Ratings based on 2,503 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
It was really nice I enjoy my time , stuff was super good .i feel super safe
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to John Wayne Airport

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Only Valet parking available at $33/day! Didn't see that in the fine print. Would have chosen a different hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs

Required valet parking at $30/day.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Although the hotel was well located and inviting, it seems absolutely ridiculous to require the guest use valet parking and charge $30 a day. The hotel is located in a commercial area near large streets. It would be quite difficult to find street parking nearby. It is simply an unfortunate move to gain more money without alerting the person. I will not return and will not recommend despite its clean and high-quality design.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not much for food

Posted Apr 6, 2017
If you like eating in the bar and the highlight of the menu is pub food you'll like it BUT for a hotel of this size I would have thought you would have a more formal dining area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The hotel was very close to the airport as well as to highway 405. So the location was very convenient. Also, the bed was very comfortable and the view was beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The other Marriot is better

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Hotel staff is great, but considering how close it is to the other Marriot, I would stay at the other one instead. They have fire pits over there. The cleanliness was my biggest issue. Something either happened right before I got there, or management staff is entirely unobservant. I'm not sure HOW whatever that was got on the wall (looks like dried blood/ketchup), but it's been there for a while.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

Nice hotel and very clean

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Staff are awesome.. especially front desk name maria to assist us to make us welcome by attending to our needs and request for a room nearby the pool..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear Garcia Family, We at The Duke appreciate your recent stay and 5 star review. Yours in hospitality, Brian Keys General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Nice character architecture and pools
Good hotel but stop telling arrive guest that $33 valet parking is the only option and when there is self parking available. The room need some updating and better insulation door from hallway noises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We appreciate your recent stay and review of The Duke. Delighted that you enjoyed our pool and character. As the new GM, I will look into the parking situation and room and corridor issues. Thank you, Brian Keys General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC Canada

Great hotel close to John Wayne Airport

Posted Mar 24, 2017
This is overall a nice, clean hotel. Beds really comfortable, great gym, and really delicious breakfast buffet. They provide a shuttle to the John Wayne Airport, which was very convenient. The only complaint is that the staff didn't seem to be aware of local transportation options. We didn't have a car and wanted to go to the beach. In the end, we just called Uber. Otherwise, would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, We at The Duke appreciate your recent stay and 4 star review. Delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, beds and food and beverage. I apologize that the teams lack of knowledge of local transportation. We will train the team on the many options available. Yours in hospitality, Brian Keys General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area

Charges too much for parking

Posted Mar 24, 2017
This hotel charges $33/day for mandatory valet parking. Ridiculous. Not only it is extremely expensive but it creates a lot of hassle having to wait for the car every time I need to go out, which is multiple times a day. Hotel charges for internet access too. Room was clean and comfortable. Last time I stayed at radisson across the street and they did not charge for parking at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by Brian, Hotel Management
We at The Duke appreciate your recent stay and review. Please know I will look into parking prices at the hotel and see if there is a better solution. Yours in hospitality, Brian Keys General Manager