Ratings based on 2,158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Fancy hotel, clean, nice, bar, outdoor pool. Loved it all
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Free parking. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Renovate, more genuine staff, and match prices to offering.
Location: Near airport and a few restaurants walking distance.
Disappointing for rate and star rating. Older/outdated hotel with tiny pool. Understaffed at check in. Hairs on counter top in bathroom. Someone was being arrested in the main lobby doorway morning of checkout. Rate is way too high with so many newer options in the area, my mistake.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Really great hotel from location, customer service, to overall cleanliness. Large room & bathroom. In-room safe, complimentary water bottles, bathroom ameninites include shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and soap bars. Breakfast buffet includes hot items like sausages, ham, scrambled eggs, potatoes, pancakes, and oatmeal. The rest are: Fruits, cereal, assortment of baked goods, bagels & cream cheese, and 6 different types of juices (apple, OJ, grapefruit, etc.). Proximity to John Wayne airport means frequent airplane noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A Hotel to Return To

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The pool size, location, and overall look of the hotel.
Cons: The pool furniture and the ports for electricity in rooms: should definitely have some ports near the bed.
Location: There is a Benihana's nearby, also a 711 not too far away. Also there a few places to eat nearby: Jamba Juice, Quiznos, etc.
This was my mother and mine's first time in Newport Beach and we wanted a big pool area to relax and bathe in the sun. The staff was very friendly, except for when we were misinformed upon arrival that the pool would be closed for almost 6 hours: really put a damper on our day. The staff made up for this by allowing us to checkout later to make up for the loss in sun time. The room was very comfortable, beds were big and soft, we even had a balcony. Although the only ports for electricity were on the side of the desk, none near the bed or anything: very odd. Also, a lot of the layout chairs in the pool area are barred, apparently they had broken and weren't staying up, but only 6 were able to go up or down: they should really get new pool furniture. Oh also, perfect location only about 6 miles from the beach, plus there is a Benihana's right next door incase you want a show while you eat. Besides the little hinderances along the way, a lovely hotel with great staff and beautiful decor and architecture. We will definitely be coming back in the future for some more R&R!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Nice late check in and out. About 5 miles from beach, nice rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Not so friendly staff but room was clean and bed was very comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

I'd rather sleep under a bridge

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The pool was nice (but the towels were stained and tattered).
Cons: Everything.
Location: The beach (Newport and Huntington) and Disney
The first room I was given was incredibly loud due to the airport across the street; the air conditioning unit sounded like a monster truck when turned on; the beds and pillows were lumpy; the safe didn't work; and the space between the floor and room door was so wide, light from the hallway flooded the room at night. There were also dirty dishes left in the hallway overnight from some one else's room service. After complaining, I was then given another room, on the other side of the building which was much quieter. The beds were more comfortable but some of the pillows were still lumpy. Also, one of the pillow cases was so dirty it looked like it had been run over by a car. They also were very confused about my reservation because two different people asked me when I was planning on checking out (even though I had paid in advance thru Expedia).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

Shower faucet ridiculous

Posted Aug 7, 2016
You had two options very hot or super cold it took two of us to figure out how it even worked and then you couldn't adjust the temperature. I've seen many faucets in my day but this was a joke! I did get free breakfast for Expedia God member but for only two in the party not all four of us and it was pricey. Good selection but not 14.99 worthy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice Comfortable Place to Stay Close to Beaches!!!

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Water Pressure in the Shower
Location: Multiple Beaches, Concerts, LA, San Diego , Shopping, Orange County Fair going on now until mid-August. Was a lot of fun!
This hotel exceeded my expectations. I was checked in early by friendly staff. The room was comfortable and clean. The location was near several beaches so my husband and I got to enjoy many parts of Orange County and the Pacific Coast. There is a buffet breakfast at the hotel that is pretty decent. The parking was free which was a big plus! The rooms all have patios with screen doors so you can stand out and enjoy a nice breeze. Nothing too fancy, but met all of our needs. Would stay here again next time in Newport Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 1, 2016
When we arrived at 4:00pm (check-in is at 3:00) there wasn't any rooms for us yet. We had to wait until 4:45pm to get a room. Restroom had weak pressure and wouldn't flush until three attempts. Parking is free and gave us two parking permits to stay over night which was nice. Overall due to the wait and the weak bathroom pressure not sure if I would recommend to stay here for a long visit.