Ratings based on 1,338 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location. Nice pools

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Slacking on Guest Service 's relating request to appropriate departments. Such as Housekeeping Service and Bell Services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Has huge marina close by

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, beatiful marina in walking distance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quiet hotel, great views

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: great rooms, quiet and amazing views of the ocean
Cons: nothing. Legitimately nothing
Location: We went sea kayaking in Laguna Beach, shopping downtown and walked Doheny Beach
Celebrated our wedding anniversary here and we're very glad we made this choice. Very quiet hotel - the place was at capacity, had a wedding and we still experienced a quiet and relaxing weekend. Very helpful staff, really enjoyed our entire experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Little Rock AR

Great hotel, view of the harbour.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Loved the staff especially Brianna who sent champagne and fruit to our room. We were celebrating our 28th anniversary. Linda, the concierge was great
Cons: Our mattress was a little firm.
Location: The concierge, Linda directed us to some shopping places within our budget in nearby San Clemente. We found some thrift stores that were great.
Great location, near freeway and PCH. Beautiful grounds and pool and view. Great restaurants. Linda the concierge was very helpful and friendly. Brianna at the front desk was a jewel. The waiter in the Starbucks on location was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and happy anniversary. We are delighted to hear that our staff was able to assist you and we couldn't be more pleased to hear that you had a very memorable experience at the resort. We hope you visit us again, we'd love to welcome you back.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under-staffed

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Valet was great, Bell desk was great. Vue was good. Kids pool and family activities were awesome.
Cons: Front desk procedures and improved staffing on holidays for front desk, food and beverage and housekeeping.
Basically I spent the entire holiday waiting and being annoyed. I arrived at 2pm to get an early check-in, didn't get into my room until 5pm, an hour after guaranteed check-in . There were only 2 front desk workers there when I arrived. There was a long line but random people skipped the line and walked up to the front desk to ask questions and instead of the front desk asking them to wait in line, they helped that person. Of course, everyone in line was frustrated and this happened repeatedly. I had to get in line 4 times before I got my room. At the pool bar, there was 1 bartender on staff. I waited 30 minutes to get a drink and sign my check. But wait it gets better, there was no chairs at the pool, so we sat on towels on the ground which was fine but then someone came and picked up the towels and my daughter's shorts - never to be seen again. The gift shop had a sign up that it was closed and would reopen which happened at least 45 minutes after the sign said it would. The Vue restaurant had good food and service, except a few hiccups including the server spilling a glass of ice water all of my daughter and the food runner holding our fries while he got some older woman's phone number - entertaining but awkward. I ended up getting up and asking him for our food. If this hotel wants to charge and put themselves in the same caliber as other local 5 star hotels then they need a big customer service improvement and all hands on deck for big holidays.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We want to take a moment and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Our intention is to make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible and we clearly missed the mark. We apologize for the wait time you experienced and as you mentioned, it was a very busy holiday weekend at the resort and our staff was working as efficiently as they could. We will be sure to share your comments with our team. We usually receive many fine compliments from our guests regarding our friendly and responsive staff. We hope you look upon this incident as an exception and not the norm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We had a great stay - Know that you will have an additional $36 a night for parking - Great location and great views
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not provide the room we paid for

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Paid for too with 2 double beds and got room with one bed and view of parking lot
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We regret that we did not have any king rooms available for you. Unfortunately, we do not guarantee bed types, we do accept requests. Due to high occupancy we did not have any king rooms available. We appreciate your understanding. Please know that in the future, you can book ocean-view, partial ocean-view and pool view rooms and those are guaranteed. Thank you again for your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden costs

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Don't bother with this hotel. We chose it since it was a good price on Expedia, but upon arrival you get hit with a $37 valet parking fee which you can't avoid as there is no parking anywhere else within walking distance. The rooms are fine but tired. Then in the morning you get hit with a "resort fee" for $27, so the room rate you thought was an ok deal has now jumped up $64. We would have chosen a different hotel had we known it would be that much more per night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize if you were unaware of the valet only service and resort fees. For the guest’s convenience, we clearly state that we provide valet service only on our website. We also state all of the fees on our website as well as the confirmation e-mail. We hope that this did not pose an inconvenience to you in any way. Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice resort - close to beach & marina

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Two pools, family friendly, beach within walking distance.
Cons: Expensive valet parking, maybe another dinner option at the hotel?
Location: Marina and beach are both close by, but you need to make it down the hill. Nowhere nearby to park (except for restaurants and the marina for 2 hours)
Had a great 3-night stay at the Laguna Cliffs Marriott. We did not realize how close the hotel was to the marina (shops, restaurants) until the final night, but enjoyed dinner and ice-cream down there - however it's a little bit of a hike down those stairs. The pizza joint in the marina is the best in town (come hungry) and the beach down the street was fun as well. We drove up to Laguna (~30 mins with some traffic), but the parking was terrible and it was way too packed! So we drove right back to Dana point where it's a lot calmer and much more family-friendly. Overall I would say this was a very pleasant resort; not too over the top but worth the higher price (although the parking is ridiculous - $37 a night for valet and there really isn't a way around it), and the hill makes it tough to walk down to restaurants, etc with the family. I would stay here again but most likely would not rent a car and just taxi/uber to dinners.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Nice but it is overrated no way 4.3 I would give it 3.5 Max
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Ellie, Hotel Management
Thank you for you review! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for being our guest!