Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SB,CA

Bedbugs!

Posted May 2, 2017
A huge bed bug ran across my husbands pillow in the middle of the night. We grabbed it with a napkin and threw it in the trash. We lifted up the sheets and found two more tiny small ones. We called the front desk and told him we needed to check out and needed a refund, he refused to believe us and wanted to see the bug so we dug it out of the trash to show him and to our surprise, it was still alive!! Eewww. After that, he gave us a refund with no further problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Clean Safe Economy Hotel in Great Location

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Nothing fancy, but it has everything you need. My husband and I stayed here for 10 days, while house-hunting in San Clemente. I stayed the first night alone, and felt completely safe. No weirdos lurking around, just families and people on business trips etc. Great central area. Walking distance to the beach. Free parking, wifi, and continental breakfast. The rooms are clean and large, and come equipped with all the basics you need: strong wifi signal, AC, iron/ironing board, safe, small fridge and freezer, coffee maker and coffee, microwave, hairdryer, shower/tub with good water pressure, plenty of space to store and hang clothes, shampoo, bar soap, clean towels, large flatscreen TV with all the premium channels, and a laundromat next door. We were very comfortable here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

No Flexibility for Work Cancellations

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We had been coming to hotel for the past few weeks but when our client cancelled the job we were working on at the last minute (that morning) the manager showed no "good will" toward a paying client who had been coming there for weeks. I would not recommend this hotel. They really do not see the big picture when it comes to keeping paying customers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Nice hotel in convenient location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Free continental breakfast, free parking, spacious room with fridge & microwave. Room was cleaned promptly every day.
Cons: King size bed could be firmer.
Location: Very convenient for beach and Metrolink station.
Good affordable lodgings within easy walking distance of beaches and shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The hotel had everything needed for a overnite stay. Breakfast minimal. But everything ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Basic no frills beach motel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Good place for evening stoppover near the beach. Close to several shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by christian

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
nice affordable place. especially if you are in the area for a few nights and are in the room a limited time.close to downtown, about a 15-20 minute walk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Bay, CA

Quick trip, no frills needed

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Orbitz
I was in San Clemente for a family event and did not want to spend a lot on my overnight stay. The Roadway Inn was clean and the staff were friendly. It was truly no frills, but comfortable enough for a quick trip to the area.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a weekend getaway from the city

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Has a great time, went down to the beach, had good food and rested peacefully