Ratings based on 2,592 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northville, MI

Outstanding staff but the hotel shows wear

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location, setting and staff
Cons: The carpets and furniture are worn. Very few HD channels on TV and no business news. Very limited number of channels, should be HD or 4K for $$$.
Location: We were there to see family
We stayed here last year when it was a Fairmont Hotel. Since then it is now a Marriott and is showing gins of wear. The staff is still outstanding, good food in the restaurants, quick valet parking staff and very efficient housekeeping staff. Valet parking is a bit steep at $33 per night . . . Plus tip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Lacking for the price of rooms

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Just being with my group. Nothing was outstanding about the hotel other than the drivers of the van.
Cons: Outdated furniture, cloth furniture in room is not a good idea for germs and dirt. The chair at the desk was better...vinyl or leather...easy to clean
Location: Subway, walmart, 7 eleven,another subway place....great sandwiches. Food in hotel too pricey and not tasty....go to the store and get your snacks
For the price of the rooms.....there should be a microwave, it was nice to have a iron/board, but some did not have it and one of my friends had one but it did not work. We paid $169 night and the restaurant had very limited space for the large group we had there. A few of the staff, Asian lady was very rude to some of the guest. The room was satisfactory, mattress in my accessible room was dated Room 661....I had to sleep in the center of the bed for the better part of the mattress. The room was clean and no complaints there, never had an accessible room with the bed on the floor, just interesting. I took it because I needed the handrails in the shower and bathroom high toilet. I did not eat food except what was provided in the group gatherings....muffins at my table for Breakfast was not done and doughey. The next time we had the muffins...they were better. The food overall was okay. We had a set down breakfast on Thursday I believe and 2 people at my table asked for decaffeinated coffee and never received it. They seem to have been short of waiter? I would not go there because it was isolated too far from other sights....a few restaurants...fast food, 7 eleven was a little walk from the hotel on a busy street to cross. The van was very good about transporting us across the street and to Walmart. A car is needed to stay at this hotel. Several of us used UBER to get to some other locations like the Fashion mall and others
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
The room was malodorous. Appalling for the ratings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected better

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Hotel was a disappointment. Formerly a Fairmont and now a part of Marriott it does not compare for price. Expected more from a Marriott owned property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel! Very clean and comfortable!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: I liked the friendly staff, the cleanliness, and how helpful the staff was.
Location: Within walking distance, there are a few restaurants, a Jamba Juice, a 7-11 which was convenient!
I stayed at The Duke of Newport Beach with friends as a small getaway, was very impressed with the hotel! The hotel was very clean, the staff were friendly and professional, they had all the amenities that I wanted, including a pool, hot tub, etc. I would recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marina del Rey, CA

We love this hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing, except parking should be free. We were not charged for handicapped parking.
Location: Centrally located and near everything.
Only good things. We love this place. Been staying there through 4 different names.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location,friendly and service-oriented staff

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: I love the location - great freeway access to so many amazing LA attractions and walking distance to Starbucks (if you are a fan!)
Location: Nearby - depends what you call nearby...but everything is very accessible as you are close to the freeway. 20 minutes to Disneyland!
Had stayed at this hotel before but under the "Fairmont brand". I would say it was equally if not even more 'attractive' this time. The staff was very accommodating, warm, helpful - service focused.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Iz, Hotel Management
Thank you from The Duke family. We appreciate your say and excellent feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel about 15 minute drive from the beach.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Great staff and great accommodations. I needed to message hotel staff and I received immediate response.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Iz, Hotel Management
Delighted that you received excellent service! Our thanks for your loyalty and feedback. The Duke Hotel family
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the hotel has a smell

Posted Jul 7, 2017
we had to change rooms three times, there is a horrible stench in the back wing of rooms. they know about it and still book the rooms. i believe it is in the air conditioning and could be hazardous. NOT JOKING..book at your own peril
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive parking

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Cons: Parking options.
Upon arrival there was only option of parking, which was a $33 valet fee. The toilet seat in our room had only one bolt that was holding the seat in place; pretty unsettling.