Ratings based on 1,787 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Very welcoming staff! Great location on the beach, close to many restaurants and shopping. You will want to stay in this hotel year after year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Alex Yi - Assistant Gereral Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great comments and review! Hope to see you again whoever you are. Until then,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Beach front rooms are really on the beach

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We stay in this hotel every time we come to Laguna. Great location, close to the heat of the town. Within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, galleries and it's right on the beach. It is so worth the extra money to rent a beachfront room. We got take out every night because no restaurant could beat our view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Alex Yi - Assistant Gereral Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review, Mike! We couldn't be happier that you keep coming back. I don't blame you for not wanting to leave. The views are breathtaking to say the least. Thanks again Mike and we'll see you again. Until then,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Having to pay $30 for valet parking seemed high. Location on beach a plus, and would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Alex Yi - Assistant Gereral Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the stars Igw! We can't wait to have you visit us again. Thanks again. Alex Yi Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

5 star location at a 4 star rate

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Location was perfect, worth the extra money for an ocean front room. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Would go back with my family of four in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Alex Yi - Assistant Gereral Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the incredible review! I have to agree with you that the oceanfront rooms with that incredible view is absolutely perfect. I'm glad you got to enjoy it. We'll see you again soon we hope. All the best, Alex Yi Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.by the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The staff is very friendly, walkinh distance to many restsurants coffe shops gtocery store, shops,galeries. Room service ,restaurants with ocean view. Many different room options .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Alex Yi - Assistant Gereral Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the stars and for the great review! We'd love to have you back for round 2. Until then, Alex Yi Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing Location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Really had a great stay. Could not have been closer to the beach. Walked into town and did not need to get into a car all weekend. We also loved that we were so close to a Ralph's for anything we forgot. There seems to be a bit of construction going on in the adjacent building which took away a bit from our view. At least there was no hammering while I was there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great locale-housekeeping not great

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Excellent location! They will set up chairs, umbrellas and provide towels so it's great to not have to bring all that from home. Get to beach early to assure you get umbrellas. Housekeeping needs help- rooms are not cleaned well and 2 different days our rooms were not cleaned at all. When we called we were told that housekeeping was gone for the day. Additionally we were rarely left enough towels- one towel left for a party of 4.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Alex Yi - Assistant Gereral Manager, Hotel Management
Patty, I'm sorry that we fell short in what should have been routine. I'm looking into what happened. I hope this hasn't deterred you from staying with us again. Thanks for your feedback and hope to see you again. Alex Yi Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: location to shopping and restaurants
Cons: Very dirty carpet in rooms and common areas. looks old
Lovely, accommodating staff. Unless you are in the TOWER rooms, the remainder is extremely old unlike their sister hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aptos, CA

Right on the beach, just ideal!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Everything! If the sound of crashing waves bothers you, pick a place inland or, in this hotel, a room away from the beach.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: In the heart of Laguna Beach--tons and tons of stuff to see and do. Plan ahead.
Love, love this hotel: my first time there, and from the start--a most gracious front desk staff who seemed genuinely happy to see me--my stay was consistently terrific. JdV hotels are always a bit eccentric, an individualistic touch I adore. Extremely helpful, kind, courteous staff from beginning to end. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Alex Yi - Assistant Gereral Manager, Hotel Management
What a great review! Thank you NKA! I'm so gald to hear the front desk made an impression on you. We want them to be themselves and have fun and I'm glad it shined through with your experience. We can't wait to have you visit us again! Thanks again for the most incredible review. All my best, Alex Yi Assistant General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Bad hotel nice town

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Uncomfortable bed, unable to watch TV from bed, TV on wrong wall. Rooms in desperate need of renovations. Lay out of hotel requires you to carry bags upstairs. They have a descent breakfast in their restaurant but a little pricey. The only option for parking was valet. They advertise that valet parking is availble for $30 but they never mention that this is the ONLY choice. If we could have canceled the room and got a refund we would have preferred to sleep in our car!