Ratings based on 996 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Pleasant weekend getaway

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Relaxing weekend with visit at beach and swimming pool. The main pool was quite crowded. The second much quiter. Rooms are best for 2. The double rooms have two full beds. Somewhat small to accommodate four persons...Worth to include breakfast option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Poor value for money

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location close to Fashion Mall
Cons: Renovate the rooms and the facilities, and have Queen beds instead of double beds so two people can sleep properly in a bed..
Location: Location close to Fashion Mall
Expensive for what it actually offers.. It's old with high wear and tear.. No breakfast with the high room rate, and they even charge you a mandatory extra $20 for "offers" we did not use or need or looked for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

It was a great location and would stay there again

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: It was only 1/1/2 hours to San Diego and LA
The staff was excellent as well as the food. It was a lovely hotel and would recommend it to anyone going to Cali.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

nice hotel, convenient to shopping & restaurants

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: grounds, pool, restaurant, hotel staff, parking was easy.
Cons: room was small. Bed was lumpy.
Location: walking location to Fashion Island and convenient to Newport beaches which are 10 min away.
Room was small and beds were not up to par for a Marriott Spa Hotel. However the staff was friendly and helpful, the location was good for our needs and the pool and grounds were lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside County, CA

Nice view of ocean

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Liked the view! The staff was great and they tried to make us feel comfortable in an awkward situation!
Cons: Would have been better if we had double beds and a bath tub instead of shower only -:( Room too small/crowded to put a roll away bed
Location: Near a golf course and Fashion Island if you like to shop and eat out!! Very difficult to drive to with all the traffic and toll roads-:(
Nice room but not able to get get double beds with ocean view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016
We had a great experience was a lot of fun the staff was very friendly the people were also very friendly the scenery was beautiful the weather was beautiful the noise was great lightly but not loud we were able to be loud what we wanted to but we didn't disturb others. It was nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at a good location

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Good location, updated furnishings. Had a Starbucks on-site, and easy access to shops over at Fashion Island.
Location: Lots of things to do in Newport Beach. Drive around to discover.
Here for a conference. Got assigned a room in the garden area. It was a lot of walking to get to the lobby and all events; especially difficult for my wife to walk in formal gown. Room had updated furnishings, but it was a bit on the small side. We easily ran into one another while getting ready. Bath layout was weird--commode occupied premium space, and seemed larger than necessary. Shower area was functional. Desk had updated electronic outlets, as did the lamps (USB charger, extra outlets). Security box was large and helpful. Thing I like most in the room was the half-moon shaped ottoman. We were too busy to think about having the busted coffee maker changed, but having one working would have been nice. We did have to pay for Internet which was free for Rewards members; I am one, but just was so busy to think about that as well. We didn't get a chance to try any of the amenities like the pools, gym, and spa. Overall, it was a nice hotel but it did seem like everything was on the pricier side.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Fruit infused water in lobby was awesome. As well as the other refreshments. Valet and shuttle driver super awesome and helpful.
Cons: Our sink was backed up. The destination charges were bogus. Even if you didn't use them you were charged. 28 dollars just to park daily!
Location: Beach, balboa island, bike riding.
Overall enjoyed the experience. Enjoyed the free refreshments and courteous staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Great location and worked well for my trip to Newport Beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2016
I request a walk in shower and 2 beds in my room. Expedia advised this would be provide. I arrived at the hotel and they did not have s walk in shower with 2 beds in the room. One of the people in my party had a disibility and therefore needed the walk in shower.