Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel on the beach !!!

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: All was good.
Location: Lots of shopping and galleries within a walking distance, also there is a free shuttle that travels up and down the coast.
We are blessed to be able to travel frequently and always read reviews on the resorts. Our experience was terrific !!!! The moment we checked in we were greeted by two young ladies named Stephanie who were helpful and delightful. The experience continued with all great staff. Our room was fantastic (ocean front) and while not large, very nicely appointed. We opened our doors and there it was, "the ocean", Wow !! I read a review that said the ocean noise was too loud, (are you kidding me, don't stay on the beach). The pool area (while not large) was very nice with plenty of lounge chairs and a bar. If you like you can walk directly down twenty stairs to the sand where they also have chairs and umbrellas, (awesome beach). The restaurant on the property, "Splashes", (which we have eaten in many times) is first class, again right on the ocean. We had a waiter named Ryan who couldn't have been nicer and our food was very good. This is a great hotel, right on the sand in a perfect location and we highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Wa.

Amazing, beautiful, right on the sand.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
We arrived around 7pm and was greeted by the valet service with a smile and warm welcome. The same with the front desk staff. They were down to earth and very nice. I highly recommend room 219. It is literally on the sand with miles of ocean in front of you. The front desk helped us to make a dinner reservation, which was within walking distance, as is other shops and bars. Highly recommended hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - on the beach - very relaxing

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: The location is perfect and the hotel staff were helpful
Cons: Access to elevators was a bit confusing and better signage could have been provided
Location: Many restaurants and shops within walking distance of the hotel
Hotel staff were very hospitable and the rooms were clean and we had plenty of room. The balcony was over the sand - very relaxing and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stamford, Ct

Fabulous but needs updates

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Beautiful property - amazing views of the beach - food was excellent as was service. Rooms need updating - but were clean. there was no air conditioning and room got hot- staff did bring 2 big fans that helped. The nights however were cool and fine with fans. Lots of families with kids.super comfy beds
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Great ocean-centric experience!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
This is a fabulous place to stay if you want the ultimate ocean experience. There really aren't very many nice hotels in SoCal that offer rooms this close to the water where you can hear the surf 24/7. There are larger resorts 'on the water' but they are either on a high bluff or separated from the surf by a road or an expanse of land, so many of thier rooms don't hear the waves. Surf and Sand is so close to the waves that you're almost in the water. The rooms are reasonably high end and very comfortable and the food at the restaraunt is at that level as well. The plain exterior is deceiving and there is more space in there than you would think. There is a spa, fitness center, meeting rooms and a lovely outdoor seating area with fire pits. If you love the sea, this is the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Collegeville PA

Room not ready at check in time

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Check in time 4pm but didn't get in room until 4:40pm. I don't like Valet parking your car even though u can go in and out the guys were quick and very nice. The layout is confusing spent 30 minutes trying to find our room. Pool and hot tub too small for all the guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff and valet. Nice rooms

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Would've given 5 stars if rooms had A/C. Was quite warm and hard to cool down. Otherwise, staff and valet were exceptional!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Belle plage plus privé que Laguna.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Nice beach more private than Laguna. Nice pool. Bien situé dans son beau village.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
I really liked the hotel, on the beach, great staff, walking distance to everything, the only bad part was the room would get really hot. No air conditioning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

No AC!!!

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Our shock was that the hotel did not have an AC! Also the swimming pool is terrible. Not worth the money spent.