Ratings based on 1,124 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Across the street from Fashion Island

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: location, location, location and great staff
Location: Right across from Fashion Island, corner of Newport Center and Santa Barbara.
I reserved the room for my daughter and her 2 best friends. They had wonderful time. The hotel is closed to Newport Beach and it's right across from Fashion Island, corner of Newport Center and Santa Barbara. Great hotel and staff. Tony
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for your glowing review! We loved hearing how much your daughter and her friends enjoyed their stay. From our location to our staff, we're so glad they loved it all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Valet staff, location.
Cons: This is an old outdated hotel. The room I stayed in had a floor that wasn't even level, and the bed wasn't either.
Location: Location great to Laguna, Newport Beach, restaurants, and shopping.
Horrible hotel, bad service, rooms are old and outdated, service from wait staff around pool area was slow and normally couldn't find staff. The only good part of the stay was the OK view because I was too low and if went higher had a view of a wall and the valet staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Joy W., Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear about your experience. We appreciate this feedback, and we will be sure to share it with our team. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a flawless experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Stay away, waste of money

Posted Jul 5, 2017
No value for money at all. While there were over 10-15 free tables the welcomie lady advised us to wait 10 minutes per servers order! The excuse was only two servers and they are short with seving ppl. Later on I counted 4 servers. Pool area is so small and not well maintained. Rooms are tight too. Seriously expecting much more from Marriott chain. As we arrived requsted Nelly(front desk employee) to deliver luggages in 10-15 minutes, and ended up getting them in 35 min after a call I did and reminded them my son is only 3 months old and we despretly need some stuff!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your honest review, Harry. We're sorry to hear about your experience and we appreciate you filling us in so we can improve for next time. Thank you again and we hope to provide you with a seamless experience in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E from Oregon

Shopping at your door and beach close by....

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Staff, and I mean ALL staff, were upbeat, friendly and clearly went the extra mile to make our stay memorable! Location was perfect for all activities. Room, view, ( plus way early checkin) got us off to a fabulous start! We'll definitely be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Joy W., Hotel Management
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to submit this feedback here. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bitrhday Bash

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Everything you need on grounds.
Cons: Having a microwave in room.
Location: Newport Marriot-- went to Strawberry Festival in Garden Grove.
Room was great. Ellen at the front desk was the best. Very helpful- above and beyond customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your celebration with us! We're thrilled that you loved our property and our service. Come see us again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A good hotel for a night or two

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The location is close to a major shopping center if you are there for that. Fairly close to the beach.
Cons: Room cleanliness for sure. Sewer smell in the bathroom.
Location: Fairly close to the beach. Good shopping for mall shoppers.
Check-in wait time was more than 15 minutes, only one receptionist was visible at the desks. Good lesson learned from the airline industry - almost everything like parking and room internet are provided for a fee. The carpet in our room smelled bad. The refrigerator was noisy and hard to unplug or stopped from running almost constantly humming throughout the night. Airplane noise from the nearby international airport prevented us to have our balcony door stay open for fresh air in the evening. Watch out - a beer and ham and cheese sandwich at the poolside may cost you between $35 and $45!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us. While we're glad you liked our location, we're sorry to hear that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We hope to exceed your expectations in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az

Birthday Celebration

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The closeness to shopping, restaurants and Rogers Garden.
Cons: Better menu in bar area.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, Rogers Gardens ocean
This is our favorite place to stay. They're close to shopping, restaurants and the ocean is only a couple miles away. Always the best service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you, Teri! We're thrilled you enjoyed celebrating with us. From our location to our service, it sounds like our hotel is great for your travels. Thank you for your feedback on our bar menu as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: close to Balboa Island and Newport center
Cons: Shower is hard to get in and out of. Bathroom not very ergonomic
Bed was not that comfortable Room was quiet though
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. While we're glad you loved our location, we're sorry to hear that you didn't love some aspects of our accommodations. Thank you for providing us with your valuable input and we hope to welcome you back for a seamless stay in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over price for OK service

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Old and worn down
Cons: Include the parking in the price of the room. Have non-business folks be able to stay in the rooms closer to the spa and other facilities
Location: Shop and the beach
This is like any other hotel you can get for a much lower price. The room were just standard. The spa and other facilities where hard to get to. The bikes (if you can call them that) were just down right dangerous due to poor maintenance. At the desk we asked for a better room which it would cost an extra $100 a night. The food was so-so and had to wait for a long time. If you drive a car there, plan on paying $30 a night to park it. In short, save your money and go some place else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We're pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. However, we were sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your rate. We review our pricing on a regular basis to make sure that we stay competitive with the hotels around us. With our prime location, excellent service and amenities such as free parking, it is our hope that guests will see us as a good value. Thank you for your business. We hope to welcome you back soon.  
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old ... not worth the money

Posted May 15, 2017
Building was too old and only lobby was nice. Room was pretty clean but small. Had no "real" balcony. Bed made squeaky sound. Overall, not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Joy W., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. We appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel, bed, and pricing and will share this with our team. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in the future for a flawless experience.