Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Best hotel I have ever stayed in!!!! Gold stars all the way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Hotel grounds, view, staff, spa, location, rooms.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Nearby to downtown Laguna, which has plenty of restaurants and shops.
We enjoyed every moment of our stay at the Montage. Every where we went, the staff greeted us so respectfully and politely, and were so accommodating in every way. We spent our first day at the spa, we got a couples massage and used the spa's outdoor area afterwards. I loved the amenities, and everything the spa had to offer was just perfect. That night we went to downtown Laguna for dinner, which is just a short drive away. And our second and last day, we spent lounging around the hotel and just enjoying the beautiful view and scenery. We loved the Loft restaurant; you can sit outside on the balcony and enjoy a beautiful view while you dine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

View of the ocean

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Very nice hotel,great location and fantastic staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Location to the ocean. Staff was excellent. The weather was great!
Cons: Room was in need of updating. Pricing of food and beverage was overpriced.
Location: Location to the ocean is excellent. Is not walking distance or near Center of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Overpriced. Overrated. Overhyped. Room decor, food, service: meh. Way to much money for midrange quality. There are so many better 5-star resorts for half the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overhyped and not worth the price

Posted Jul 2, 2016
You are crazy to spend approx $1000/night on this hotel. For the level of service, food, and decor, go to a Sandals resort for a fraction of the price and have a better stay. If you have the coins, take your money and rent a fully-staffed private villa who will cater to your every whim. I've stayed at nearly every 5-star on 2015-2016 list and the Montage is at the top end in cost but at the bottom end in guest's overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The location is phenominal
Cons: Staff was not consistent. There were some unbelievable people working there who are very good at their job and some the opposite.
Beautiful location. A little busy though. There were two weddings and a huge baby shower the weekend we were there. We had a ground level suite with a patio and we felt like we were in a fishbowl because the events were right off of our patio. Most of the staff were phenomenal and exceptionally good at their jobs. A few of the staff were a little clueless and contradicted their exceptional colleagues. The food was really exceptional. Perhaps the best resort food I have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Gorgeous! The spa is nice, but not worth the high prices. My reflexologist was yawning during the 90 minute service. I think when being escorted from waiting room to room they should refrain from loud talking outside rooms of customers getting services. Very distracting. Spa pool area is lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2015
The best location,close to the beach. Pool was excellent. Staff was exceptional. Food was good but excellent. All the facilities were 1st rate. I will go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Great hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Everything! We used the services of the hotel car several times - they will drop you off and pick you up anywhere within the city limits.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Laguna Beach is a beautiful, lively town, with lovely restaurants. The Pageant of the Masters is great, and the Mission at Capirstrano worth a visit.
We loved the Montage! We have stayed in many great hotels, and on this trip to California also stayed in the Biltmore Four Seasons in Santa Barbara, and Shutters in Santa Monica. The Montage was far and away the best of these three. The service was faultless, the hotel and surrounding grounds beautiful, and dining options excellent. The views are wonderful, and little touches (like a complimentary champagne in the room bar), make all the difference - great attention to detail. There is a 5 star restaurant in the grounds of the hotel - The Studio, which was great for a special occasion, but the more informal dining options were also great quality. Really, we couldn't find any faults! Well done Montage!