Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Amazing views and experience

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The sound of crashing waves lull you to sleep in their extremely comfy beds. Beautiful views, room service with a delicious menu, across the street from a delicious restaurant Selannes steakhouse and tavern. Our stay could not have been more perfect. Expensive but worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel with amazing views!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
This has been our second visit to the property and we can't wait to come back. The property is beautiful and has one of the most beautiful views we have encountered and well worth the high price tag. The only small annoyance on this trip was the constant need to contact the front desk for items that housekeeping failed to properly do such as replenish the coffee bar or the toiletries. Although all requests were immediately filled, a resort such as this should not leave you needing anything as all should be properly tended to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location, View and Hotel!!

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Location: Right in the heart of everything!
Hotel was perfect, staff great and views breathtaking! Bar/ lounge closest to the beach below on lower floor... is a must close to the sea, great sunsets and very romantic setting!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel on the beach !!!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: All was good.
Location: Lots of shopping and galleries within a walking distance, also there is a free shuttle that travels up and down the coast.
We are blessed to be able to travel frequently and always read reviews on the resorts. Our experience was terrific !!!! The moment we checked in we were greeted by two young ladies named Stephanie who were helpful and delightful. The experience continued with all great staff. Our room was fantastic (ocean front) and while not large, very nicely appointed. We opened our doors and there it was, "the ocean", Wow !! I read a review that said the ocean noise was too loud, (are you kidding me, don't stay on the beach). The pool area (while not large) was very nice with plenty of lounge chairs and a bar. If you like you can walk directly down twenty stairs to the sand where they also have chairs and umbrellas, (awesome beach). The restaurant on the property, "Splashes", (which we have eaten in many times) is first class, again right on the ocean. We had a waiter named Ryan who couldn't have been nicer and our food was very good. This is a great hotel, right on the sand in a perfect location and we highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Wa.

Amazing, beautiful, right on the sand.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We arrived around 7pm and was greeted by the valet service with a smile and warm welcome. The same with the front desk staff. They were down to earth and very nice. I highly recommend room 219. It is literally on the sand with miles of ocean in front of you. The front desk helped us to make a dinner reservation, which was within walking distance, as is other shops and bars. Highly recommended hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location - on the beach - very relaxing

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect and the hotel staff were helpful
Cons: Access to elevators was a bit confusing and better signage could have been provided
Location: Many restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel
Hotel staff were very hospitable and the rooms were clean and we had plenty of room. The balcony was over the sand - very relaxing and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stamford, Ct

Fabulous but needs updates

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Beautiful property - amazing views of the beach - food was excellent as was service. Rooms need updating - but were clean. there was no air conditioning and room got hot- staff did bring 2 big fans that helped. The nights however were cool and fine with fans. Lots of families with kids.super comfy beds
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Great ocean-centric experience!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
This is a fabulous place to stay if you want the ultimate ocean experience. There really aren't very many nice hotels in SoCal that offer rooms this close to the water where you can hear the surf 24/7. There are larger resorts 'on the water' but they are either on a high bluff or separated from the surf by a road or an expanse of land, so many of thier rooms don't hear the waves. Surf and Sand is so close to the waves that you're almost in the water. The rooms are reasonably high end and very comfortable and the food at the restaraunt is at that level as well. The plain exterior is deceiving and there is more space in there than you would think. There is a spa, fitness center, meeting rooms and a lovely outdoor seating area with fire pits. If you love the sea, this is the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Collegeville PA

Room not ready at check in time

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Check in time 4pm but didn't get in room until 4:40pm. I don't like Valet parking your car even though u can go in and out the guys were quick and very nice. The layout is confusing spent 30 minutes trying to find our room. Pool and hot tub too small for all the guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff and valet. Nice rooms

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Would've given 5 stars if rooms had A/C. Was quite warm and hard to cool down. Otherwise, staff and valet were exceptional!