Ratings based on 1,044 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: having an ocean view was spectacular
Cons: there should be free parking for the hotel guests' cars! Golf course machines for cutting grass start too early and are very noisy!
Location: great location, next to fashion Island Mall
huge hotel, excellent staff and so helpful, convenient accommodation , great breakfast buffet but had to have more varieties for those not eating egg and meat!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Room was nice.
Cons: Redesign the bathrooms. Don't charge Resort fees to people that are handicapped and cannot use the amenities.
The bathroom were too small, however, the room was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location,Close to shopping, restaurants,beac

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Matt at front desk was awesome. Super helpful throughout our whole stay. Maintence totally on the ball. We had a shower head loose, they fixed it immediately. Great pool, loved it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Busy, friendly family type hotel- lots of weddings

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Friendly hotel, nice ocean views in the distance, busy pool area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marriott Hotel and Spa

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great except for the wifi in the room. It's included in the mandatory $20 fee on top of your nightly price. Wifi kept kicking off and I went to the front desk 3 times and they didn't help me....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
small room small shower not comfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Four Star? For what, location?!

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Dated property. I'm surprised Marriott would put their name on this place! I assume they bought the at some point in the past and they should have done a major overhaul before they put their name on it. Much of the place looks aged, the stucco finish on the exterior is horrid bad 70's, the hot tub didn't work and the layout is extremely clumsy. You have to walk though lots of long hollow corridors to get anywhere on the property including yo your room and to the restaurant. Lots of little details that are just not up to par also, such as, the electrical work on the exterior walls looks like it was done by a third-rate handyman in a third World country. Obviously these details are not a real big deal but it shows that the place isn't being run up to the standards of what I THOUGHT Marriott represents.... especially for what I paid!!!
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix,az

Close to Fashion Island/beach

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Service
Cons: Softer beds
Location: Great restaurants, shopping and the beach is a stone throw away. What's not to love.
Always have a great stay. Staff is helpful and attentive to your needs or make things right. Rooms are great but beds not so soft. Food/ service is always the best, remember it's a Marriott. Thanks again for a memorable anniversary.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Mediocre hotel next to an awesome shopping center.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel is located right across from the awesome Fashion Island Shopping Center. This was the best part about staying at this hotel.
Cons: The hotel rooms need to be renovated and the cleanliness of the rooms need to be improved.
Location: The hotel is located right across from the Fashion Island Shopping Center and 5 miles from the John Wayne Airport.
Hotel check-in time is 4pm. I arrived at 3:30pm. Front desk said my room was not ready yet and took down my phone # so they could call me when my room was ready. No one ever called. I had to go up to the front desk a couple of times to check on the status. I finally got my room at 5pm. It felt like a maze getting to my room - make a right, go up the elevator, make a left, go up another elevator, etc. My hotel room bathroom was a size of a shoe box. No outlets available for me to charge my phone in the room because they were all falling out of the wall or were not working. The ONE positive thing about my hotel room was the view - it faced directly in front of the golf course and you could also part of the ocean from a distance. The best part about staying at this hotel is being right across from the awesome Fashion Island Shopping Center.