Ratings based on 1,013 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: having an ocean view was spectacular
Cons: there should be free parking for the hotel guests' cars! Golf course machines for cutting grass start too early and are very noisy!
Location: great location, next to fashion Island Mall
huge hotel, excellent staff and so helpful, convenient accommodation , great breakfast buffet but had to have more varieties for those not eating egg and meat!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Room was nice.
Cons: Redesign the bathrooms. Don't charge Resort fees to people that are handicapped and cannot use the amenities.
The bathroom were too small, however, the room was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location,Close to shopping, restaurants,beac

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Matt at front desk was awesome. Super helpful throughout our whole stay. Maintence totally on the ball. We had a shower head loose, they fixed it immediately. Great pool, loved it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Busy, friendly family type hotel- lots of weddings

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Friendly hotel, nice ocean views in the distance, busy pool area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix,az

Close to Fashion Island/beach

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Service
Cons: Softer beds
Location: Great restaurants, shopping and the beach is a stone throw away. What's not to love.
Always have a great stay. Staff is helpful and attentive to your needs or make things right. Rooms are great but beds not so soft. Food/ service is always the best, remember it's a Marriott. Thanks again for a memorable anniversary.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Mediocre hotel next to an awesome shopping center.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel is located right across from the awesome Fashion Island Shopping Center. This was the best part about staying at this hotel.
Cons: The hotel rooms need to be renovated and the cleanliness of the rooms need to be improved.
Location: The hotel is located right across from the Fashion Island Shopping Center and 5 miles from the John Wayne Airport.
Hotel check-in time is 4pm. I arrived at 3:30pm. Front desk said my room was not ready yet and took down my phone # so they could call me when my room was ready. No one ever called. I had to go up to the front desk a couple of times to check on the status. I finally got my room at 5pm. It felt like a maze getting to my room - make a right, go up the elevator, make a left, go up another elevator, etc. My hotel room bathroom was a size of a shoe box. No outlets available for me to charge my phone in the room because they were all falling out of the wall or were not working. The ONE positive thing about my hotel room was the view - it faced directly in front of the golf course and you could also part of the ocean from a distance. The best part about staying at this hotel is being right across from the awesome Fashion Island Shopping Center.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Pleasant weekend getaway

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Relaxing weekend with visit at beach and swimming pool. The main pool was quite crowded. The second much quiter. Rooms are best for 2. The double rooms have two full beds. Somewhat small to accommodate four persons...Worth to include breakfast option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Poor value for money

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location close to Fashion Mall
Cons: Renovate the rooms and the facilities, and have Queen beds instead of double beds so two people can sleep properly in a bed..
Location: Location close to Fashion Mall
Expensive for what it actually offers.. It's old with high wear and tear.. No breakfast with the high room rate, and they even charge you a mandatory extra $20 for "offers" we did not use or need or looked for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

It was a great location and would stay there again

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: It was only 1/1/2 hours to San Diego and LA
The staff was excellent as well as the food. It was a lovely hotel and would recommend it to anyone going to Cali.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

nice hotel, convenient to shopping & restaurants

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: grounds, pool, restaurant, hotel staff, parking was easy.
Cons: room was small. Bed was lumpy.
Location: walking location to Fashion Island and convenient to Newport beaches which are 10 min away.
Room was small and beds were not up to par for a Marriott Spa Hotel. However the staff was friendly and helpful, the location was good for our needs and the pool and grounds were lovely.