Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

View of the ocean

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Very nice hotel,great location and fantastic staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs updating

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Location to the ocean. Staff was excellent. The weather was great!
Cons: Room was in need of updating. Pricing of food and beverage was overpriced.
Location: Location to the ocean is excellent. Is not walking distance or near Center of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach sunset but a bit overpriced

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on CheapTickets
Celeb sightings. We saw Tony Gonzales. Expensive cars on a busy day with everyone trying to catch a glimpse of the sunset. Rooms are small for the price. Opt for the Ritz instead. They do provide some nice things like free stuffed animals for the kids at check in and free baseball caps at checkout.
2 out of 5
by mark from santa barbara

Pay to Play

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was very nice and the staff attentive, but they are extremely overpriced. Upon being shown to our original room(at $900 daily rate) we were disappointed with the partial view of the water and the Pacific Coast Highway. We were told that booking thru a third party guarantees us their least attractive rooms, but for additional fees we could upgrade to an oceanview room for $100-200/night additional charge. Once settled we went to the pool and it was overridden by young screaming children, which persisted for our three days at the property. There was another pool, however it was not for the common guests, if you upgraded to spa treatments you were permitted to use the adult pool. The most peaceful area we could find was the public beach, where the hotel did provide lounges and umbrellas. the food available at the restaurants was very good, but you would expect that with $20 soup and $50 entrees and $20 cocktails.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
Incredible!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Overpriced. Overrated. Overhyped. Room decor, food, service: meh. Way to much money for midrange quality. There are so many better 5-star resorts for half the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overhyped and not worth the price

Posted Jul 2, 2016
You are crazy to spend approx $1000/night on this hotel. For the level of service, food, and decor, go to a Sandals resort for a fraction of the price and have a better stay. If you have the coins, take your money and rent a fully-staffed private villa who will cater to your every whim. I've stayed at nearly every 5-star on 2015-2016 list and the Montage is at the top end in cost but at the bottom end in guest's overall experience.
5 out of 5
by Suzanne from Santa Monica

An amazing stay!

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing weekend away- so relaxing. The hotel, our room, and view were absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing all over the property. We had dinner at the studio on property and the food was great as was the service. The food on property - at the pool, in the restaurants were great (my favorite was the halibut sandwich).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The location is phenominal
Cons: Staff was not consistent. There were some unbelievable people working there who are very good at their job and some the opposite.
Beautiful location. A little busy though. There were two weddings and a huge baby shower the weekend we were there. We had a ground level suite with a patio and we felt like we were in a fishbowl because the events were right off of our patio. Most of the staff were phenomenal and exceptionally good at their jobs. A few of the staff were a little clueless and contradicted their exceptional colleagues. The food was really exceptional. Perhaps the best resort food I have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
by Rachel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels