Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Az

I went to Cal to relax Ocean view room was good.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The staff is very friendly and accomodating. They tried to accomodate most of our requests with. No hesitations. There was a big typhoon when wecwere there but they were able to reassure us of the safety of the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Surf and Sand!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Room was so comfy Great mattress! Great bathtub
Cons: Not really
Location: Perfect
It's right on the beach. Beautiful views. Great restaurant. Curteous staff. Near fun places to shop and eat. Loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Amazing room, staff, experience. We'll definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely comfortably large room on beach.

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: The pool area was beautiful and relaxing, if a little small. Nice chairs, and the water dispenser with fruit in it was a nice touch.
Location: On the beach, many shops,galleries and restaurants nearby.
I had a wonderful stay at the Surf & Sand. The room was just beautiful. When I arrived early, They checked me right in. They also upgraded my room for $20 extra to the ocean view in the tower. I was thrilled, the balcony was right over the beach and very private.I Saw whales one day from the balcony. I loved hearing the waves at night. Very quiet room, comfy beds. nice desk area and super clean. plenty of towels and snugly robes. All of the staff were so nice. Main beach park was about a mile away, so I enjoyed walking there a couple of mornings. I was able to see a prematurely born gray whale washed up on the shore. So may fun shops within walking distance. I seriously did not want to go home. My only complaint was that my friend and I paid about $60 for just pancakes and juice at the restaurant and it was not wonderful..for that price, It should at least come with a bit of fruit or something. But there is a subway close by, and plenty of other restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Amazing views and experience

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The sound of crashing waves lull you to sleep in their extremely comfy beds. Beautiful views, room service with a delicious menu, across the street from a delicious restaurant Selannes steakhouse and tavern. Our stay could not have been more perfect. Expensive but worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel with amazing views!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
This has been our second visit to the property and we can't wait to come back. The property is beautiful and has one of the most beautiful views we have encountered and well worth the high price tag. The only small annoyance on this trip was the constant need to contact the front desk for items that housekeeping failed to properly do such as replenish the coffee bar or the toiletries. Although all requests were immediately filled, a resort such as this should not leave you needing anything as all should be properly tended to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love it

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely and romantic. Service was excellant. Looking forward to staying here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Laguna

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Had to wait for room to be ready 5:00 The rooms do not have AC. The afternoon sun bakes the room, not much breeze blows in. Very uncomfortable HOT
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location, View and Hotel!!

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Right in the heart of everything!
Hotel was perfect, staff great and views breathtaking! Bar/ lounge closest to the beach below on lower floor... is a must close to the sea, great sunsets and very romantic setting!