Ratings based on 1,106 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az

Birthday Celebration

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The closeness to shopping, restaurants and Rogers Garden.
Cons: Better menu in bar area.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, Rogers Gardens ocean
This is our favorite place to stay. They're close to shopping, restaurants and the ocean is only a couple miles away. Always the best service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you, Teri! We're thrilled you enjoyed celebrating with us. From our location to our service, it sounds like our hotel is great for your travels. Thank you for your feedback on our bar menu as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: close to Balboa Island and Newport center
Cons: Shower is hard to get in and out of. Bathroom not very ergonomic
Bed was not that comfortable Room was quiet though
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. While we're glad you loved our location, we're sorry to hear that you didn't love some aspects of our accommodations. Thank you for providing us with your valuable input and we hope to welcome you back for a seamless stay in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over price for OK service

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Old and worn down
Cons: Include the parking in the price of the room. Have non-business folks be able to stay in the rooms closer to the spa and other facilities
Location: Shop and the beach
This is like any other hotel you can get for a much lower price. The room were just standard. The spa and other facilities where hard to get to. The bikes (if you can call them that) were just down right dangerous due to poor maintenance. At the desk we asked for a better room which it would cost an extra $100 a night. The food was so-so and had to wait for a long time. If you drive a car there, plan on paying $30 a night to park it. In short, save your money and go some place else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old ... not worth the money

Posted May 15, 2017
Building was too old and only lobby was nice. Room was pretty clean but small. Had no "real" balcony. Bed made squeaky sound. Overall, not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Joy W., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel, bed, and pricing and will share this with our team. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in the future for a flawless experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Plan on spending all your money on fees!!

Posted May 7, 2017
The front desk staff was nice. I hated the pool bar. I ordered 2 drinks that were poured in 8 oz plastic cups that amounted to 32.00. They added an 18% fee to the drink price. Horrible drinks!!! When checking out i went to get a cart and i was told i couldnt have one and that i needed to call someone to come get my luggage. I loved paying $30.00 a night in parking fees plus pay resort fees. I will never go back to this hotel as well as any Marriott hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
We're very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. While we're glad that you found our front desk team friendly, we're sorry that you didn't enjoy your drinks and weren't able to get a luggage cart. We appreciate you filling us in so we can address your concerns internally. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a five-star stay in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Close to everything or a short Uber ride away.

Posted May 3, 2017
The staff was so friendly and so helpful. You never had to go far to get a question answered. They arranged for a tour that normally took a minimum of 4 people but the tour place had such a good relationship with the Marriott that they picked up just us 2 people. Rooms were comfortable and clean and you could bounce a quarter off the made bed. Probably the nicest place I have ever stayed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay! From our staff to our guest rooms, it sounds like you enjoyed it all. We're thrilled you could go on your tour as well! We hope to welcome you back very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Great service. Great staff. Will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We're so thrilled that you loved our staff and their outstanding service. We're already looking forward to seeing you next time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

OK

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Free internet.
Location: Shopping, beaches, and restaurants
Internet only free in lobby. Bed linen not changed during a 6 day stay. The salon Perla (a vendor and not the Marriott) could use lessons in diversity. Great for shopping!!!!!! Great for sunshine!!! Location is perfect to outside interests other than the hotel or shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. While we're glad that you loved our location, we're sorry to hear that your experience was not five-star. You may be happy to hear for next time that we do offer complimentary in-room wi-fi to Marriott Rewards members who book directly. We hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great front desk staff!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Great location -close to the ocean and across the Fashion Island. We used the shuttle service to go to Corona Del Mar beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for your generous review, Sara! We're so glad you loved our location as well as our friendly service. We hope you'll join us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Califronia

So lovely!!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Location: Fashion Island for shopping and etc. Balboa Island for ocean view, boating, kayaking or just relaxing walk.
Everything was so GOOD!! Lovely stuff, tasty food, amazing view, big room, clean and so close to shopping/restaurants area! I'll recommend this hotel to everybody!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Joy W. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're thrilled you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, from our prime location to comfortable accommodations. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon for another fantastic stay!