Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I have business in the area.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Its location
Cons: nothing.
Location: Near a shopping area that I didn't have time to shop at.
I requested an early check in to my room due to my early flight. The staff was very good and helped me find food to lunch even though the dinning room was closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Joy W., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review. We're thrilled our staff was able to accommodate your request and assist with dining. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Bay Area

We love this place.

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Excellent! Great hotel, lovely stuff, tasty food, beautiful interior, amazing location. Thank you Merriot, see you next time! :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for your generous review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us from our excellent staff to our delicious dining options. Thank you again and we hope you can come back soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Disappointing

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable
Cons: Better staffing and service during slower times. You should take it out on customers that do book during those times.
Location: Fashion Island, movie theater, tons of restaurants both regular and high end in walking distance. Great views of the ocean are available.
This trip, even though it was Christmas time, the food was good and the room was very nice, the staff was skeleton crew only. Took forever to get someone to answer the phone for room service. Upon checking out we could not get anyone to answer for valet service to our room for bags. I had to go down to the valet stand and ask them to go to the room where my husband was waiting with our bags. While waiting on my husband/valet I was trying to check out and it took over 15 minutes waiting for someone to appear from behind the door. Finally the assistant manager assisted us on checking out and retrieving our car from valet service. Very disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Joy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, Teri. While we're happy to hear you found our dining options and accommodations to be satisfactory, we're disappointed to learn of your wait times over the phone and for check-out. We truly appreciate your honest feedback and will share it with our team. Should your travels bring you back to Newport Beach, we hope for the opportunity to not only meet, but exceed your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Beautiful view from room and impeccable customer service
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided you. We hope to welcome you back to take in this view again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Encino, United States of America

Will return again

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cons: $28 nightly self parking TOO MUCH! The nonsense resort fee should not exist or only apply to those who OPT IN and want to use the amenities.
Great hotel, great location and at a fairly reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Sue W, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Parson. We're very glad that you loved our location and hotel. We also appreciate your honest input regarding our parking and resort fee. We do try to keep our parking costs in line with other hotels in the area. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

excellent place

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great hotel with friendly staff convenient location and very comfortable. Only issue was needing help with bags upon leaving and no one came up
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Lydia! It's great that you loved our staff, location and accommodations. We are sorry to hear, however, that our team did not provide more help with your bags. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to avoid this in the future. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a weekend get away

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Plenty of shopping and restaurants close by.
The Marriott is located across the street from Fashion Island and a short drive to Balboa Island. The hotel is very clean and very well maintained with nice views of the Newport Beach Country Club golf course. I would definitely stay again. Be aware that parking is $28/night and the hotel charges a $20 resort fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Joy , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share a rating of your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding our surrounding area with shops and restaurants close by. We're glad you would choose to stay with us again in the future, we would love to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with friendly staff

Posted Nov 11, 2016
The Marriott is a great hotel with a unique setup and lots of nice spaces on the ground staff was friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Joy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a rating of our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and friendly and helpful team members. We would love to welcome you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Noisy rooms and unconftable bed in front view room

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Location is very convenient. Have lots of choices for shopping, eating and entertainment. We had a great dinner at walking distance from this hotel.
Service by staff maintenance was great, location and ammenities are awesome. Our room was a front view suite, so, it wasn't cheap. But we had the worst night ever while staying at a hotel!!!!! Took wife for her b-day away rom home to have an "alone date" but not possible when all night we were able to hear our next room occupant's conversation. Person was not being loud at all, just doors or wall's insulation (if any) not working at all. So much for an alone time. With that noise you can't enjoy your evening. When I called front desk around 3am they sent a maintenance person whom confirm my complaint. Management only offered a discount in a breakfast charge we had. Not worth my Non-special date.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Joy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a rating, Ben. We're glad you enjoyed the convenient location and excellent choices for shopping, eating and entertainment. We're disappointed to learn about your experience while at the hotel and appreciate the feedback regarding the noise level. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable experience in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Clean and practical for a quick visit to Newport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Joy , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a rating, Peter. We're thrilled you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel. We would love to welcome you back again in the future!