Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The hotel is simply lovely, elegant building in a perfect setting. Beautiful ocean and coastal views. The hotel is beautiful in both the common areas and the guest rooms. Everything is first rate and the staff was awesome. Well trained and friendly without being overly formal. The pool, the food service, all great. Terrific experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Staff and Service are Amazing. Very friendly.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Rooms are a little dated grout around sinks and tub is missing in places. Rooms a bit dated. Linen and bed are awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder

Perfect romantic get-a-way

Posted May 30, 2017
The food, service, facilities and location are as good as it gets! We just returned from a perfect four day get-a-way over Memorial Day weekend. Anna at the Spa pool made sure everything we wanted was taken care of and David at the Loft made our dinner there one of the best meals ever. Everyone goes out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. I honestly don't know if any hotel where we've receive better service. Spa treatments were fantastic, fitness classes were fun and practically private, Aliso Beach is just below the hotel and a prefect place for a morning run, the salt water lap pool is perhaps the most enjoyable place to swim laps ever! Even after 14 years, the Montage still stands out as one of the premier resorts in the courty. We'll be back!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

5 star hotel - except on Mondays

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Fantastic location and an excellent hotel but if you are planning a long weekend and want fine dining - look elsewhere as the main restaurant is closed on Monday. To make matters worse, "The Loft" alternative was fully booked too !!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

(almost) Perfect weekend getaway!

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Booked an overnight escape from LA for a little "me" time and the entire stay was superb (yoga class, swim at the spa pool, beach walk, pool time, excellent food at a nearby restaurant), marred only by a less-than-ideal night's sleep. The air conditioning in my room seemed to have a really hard time maintaining a constant temperature of 69....it would alternately blow freezing cold and then turn off after just a few minutes (only to turn back on again 10 minutes later), so the clicking and whooshing noises of the HVAC coming on and off so frequently kept waking me up from my otherwise restful sleep. Since it was 4-5am when the problem first woke me up, it was not an ideal time to call for engineering help. Service was otherwise excellent, especially the valets who worked hard & fast! One additional flaw: I ordered a 'mille feuile' dessert from The Loft to take back to my room after dinner and it was probably the most underwhelming dessert I've had in a while, especially considering the pricee...no need to keep it on the menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing resort perform location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing...however it is expensive
Location: Beaches, running pathways, hiking, best restaurants, shopping etc
The room had a beautiful beach view, staff are very attentive and are genuine with service and kindness. Resort has an amazing location and reputation. The outdoor grill for lunch has the most magical views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful sunsets, great spa

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Beautiful sunsets, great spa, everything was first class and super helpful and friendly staff. We will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Luxurious
Cons: Nothing!
Very luxurious if you can afford it! Enjoyed the scenic views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

fabulous hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Most beautiful view in all of SoCal. Service is top notch and food is superb. If you want luxury, this is your place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, California

Gorgeous hotel on beautiful Laguna coast

Posted Feb 20, 2017
This hotel is a modern day Hotel Del Coronado. Classic timeless quality and a superb location. The hotel is immaculate and the room was clean and comfortable. We had excellent room service, we enjoyed the lounge and we had an excellent brunch at Mosaic down by the pool. The only low point was The Loft restaurant which was surprisingly bad: poor service, poor communication, and tasteless food. Overall however - the Montage is top notch!