Ratings based on 1,105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Beautiful resort with amazing views!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the views, the cleanliness, the design and location.
Cons: Nothing...top notch! I wasn't satisfied with the location of my original room and they accommodated me immediately...no questions asked.
Location: Beach with kayak and jet ski rentals just down the hill. You can even rent bikes from the resort for two hours at no additional cost.
This resort is top notch! From arrival to departure we were treated like royalty. The staff is the epitomy of professional, the accommodations are amazing and the views are breathtaking! Only regret is that I couldn't stay longer...but I will be going back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach getaway

Posted Jul 25, 2016
If u planning to enjoy nearby beach , please, be aware it's not equipped with anything and pretty far away especially if u r bringing young kids or older ppl . Hotel does not have a designated area or shuttle to bring u their . The road back to the hotel is pretty steep . Be aware . Staff is very friendly and helpful . Rooms r spacious and comfortable .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort worth

Very nice resort !!

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Honestly one of the nicest resorts I ever stayed at. Staff went above and beyond to accommodate at every turn. Extremely nice and helpful staff. Only thing I would suggest is to allow people to do some things on their own. Everything was valet' by the staff all the way down to getting the luggage cart to check out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A Great, New San Diego Hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: It's modern, convenient look and features.
Cons: Cheaper daily parking prices.
Location: It's up the hill a bit from the Gas Lamp district and good shopping, so bring your walking shoes.
Phenomenal, contemporary hotel - the modern designs and furnishings are very cool. Super service, marvelous staff, and the rooms are very forward-thinking. Even though it's a walk from the Gas Lamp District, about .5 miles, I highly recommend this hotel. Welcome to the downtown San Diego neighborhood!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Staff, Older Facilities, Amazing Gym

Posted Jul 21, 2016
A charming stay that had its pros and cons. I enjoyed the hotel but the facilities could definitely use a facelift. For example, the rooms are great, but the washrooms feel very old and dated. So some renovations could really be in order. On the other hand, the workout / gym facility is one of the best I've seen in a hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Accommodating and friendly

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Was staying here for work so didn't get to enjoy much of what the hotel had to offer. The staff however were lovely and very helpful which made for a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Dan. We are happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and pleasant. We appreciate your compliments regarding our staff service and we hope that your meeting was a success! We look forward to welcoming you back for business and/or pleasure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced but decent

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The hotel is decent, our room was not the cleanest and our view from our room was horrible. We were only given 2 towels with our family of 4 which was also inconvenient to have to keep waiting for towels to shower. The views out front are pretty. We had to park a mile away which was very difficult with two small children. The beach was also a very long walk to get to which was disappointing. I did not feel that we got our money's worth in this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pomona, CA

Beautiful views and great location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location
We stayed at the Marriott with about 40 family/friends for my daughter's wedding. Staff was friendly, location was great. Rooms were average size...ask for better pillows. Food and drinks were good but expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Rebecca. Congratulations on your daughter's wedding. We are happy to hear that you and your guests had a nice stay at the resort. We hope you visit us again in the future, we'd love to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views. Excellent staff

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Staff was welcoming and helpful. Great fitness center. Food and drinks were delicious at the Vue. Room service food was great. $37 parking fee extreme
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. We are happy that you enjoyed the fitness center and enjoyed your dining experience at Vue Restaurant and through in-room dining. We hope you visit us again the next time you are in Dana Point, CA.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Vegas traveler loves Dana Point

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: The view and vicinity to The ocean and Dana Point is great . Restaurants are good but pricey . Like the hotel a lot but needs slight improvements.
Cons: Upgrade rooms and carpets need to be cleaned or changed . Upgrade to different rooms needs to be clarified better and pool area needs more chairs .
Location: Loved the area and location of hotel . I would recommend the hotel to my friends and family . Many good eats and great beaches nearby .
Love the property but it's time for the hotel to remodel a little . Improve pool situation on holidays by buying or renting out more pool chairs . Staff was not informed on chair policy at all. Chaos . Lol .