Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, California

Gorgeous hotel on beautiful Laguna coast

Posted Feb 20, 2017
This hotel is a modern day Hotel Del Coronado. Classic timeless quality and a superb location. The hotel is immaculate and the room was clean and comfortable. We had excellent room service, we enjoyed the lounge and we had an excellent brunch at Mosaic down by the pool. The only low point was The Loft restaurant which was surprisingly bad: poor service, poor communication, and tasteless food. Overall however - the Montage is top notch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona Ca

Top Class

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Everyone was very hospitable and pleasant! Amazing views and the rooms were very clean... 5 star hotel for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Best hotel I have ever stayed in!!!! Gold stars all the way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Weekend Getaway

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Hotel grounds, view, staff, spa, location, rooms.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Nearby to downtown Laguna, which has plenty of restaurants and shops.
We enjoyed every moment of our stay at the Montage. Every where we went, the staff greeted us so respectfully and politely, and were so accommodating in every way. We spent our first day at the spa, we got a couples massage and used the spa's outdoor area afterwards. I loved the amenities, and everything the spa had to offer was just perfect. That night we went to downtown Laguna for dinner, which is just a short drive away. And our second and last day, we spent lounging around the hotel and just enjoying the beautiful view and scenery. We loved the Loft restaurant; you can sit outside on the balcony and enjoy a beautiful view while you dine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

View of the ocean

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Very nice hotel,great location and fantastic staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Location to the ocean. Staff was excellent. The weather was great!
Cons: Room was in need of updating. Pricing of food and beverage was overpriced.
Location: Location to the ocean is excellent. Is not walking distance or near Center of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Overpriced. Overrated. Overhyped. Room decor, food, service: meh. Way to much money for midrange quality. There are so many better 5-star resorts for half the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overhyped and not worth the price

Posted Jul 2, 2016
You are crazy to spend approx $1000/night on this hotel. For the level of service, food, and decor, go to a Sandals resort for a fraction of the price and have a better stay. If you have the coins, take your money and rent a fully-staffed private villa who will cater to your every whim. I've stayed at nearly every 5-star on 2015-2016 list and the Montage is at the top end in cost but at the bottom end in guest's overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The location is phenominal
Cons: Staff was not consistent. There were some unbelievable people working there who are very good at their job and some the opposite.
Beautiful location. A little busy though. There were two weddings and a huge baby shower the weekend we were there. We had a ground level suite with a patio and we felt like we were in a fishbowl because the events were right off of our patio. Most of the staff were phenomenal and exceptionally good at their jobs. A few of the staff were a little clueless and contradicted their exceptional colleagues. The food was really exceptional. Perhaps the best resort food I have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Gorgeous! The spa is nice, but not worth the high prices. My reflexologist was yawning during the 90 minute service. I think when being escorted from waiting room to room they should refrain from loud talking outside rooms of customers getting services. Very distracting. Spa pool area is lovely.