Ratings based on 1,044 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Encino, United States of America

Will return again

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cons: $28 nightly self parking TOO MUCH! The nonsense resort fee should not exist or only apply to those who OPT IN and want to use the amenities.
Great hotel, great location and at a fairly reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Sue W, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Parson. We're very glad that you loved our location and hotel. We also appreciate your honest input regarding our parking and resort fee. We do try to keep our parking costs in line with other hotels in the area. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next time!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

excellent place

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great hotel with friendly staff convenient location and very comfortable. Only issue was needing help with bags upon leaving and no one came up
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Joy W, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Lydia! It's great that you loved our staff, location and accommodations. We are sorry to hear, however, that our team did not provide more help with your bags. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to avoid this in the future. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a weekend get away

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Plenty of shopping and restaurants close by.
The Marriott is located across the street from Fashion Island and a short drive to Balboa Island. The hotel is very clean and very well maintained with nice views of the Newport Beach Country Club golf course. I would definitely stay again. Be aware that parking is $28/night and the hotel charges a $20 resort fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Joy , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to share a rating of your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments regarding our surrounding area with shops and restaurants close by. We're glad you would choose to stay with us again in the future, we would love to welcome you back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with friendly staff

Posted Nov 11, 2016
The Marriott is a great hotel with a unique setup and lots of nice spaces on the ground staff was friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Joy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a rating of our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and friendly and helpful team members. We would love to welcome you back again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Noisy rooms and unconftable bed in front view room

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Location: Location is very convenient. Have lots of choices for shopping, eating and entertainment. We had a great dinner at walking distance from this hotel.
Service by staff maintenance was great, location and ammenities are awesome. Our room was a front view suite, so, it wasn't cheap. But we had the worst night ever while staying at a hotel!!!!! Took wife for her b-day away rom home to have an "alone date" but not possible when all night we were able to hear our next room occupant's conversation. Person was not being loud at all, just doors or wall's insulation (if any) not working at all. So much for an alone time. With that noise you can't enjoy your evening. When I called front desk around 3am they sent a maintenance person whom confirm my complaint. Management only offered a discount in a breakfast charge we had. Not worth my Non-special date.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Joy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a rating, Ben. We're glad you enjoyed the convenient location and excellent choices for shopping, eating and entertainment. We're disappointed to learn about your experience while at the hotel and appreciate the feedback regarding the noise level. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable experience in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Clean and practical for a quick visit to Newport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Joy , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share a rating, Peter. We're thrilled you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel. We would love to welcome you back again in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Jolla, United States of America

Welcomed with respect and guidance

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Reception, Elite. the young woman was a former trainer and now works the PM shift. Very professional, excellent guidance, and in our talk she found out that I exercise a lot and she recommended they Spa and 24hour Gym. "Welcome Home"
Cons: I was there for a conference: the dividers between the different salons.........have almost no soundproofing. It was raining and the steps leading to the building were slippery and I even fell. They make special paint that is slip resistant.
Location: Close to all, restaurants, stores and the Ocean. Thanks. Ed Lacy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great and horrible at the same time!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The room and balcony view was amazing
Cons: How they couldn't get the alarm situation taken care of sooner
Location: Great
Everything was great until someone pulled the alarm at 4AM and wouldn't go off for 45min to an hour! Was very upset about this.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Fire alarm problem

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The setting is gorgeous.
Cons: When we called to register a complaint the hotel employee offered to comp our $28-per-day parking. That's all.
Location: Directly across the street from Fashion Island and abutting a golf course, it's a lovely setting. This was not a great experience, though.
At 4:00AM the fire alarm went off; everyone evacuated, the all-clear was given and we went back to the room. Then the alarm went off again. Apparently there was a mischievous guest who kept pulling the alarm, or perhaps the staff didn't know how to disengage it, but by 4:35AM we were in the car heading home to get some sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

フロントのずさんな対応に何もかも台無し

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: ロケーションはいいですが期待して行ったのに フロントに2回も この様な対応をされがっかりです。日本ではあり得ない対応です。
大好きなニューポートの絶景を楽しみに せっかく高いオーシャンビューの部屋を予約し、事前にエクスペディアからも、チェックインの際にも 上層階の景色の良い部屋とリクエストしたにもかかわらず、なんと通された部屋は全く海の見えない部屋でした。 フロントに行き 別のスタッフに この部屋がオーシャンビューかと尋ねると 違うとの事で 部屋を変えてもらいましたが 最初に対応したスタッフは謝りもせず シラーッとしていました。 荷物を移動し 無駄な時間を過ごしました。 荷物の移動もベルボーイにホテル側の手違いによる事を説明してなく ベルボーイからも余計なチップを取られました。 次の日も 夜 部屋に帰ると掃除もしてなく、タオルの補充もしてなかったので フロントに タオルだけでも持って来てくれる様 伝えましたが 待てど暮らせど来ず 3回催促の電話をして40分後に来ました。 待ってる間 お風呂にも入れず 又 無駄な時間を過ごし ました。 もう利用しません。