Ratings based on 1,839 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Very close to ocean! Just a walk away

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Views and complimentary coffee
My boyfriend and I needed a last minute hotel in Laguna Beach on a Saturday night and we came across Pacific Edge Hotel. The room was very affordable but the staff the staff was amazing. The lady who checked us in (I don't remember her name but she looked Hawaiian or maybe asian) was very accommodating even after my boyfriend had a little too much to drink. The next morning we woke up and had to be back in Santa Monica ASAP. We loved that the lobby had delicious complimentary coffee! Oh and the Valet guy was amazing (don't remember his name either) but he was awesome. Valet is usually rude and always in a hurry but this guy was very friendly and down to earth. We will be back! Thank you Pacific Edge Staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

right on beach

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: the building: exterior, balconies and air conditioners [old window insert units the exteriors of which intrude on the neighboring balcony].
Location: downtown Laguna Beach is a tourist haven
We had a room right on the beachside of the hotel, otherwise it would not have been worth the cost. The hotel itself looks as if it has not been well maintained over several decades and was not that well designed and built to begin with. However, the location is super if you love watching and listening to waves, the adjacent restaurant is excellent, the front desk staff and the valet parking staff were all very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Decent hotel for the money.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
You get what you pay for. One of the lower cost hotels in Laguna. This hotel consist of a few different buildings. I can only speak of the building that we were in, which was one with the room & balcony right on the ocean. Yes it could have been a little cleaner, yes it could use some updating, but this was the cheapest hotel that we could find that was right on the beach. The front desk staff was great. We did not use any services i.e. room service, housekeeping during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Beautiful resort right on the ocean!

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Our room was clean, and had a great beach feel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Plus we had an amazing view from our balcony. It was a great weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Jolla,CA

Extremely close to the beach. No streets to cross!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Love this place, been going for years. It's so close to the sand. And there are two restaurants on site, you barely need to leave.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NV

It's ok for the money

Posted Jun 3, 2017
It was ok. The website made it sound the restaurants were in the hotel which both of them was not. Rooms were clean but needs upgraded especially the deluxe rooms. Good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Awesome hotel close to beach

Posted May 30, 2017
Our experience was amazing here! I tried checking in a tiny bit earlier and they said to come back at 4 which was original check in time, I came back and the desk guy( I wish I grabbed his name) said our room was not gonna be ready until 5 but he was putting us in a suite instead, I was sort of confused but when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised, could not believe where they upgraded us too, it was awesome! Talk about customer service!! My daughter had the best birthday yet! And we will be back for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted May 23, 2017
Cons: The size of the rooms
Location: Art galleries, the beach, nice beach town.
We enjoyed the hotel. The room we had was small. We like the location. The Deck Restaurant served an excellent cioppino and the waiter was very welcoming, helpful, and good.Samantha on the front desk was also very helpful and competent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we thought

Posted May 23, 2017
Completely disappointed. What is shown on-line is not what it is! What was good is the location to town, the beach and bar/restaurant. Room we were given was facing the street and noisy with traffic in the room. Valet service meant we drive our car to the valet around behind the hotel. Lots of stairs and a lot of different buildings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Upgraded and spoiled!

Posted May 22, 2017
Booked an oceanfront room. Was informed at checkin that we were upgraded. Hotel staff learned it was our wedding anniversary. They arranged for us to have a suite, gift bag and incredible service! Kudos to Stephanie for the personal attention. Room service dinner was out of this world!! Ocean view balcony was breathtaking!