Ratings based on 1,318 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to everything in Dana Point

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Cons: the minibar items are pricey
we walked everywhere - to the harbor, lantern area, shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Beauty and convenience close to the beach

Posted Jun 25, 2017
I was traveling with my 4 yr old son so I booked this hotel strictly because or the kids pool/splash pad that was advertised on the website. When we checked in, I was notified that the kids pool was under construction. Bummer! Check in was easy, we could walk to the beach and the trolley stop is right on the hotel driveway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great location-Terrible Rooms-read all fine print

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The lobby and location make you feel you are at a 5 star hotel. Room (resort view) overlooked old roof with weeds and parking lot. Rooms need to be renovated, furniture was peeling, light broke, and every time AC kicked on it sounds like a tropical storm was going through room. Great location and pool though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by Ellie Apostolova, Hotel Management
Dear Cari, Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that you had a few maintenance issues in your guest room. Please be assured this incident has been addressed with our Director of Housekeeping so he can personally review this guestroom with his team and provide the appropriate training to ensure this does not happen again in the future. As you can imagine, the upkeep of our guestrooms is of the utmost importance and we have a detailed maintenance program in place to ensure the quality and cleanliness of each guestroom is always of the highest quality. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests and we hope you will look upon this as an isolated incident and not the norm. It is our daily intent to ensure each guest’s stay is enjoyable, relaxing and a memorable experience and we regret these shortfalls put a damper on your visit to our resort. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baldwin Park, CA.

Very nice, I would definitely recommend it.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
My family had a great time, and I liked that the resort was kid friendly. Great atmosphere. The movie night was fun, the kids club is a good idea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear that you had a great time with your family at our resort. We are happy that you were able to enjoy all the amenities during your stay. We hope your children had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Crescenta, CA

Great location for Doheny Blues Festival!

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable large rooms. Excellent service.
Cons: Disappointed that there was a hotel resort fee of $25 per day. Didn't use any of the resort features so this was an added cost to be aware of.
Location: Dana point marina, great beaches, easy drive to San Clemente or Laguna Beach as well.
Beautiful views all around and easy walk down the hill to restaurants and shops in the marina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Very clean and very comfortable ggggghhhhhhhhjjjjjjj
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach

Doheny Weekend

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: The best pillows ever !
Location: Easy walk to the marina.
A great location for a weekend at the blues festival. Wished we had more time to spend at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Mother's Day Weekend

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: NOthing
Wonderful hotel near the beach Isolated on top of the hill
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you spent your Mother's Day Weekend with us and that everything was to your liking. We hope you visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice Hotel, Great for families.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: We liked all the kid friendly amenities.
Cons: Restaurant could use a little improvement in quality.
Location: Great location close to beach and other restaurants.
Great experience with the family, lots of activities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty location

Posted May 15, 2017
When we check in about 1445 our room was not ready it takes us 1.5 hrs to wait coz the room was still dirty the customer services was so slow
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Ellie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Our guaranteed check-in time is 4 p.m. and while we do our very best to accommodate early check-in requests, we may not be able to accommodate them on high occupancy dates. We hope you will give us another opportunity and visit us again when your travels bring you to Dana Point.