and marina. some restaurants in walking distance, and movies and shops a short drive
noisy airconditioning and placed in a way that you were in the arctic if you sat in the chairs in the room to work. horrible water pressure in the shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such a nice weekend away!

Posted Aug 18, 2015
We would 100% stay here again!!! Everything was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Needed: Hotel Shuttle to the beach! Once more: provide hourly (?) transportation to the Beach! (It's difficult to climb back up, particularly for older people!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your review. Your opinino is very important to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Really great resort hotel!

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Beautiful quiet setting
Cons: The bed
Location: Easy drive to Laguna Beach. Just across the road from a really nice state park on the beach. Easy drive in to Newport.
We had a really lovely 3 night stay. The setting is beautiful and the grounds are so pretty. The pool was quiet with lots of seating and shade available. Lovely patio for breakfast. The room was really nice with a shaded balcony and two chairs. The bed could have been a little better, but it was OK. Overall, we were really pleasantly surprised. I hope to go back another time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was memorable. We appreciate all of your compliments and do hope you visit us again the next time you are in Southern California.