Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Feb 14, 2017
A diamond in the rough. I found a place that was reasonably priced in the area that we needed to be, but had no idea what to expect. I was really impressed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Nice rooms, staff was friendly and room service was good. No issues, no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A.

Nice hotel close to the FWY 5

Posted Feb 3, 2017
I stayed for one night to be close to my doctor where I had a to do a biopsy procedure first thing in the morning. The had a Tuesday night taco for $1.50 where I sat at the bar and had their both chicken and beef tacos. They were excellent and I did not want to eat a full dinner. All together the hotel was very nice and I do recommend it highly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Armank, Hotel Management
Dear Rodd, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your most recent stay. We are glad to hear that you recommend our hotel and that you enjoyed the Tacos on our Taco Tuesday special. We hope that your procedure went well. Again, thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Arman Khadiwi Front Desk Manager The Hills Hotel 949.586.5000
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BB,California

Convenient location near lot of area atractions

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The staff was helpful the room clean we stayed on the backside of the hotel faceing the pool it was quite. We did it try the restaurant but the went to a catered event at the hotel and again the service was good as was the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by ArmanK, Hotel Management
Dear Bobbi, Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your most recent stay. We are glad to hear that our staff service the restaurant food exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Arman Khadiwi Front Desk Manager The Hills Hotel 949.586.5000
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Central location

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Staff was very helpful when one of the elevators was not working - it was fixed the next day.
Location: I stayed there because of friends and family nearby.
Close to visit friends and family. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Great tacos at next door restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: I have been there before, and did like it. I would stay there again!!
Did not stay there, and forgot to cancel. That pretty much says it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Nice front desk staff but noisy room.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Front desk clerks were friendly.
Cons: A lot. Please read the comments above.
Location: There is a well known coffee shop across the street. Up the hill on La Paz there is a strip mall. I ended up canceling my 2nd and 3rd night.
The front desk was helpful and friendly. My room was on the second floor behind the elavators. It was extremely noises. My window looked out to another portion of the building just 5 feet away and below was an entrance to the building. People came in and out. Outside of my room in the hallway, there must have been some type of service or maintenance room. I heard that door slam all night. There was no blow dryer in the bathroom. The fabric on the chair and bench was dirty and had holes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

3 Stars? Really?

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: Better customer service, better beds, better cable. Notifying their customers upon check-in that their is construction taking place in the hotel.
Location: Decent restaurants, and easy access to the I-5 freeway.
I was not impressed with this hotel at all. Especially considering they think of themselves as a 3-star establishment and charge a pretty hefty premium for their rooms, even on a Monday night. I was on a business trip and the room had been reserved by my company ahead of time. I arrived at the hotel after a day of driving and meetings and was looking forward to some rest. Upon check-in I was told by the desk-clerk that the room had been reserved with a credit card on file, but had not been paid for. I assumed that meant he would be charging the card they had on file for the reservation. I was immediately met with a degrading chuckle and a statement to the effect of "Cards on file are just for reservations, and you must present a card at the time of check in to secure your reservation." I tried to explain to him that it was booked through my company and I didn't have the card on me and he responded "That's not my problem, you don't get to stay here for free." I contacted my HR department and they booked the room through a hotel-booking site while I waited in the parking lot. I came back in the hotel lobby and explained the situation and was met with more disdain, like I was a nuisance, rather than a valued guest. In addition, they were doing construction on my floor that started at 730 am the following morning, without letting me know ahead of time. The bed in the room was the same caliber you would find in a cheap motel chain, and their "cable" is a joke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Clean, affordable hotel close enough to the beach

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Affordable and clean, close proximity to the beach.
Cons: WIFI!!!
Pros: -Staff was very nice and accommodating. -We were able to do an early check in. -Room was clean and modern. -Hotel is a short drive to Laguna Beach and restaurants nearby. -There is a Starbucks across the street, on the corner. -Plenty of parking available Cons: -The room smelled like wet linens -The A/C took a while to kick in -The paint was chipping in many locations in the room -The Wifi was terrible!!!! We were able to connect, but couldn't get on any sites, etc. so it was pointless...we ended up not using it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
all workers/employees were very nice . every one said good morning and made sure I had everything I needed for my stay