Ratings based on 1,133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LONDON, UK

Fabulous

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Love this hotel it's beautiful and so tranquil and quiet. Situated on a hill with fab views for miles along the coast. Our room was spacious with a good size terrace and views over ocean and the park where there are yoga sessions each morning. The 2 pools are both very nice with hot spas and fab views. I really couldn't fault it . . . bliss.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My favorite place, but need pool upgrades badly

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: The view is absolutely the very best!
Cons: Pool area - needs to be kept clean and should upgrade chair pads.
Location: Yoga in the park every morning. Olamendi's. Bike the beach!
We've been going to the Laguna Cliffs Marriott for 20 years and it has been and still is my favorite get away. We book a room every time there's a deal (which could be a little more often for me:) Although the hotel has done some big and little upgrades throughout the hotel through the years.... I have to say, it's time to upgrade the pool furniture. Our last trip, Aug 14 -15 was to celebrate our anniversary. Usually hotel staff does a little something special for anniversaries, but not this time, which was a bit disappointing when spending $350+ per night. We loved the new furniture in the patio bar area and enjoyed our room as always, but the time we spent at the pool was not great. The whole area was a mess. I understand - it's summer - it's busy season, but sweep up the floors, pick up the trash, wash down the decking, and please get new chair pads!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Little dated decor and digital type options

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Little dated. Digital type iphone hookups was non existint.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
It was awesome!! We will definitely be back!! Thank you thank you!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We look forward to welcoming you back! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Staff was unbelievable. 1st class resort with 1st class staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review, we appreciate your compliments regarding our 1st class staff and 1st class resort. We hope you visit us again soon, we'd love to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Beach CA

Nice hotel but not what we expected.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Not the best for a family - the hotel is too much of a convention destination and the hotel was very busy during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Front Desk Manager , Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Lloydc, Thank you for submitting your feedback. We truly value your opinion and it is essential to make both our product and service better. I apologize that you did not find the resort fitting for your family. We strive to make it a family fun destination with both the Family pool and our Kahuna Laguna Kids Club movie nights. Thank you for staying with us and we would love to welcome back you and your family next time. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Aug 14, 2016
excellent resort , but problems with wifi connectivity
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello GLC, Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you had an excellent time. Should you have issues with your wifi in the future please dial 0 and we can have a technician work through the connection issues you experienced. Warm Regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing weekend

Posted Aug 10, 2016
I reserved a room with a balcony and we arrived we were told that reservations are not guaranteed. Then don't accept my reservation. Nothing to do in the vicinity of the hotel. The nearby beach was crowded and not clean. The bathtub didn't drain and the shower had was barely dripping water. you could barely wash off body shampoo let alone get shampoo and conditioner out of your long hair. Very disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that your experience with us was unsatisfactory. Unfortunately, we do not gaurantee balcony's when booking, it is only a request. Due to occupancy levels, sometimes we can not provide the request that was made. We do guarantee room types such as pool view, resort view, ocean view, etc. Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the unacceptable maintenance of your guestroom. Please be assured this incident has been addressed with our Director of Housekeeping so he can personally review this guestroom with his team and provide the appropriate training to ensure this does not happen again in the future. As you can imagine, the upkeep of our guestrooms is of the utmost importance and we have a detailed maintenance program in place to ensure the quality and cleanliness of each guestroom is always of the highest quality. Usually we receive many fine compliments from our guests and we hope you will look upon this as an isolated incident and not the norm. It is our daily intent to ensure each guest’s stay is enjoyable, relaxing and a memorable experience and we regret these shortfalls put a damper on your visit to our resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from portland oregon

Hotel needs serious upgrading

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See above
Beautiful location and can be top hotel but really needs a major refurbishing . Why over price in the current condition, (especially when you add in resort fees and parking). Carpets warn, furniture warn and scratched from wear. Staff friendly but not real helpful. Example, the small refrig in room was not working. When I call reception I was told it really was not intended to keep much cooler than room temperature. When I said it simply was no different than the room temperature and no one would want to take a beer from it as it would be warm, he seem confused and just repeated the same message (?) He did say he would have someone look at it, but there was no indication anyone did nor did it ever get cooler. I didn't really care, but just a sample of a staff disconnected with the guest. Bottom line: find Another hotel for this price range ( until the upgrade).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We deeply regret that you had an usatisfactory stay with us. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we have shared your comments with our management team. Our goal is to create a very comfortable stay with us and we do aplogize if it seemed that there was miscommunication. We do hope you give Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa another chance in the future to restore your faith.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Visalia, Ca

Mixed reviews

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: It was beautiful and in a nice location
Cons: Billing issues/ double charged on my credit card/ issue not resolved after a week
Location: so much to do and so much to see/ I would love to go back next year.
I have mixed reviews about Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort, 1st I want to say it is a beautiful and relaxing location, the service was wonderful and all of the amenities were great, enjoyed the beach and the pool, room service and more. I had forgotten my wallet and they were very nice working with me to get my charges on my card, since I had driven 4 hours to get there. On the other hand please look at your charges after you stay here, I had $238.96 charged to my account two times and they say that they are aware of the problem but my funds have not yet been returned to my account after a week, when I have spoken with them and they said it would be fixed in 2 days. Now I am going to have to call my credit card company and report it so I can get my money back in the account. Besides the financial issues, we had a great stay. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the resort to be beautiful and the service to be wonderful. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with your billing but we are happy to hear that our team was able to assist you. We hope you visit us again in the future.